Friday, December 28, 2012

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare Review

Publication Date: March 24, 2009
Publisher:
Margaret K. McElderry Books 
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 541 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Mortal Instruments #3


Synopsis:
To save her mother's life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters - never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family's past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he's willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City - whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the final installment of the New York Times bestselling trilogy The Mortal Instruments.


What I Thought:
Wow. Just wow. Omg the ending! This is gonna be so hard for me to write without any spoilers. I'm just gonna write a non spoilers and spoilers part.

Throughout this whole entire book... I tried so hard not to throw it out the window. (For all y'all who read it you know what I mean) The Mortal Instruments is one of my favorite series that EVER invented. Cassandra Clare is an amazing writer. Yeah some parts of the novel dragged but then BOOM! It hits the ground running.

Again, this is so hard to review without spoilers so... Please pick up this book and if you haven't already read City of Bones, GO READ IT!! You won't regret it.

NOW FOR THE SPOILERS:
Warning, it might be a little ranty


FINALLY! FINALLY THEY KNOW THE TRUTH!! I was so happy when Clary and Jace realize that they weren't brothers and sisters. It took two books and I was literally going insane like yelling at the book and saying they weren't siblings. I almost threw this out the window and I actually started banging this on my table because I was so frustrated.

So it starts out with Clary getting ready to go to Alicante with Jace -still thinking they are siblings. Jace tricks Clary into staying for her safety but it backfires. Then we see Jace flirting with Aline who is "Sebastian Verlac's" cousin. Then more characters come in like Luke's sister Amatis. And Simon ends up in jail....again.

In the end, Valentine shows up, Jocelyn's awake and apparently with Luke, and shit starts to go down.

We have a war with Valentine and Shadowhunters and Downworlders are helping each other -which I thought was really cute after all these time hating on each other. During that, Jace and Sebastian are fighting and Jace then realize that Clary isn't his sister and Sebastian/Jonathan is. Then the fight with Valentine, he dies and Jace dies. Angel comes and saves Jace and THE END.

Secrets are revealed, and full of non stop drama and action packed scenes unravels. Can't wait to read/reread City of Fallen Angels.


My Rating:

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout Review

Publication Date: May 8, 2012
Publisher:
Entangled Teen 
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 361 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Lux #1


Synopsis: 
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don't kill him first, that is.


What I Thought: 
Oh my lights and beyond!! What on Earth did I just read?! Obsidian is one of the best novels I have ever read this year. The romance is breathtaking, the storyline is brilliant, and everything else is AMAZING! This is definitely one of my top book series.

At first glance I was very skeptical about this but after I read that it was about aliens, I was hooked. Katy is a normal human being who just moved to West Virgina with her mom and lives next door to a very hot(hot doesn't even describe Daemon) guy. (I'm actually jealous) But when Katy finds out that her next door neighbor is actually an alien, stuffs are about to go down.

Jennifer L. Armentrout's writing is so captivating and compelling, she will make you read all day and night. This in particular was so addicting, I didn't stop thinking about it for a week. And the funniness it had! Boy oh boy! I could not read this without smiling like an idiot in class.

DAEMON! How do I even begin to describe Daemon? He's infuriating, arrogant, hot, an ass, and oh my gosh. Speechless. I..just...how do I words. I can't even. And thank god that he's not one of those green slimy aliens, but a sexy hot spark of light.

I love the relationship between Katy and Daemon. It's funny and how she gets all nervous around him -I mean, I wouldn't blame her. It starts off rough and he's a bit of an ass but in the end, he sorta changes. Not really but he's a different kinda a person alien thing.

If you have not read Obsidian, you're missing out on a lot. It's gonna be the next big thing. READ IT NOW!!


My Rating:

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout Review

Publication Date: October 18, 2011
Publisher:
Spencer Hill Press
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 304 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Covenant #1


Synopsis:
The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she's crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn't her biggest problem--staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

What I Thought: 
Wow! This love triangle going on is making me confused! Definitely a good book but I still prefer The Lux Series though.

Well this isn't something I read before. But I'm glad I did.

I am very similar to Jennifer's writing style and this book didn't disappoint. Still funny humor and some parts action packed when they needed to. And the ending was so nice. It was like "Hey, so you should read the next book." Not like "OMG YOU HAVE TO READ THE NEXT BOOK!!"

Alexandria (Alex) is a half-blood and after her mother's death, she ran away and soon attacked by Daimons. Then we meet Aiden who she has a major crush on. Problem is Aiden is a pure-blood. Halfs and pures can't fall in love.

Alex has anger issues and a trouble maker. She is very strong and stands what she believes in but she is also "broken" and caring. What I mean by broken is that she hasn't been the same or not as the same as she was before when her mom died. As for Aiden, he's actually pretty nice and not an ass like Daemon. Later on we are introduced to Seth as the Apollyon and I seriously don't know what to think about him. I don't hate him or love him. And I kinda ship Aiden.. Maybe because Daemon set the bar really high for Jennifer's books. Or maybe because I'm use to arrogant guys. Long story short, I don't know if I should be happy or mad about Seth. I guess neither.

I heard on some reviews, they compare this to The Vampire Academy Books and I don't know if they are alike or not because I haven't read them yet but I will soon.

Furthermore, I recommend this book to VA fans and others to read this.


Rating: 

Legend by Marie Lu Review

Publication Date: November 29, 2011
Publisher:
Putnam Juvenile
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 305 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Legend #1


Synopsis:
What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.


What I Thought:
Holy crap! This book! This is defiantly a 5/5 stars, no joke. It's full of action, thriller, and to top that off, romance. Its IMPOSSIBLE to put down. In the end of each chapter, there's suspense going on AND YOU CANT PUT IT DOWN. Its painful to close the book. Its like I could see it in my head. For people who haven't read it, WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN THIS WHOLE TIME?!? The beginning was slow but I don't blame it since all books have slow starters.

I liked how Marie Lu wrote it in duel perspectives because for the reader, we don't see Day or June together until like 100 pages in. She had a unique and intriguing writing style. Very different and refreshing. I also love how June's chapters were a different color than Day's.

The two main characters are very interesting because, Day is the most wanted while June is the military prodigy. Both very different but same at the same time. Also, its very interesting because somehow June and Day start caring for each other and then the romance thickens.

Almost every book I read, the protagonist is kick ass or awesome and its still stands in Legend. While I was reading this, I actually wanted to be June. I wanted to be exactly like her. Crazy I know but she is so amazing. Day is also bad ass and a strong character and without any training, he and June are basically at the same level.

As for the supporting characters, Tess, Metias, and John, they were also great. One thing that really upset me is that Metias died in the beginning and I wanted to see more of him. He was one of my favorite characters and he's an awesome big brother and a really strong supporting character. I hope he will be in the sequel in a flashback or something.

Overall, I LOVED this book and I recommend you pick this up. Action, thriller, suspense, and romance. What else to ask for?

Rating:

Divergent by Veronica Roth Review

Publication Date: February 28, 2012
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 487 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Divergent #1


Synopsis: 
In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue--Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is--she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are--and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series--dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.


What I Thought:
This book made me cry, laugh, smile, and mad. This was definitely a fast read. The end WAS JUST INSANE!

Oh my goodness. I have never read a book that kept me reading until sunrise. Literally! I started it like at 8 p.m. and read until 3 a.m. At first when I picked it up, I was five chapters in and I was like, "this is boring." So I stopped and a few months later, I saw a book review on PolandBananaBooks YouTube channel, so after many reluctant days, I finally picked it up again and IT WAS SO GOOD!

This was a debut novel for Veronica Roth and now she's a New York Bestselling Author, won many awards, and Divergent will soon become a movie in 2014!!

Her writing style is so good! It's poetic but at the same time epic.
Just the first line is so intriguing!

"There is one mirror in my house. It is behind a sliding panel in the hallway upstairs. Our faction allows me to stand in front of it on the second day of every third month, the day my mother cuts my hair."

So there's five factions, Abnegation, Amity, Candor, Erudite, and Dauntless. Abnegation is for the selfless people. They care more about others instead of themselves and they don't eat meat, just chicken because its self indulgent? Amity is more for the peace. They don't do violence or anything harmful. They're basically on a peace drug. Candor -boy oh boy do I not want to be in Candor. Candor is for the honest. They don't tell lies and they are forced to be truthful. Erudite is for the intelligence (also where Tris's brother Caleb goes to. Then there's Dauntless who are fricken insane and crazy! They are home of the brave. They are insane. One of their initiations, they have to jump off a moving train and onto a roof and onto a net. Uh...I would just die.

I love the characters in this book. Tris is fricken bad ass and she's Divergent. Divergent is when you basically belong in more than one faction. She is a strong female protagonist and I just love it. In the beginning we're introduced to Four and I'm just gonna say this: MAX IRONS. I picture him as Max Irons. He's hot and strong, and caring, and ahhh. Its so good. Its actually pretty hard to explain this book because its that's good!

Action packed, suspenseful, and with a hint of romance. I VERY MUCH HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU READ THIS!! Divergent will keep you reading until you finish.
 

Rating:

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare Review

Publication Date: March 25, 2008
Publisher:
Margaret K. McElderry Books
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 453 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Mortal Instruments #2


Synopsis: 
Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City's Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.


What I Thought:
Loved it, but not as much I loved the first one. At least I got to see more of Simon and Clary. I think it was frustrating but not like bad frustration but like AHHH THEY NEED TO AHH I JUST.. AHHH WHY WHY WHY!! For people who have read this, you understand my frustration.

City of Ashes reveals a journey of love, loss, and laughs but most of all acceptance. After Clary finds out the truth about her past, she has to accept who she really is.

It starts out like hours later of CoB. I was captivated from the very beginning. There's action, suspense, and some parts dragged but I love Cassie's style of writing. I think we all agree now that she is the "Queen of Cliffhangers".

I deducted a star because of the relationship between Jace and Clary. Clary can be so very annoying at times and Jace can be still an ass but they're trying to avoid each other but can't. As for the Simon and Clary part, I liked but I had hopes for Jace. Dating Simon is like dating a brother.

I was still convinced that in the end of City of Bones, that "thing" didn't happen and then in the end of this, I was STILL convinced it didn't happen. I'm just in denial about it.

I bet Cassie likes trolling us. Almost every single book, there's a cliffhanger! She's like "Yes, yes, that's the ending and you have to wait a year or so to read the next book."

Overall, this wasn't my favorite book in the series BUT, I still very enjoyed it and I recommend all of you to read this series. You don't want to miss this. This will be the next big thing. Trust me.

Rating:

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare Review

Publication Date: March 27, 2007
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books 
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 442 pages
Source: Bought
Series:
The Mortal Instruments #1

Synopsis: 
When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder -- much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It's hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing -- not even a smear of blood -- to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . . .

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare's ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.


What I Thought:
OH MY GOODNESS!! SPEECHLESS! THE ENDING. JUST WOW. Even though this was a reread... I..eh..cannot...speak.

The first time I read this, I almost threw my laptop(I was reading this a an e-book) out the window! This makes me laugh so much and I love books that make me laugh. Its makes me cry and I have a serious problem with this book series. I go ranting about this in school, create crack pot theories like a crazy person.

I love Cassie's writing style. It's so well written and the story line is so .... speechless. I can't even find a word to describe how good this is. The way she presented a new world hidden among us was just so freaking wonderful. She created new creatures -and by the way, vampires, angels, demons, werewolves, warlocks, and faeries all in one!!!

The characters in this book was a good way to start off a series.

Clary, the main protagonist and heroine, she deals with all of the bad stuff that happens and doesn't even give a f. She's not afraid to stand up for herself and that what makes a main character awesome. But the thing I really hated about Clary is that she doesn't do what she is told even though its for her own sake and at some chapters, she would start getting in my nerves.

Jace, the love interest, and my oh my. Jace may be an ass, but he's a sexy asshole. He is extremely arrogant, believing himself to be "the best Shadowhunter" and can also be very sarcastic. I love how he's sarcastic like when something bad happens, he has to open his big mouth and make a joke about it. His face is often described as being beautiful, sexy, gorgeous and angular. AND HOT VERY HOT AND HOT!

And as for the other characters, Simon, Isabelle, Alec, and Magnus are also fan-flipping-tastic!

The ending of this book I was like, NOOOO! Everything that happened it..just...no!

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU READ THIS and just in time before August 23, 2013 for the movie. Cassandra Clare, you ruined my life and thank you for ruining it. Its so good!! Pick it up! Pick it up now!! 



Rating:


The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Review

Publication Date: September 14, 2008
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 374 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Hunger Games #1


Synopsis:
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning? In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

What I Thought: 
For all y'all out there who haven't read this book: WHAT THE HECK MAN! It's the 2011/2012 thing to do. Out of all three of them, this is probably my most favorite book in the series.

Hunger Games is a super fast read—and I mean super fast. You’ll grow to really care about the characters. Plus, it’s actually kind of genius how Suzanne Collins takes everyday things, like reality TV and amps them up to 1000. So the reader is able to relate to this, even though this is a horrifying, cruel, and basically wrong. Suzanne doesn’t tone down the violence (literally one of my favorite characters died and its just... no I can't even) that’s the center of the novel. If she did, her message probably would have lost most of its power because it's on of those "you really have to think about your government and life right now under its control" books.

Go read The Hunger Games or reread it, not because it’s the next big thing, but because it’s worth reading. Seriously! I read it 8 times already and I still enjoy it! The Hunger Games made me start reading again. Before this I would read 3 books a year!!


Rating:
 

Friday, December 14, 2012

Shadowhunters and Downworlders: A Mortal Instruments Reader Edited by Cassandra Clare Review

Expected Publication Date: January 29, 2013
Publisher: Smartpop

Format: ARC
Page Count: 198 pages
Source: NetGalley

Synopsis:
Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series, epic urban fantasy set in a richly imagined world of shadowhunters, vampires, werewolves, fairies, and more, has captured the imaginations and loyalty of hundreds of thousands of YA readers. Originally a trilogy (City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass), the series has extended to six titles, plus a prequel trilogy, the Infernal Devices, and a planned sequel series, the Dark Artifices. A feature film is planned for 2013.

Shadowhunters and Downworlders, edited by Clare (who provides an introduction to the book and to each piece), is a collection of YA authors writing about the series and its world.


Authors Who Contributed:
Holly Black / Kendare Blake / Gwenda Bond / Sarah Rees Brennan / Rachel Caine / Sarah Cross / Kami Garcia / Michelle Hodkin / Kelly Link / Kate Milford / Diana Peterfreund / Sara Ryan / Scott Tracey / Robin Wasserman



What I thought: 

First off, I like to thank NetGalley for sending me an ARC of Shadowhunters and Downworlders.

Many authors contributed to this reader like Cassandra Clare , Holly Black , Kate Milford , Diana Peterfreund, Sara Ryan , Scott Tracey,Robin Wasserman, Kendare Blake, Gwenda Bond, Sarah Rees Brennan, Rachel Caine, Sarah Cross, Kami Garcia, Michelle Hodkin, and Kelly Link. What I love is that this is a genius idea. As a reader, we get to see different perspectives from many authors and they interpret their own thoughts and meaning in it.

I didn't expect to like Shadowhunters and Downworlders at all because I have a hatred towards essays. I am happy to say that I was blown away how good this was. You get a great look at the Mortal Instruments series which really helps you understand Cassandra Clare's books.

All of the essays in this Reader are very entertaining to read. I love most of them but particularly my favorite essay was,"Simon Lewis: Jewish, Vampire, Hero." This was written by Michelle Hodkin and I have read her books and she is one of my favorite authors. Michelle Hodkin's input on Simon was very interesting and funny. This essay brings up about Judaism and the history of Vampires.

Shadowhunters and Downworlders is a must get for all fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments/Infernal Devices. Go read Shadowhunters and Downworlders. Also, this actually helped me ease the panic for the upcoming books. If you can't wait for CP2 or CoHF then read this. Trust me, you won't regret it.

Rating:

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Review

Publication Date: August 7, 2012
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 404 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Throne of Glass #1


Synopsis:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined. 

What I thought: 

OH MY CHAOL GOODNESS!! THE FEELS I HAVE FOR THIS BOOK IS JUST... AHH!!

This is now my newly most favored fantasy book like ever! The characters were spot on. The plot and how it was written is beautiful. And it's just ... I can't even. I have no words for this.

Lets start off thanking Sarah J. Maas for writing this beautiful, heroic, amazing book! It's a really fast paced, action packed novel with amazing characters. I love how this book is like third person so we could see the other characters perspectives. Like half of the time it would be Celaena and the other would be Dorian and Chaol.

This kinda reminded me of The Hunger Games just because it was a competition with 24 participates/assassins competing each other but this is in the historic times while HG was in the futuristic.

One of the problems I did had with this book was the whole love triangle thing. I think it wasn't really necessary because basically everybody agrees that Celaena should be with Chaol which in fact I agree and I DO SHIP THEM!

Now on with the characters. Oh how I flipping love these characters. For starters Calaena is soo bad ass and deadly and ... Just asdfghjkl!! She isn't afraid to stand for what she believes in and she's not like a regular assassin! She cares for others like Chaol, Dorian, and the princess. She is one of the best/badass protagonist and female heroines I have ever read my life.

Chaol at first is really cruel and ignorant towards Celaena but throughout the the book, we see their relationship grow and he starts warming up to her. And I think that's what really hooked on to me with this relationship because as the reader, I like to see two characters start off hating each other and then start being more towards friends. Also in the end when he did that thing to that person I was like yelling and cheering because that was so nice of him even though it would scar him.

Dorian is a prince and just starts off being a nice, friendly, arrogant ass. I didn't mind him too much but it still bothered me. Of course he helps Celaena out and cares for her but in a relationship perspective it wouldn't work out anyways. And in the end where he did nothing, that ticked me off sooo much like you have no idea.

You will not want to miss out on this page turner! I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone actually because its that good! But to be more specific, maybe the Hunger Games fandom and fantasy lovers out there. It's a fantastic read. I would say more but my vocabulary isn't strong enough to express my feelings.

Cannot wait to read the second one! 2013!!! Come sooner!!! 


My rating:

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Matched by Ally Condie Review

Publication Date: November 30, 2010
Publisher:
Dutton Juvenile 
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 369 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Matched #1


Synopsis:

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate... until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.


What I thought:

Imagine living a life where all of your decisions are made for you, from what you eat to where you work to who you love. There are no mistakes, no accidents; as long as you follow the Society's rules, you'll live a long, productive life. At least that's what Cassia believes until her Match Ceremony when she finds out that the boy she is destined to marry, Xander, is not the boy whose face flashes past on her dossier - the mysterious Ky. As Cassia explores her feelings, she delves deeper into the warped structure of the Society, learning with each passing day that her life of privilege comes at a cost. 

Matched was okay. It feelt like lacking on spirits and slow starting. The main character, Cassia ,seemed so boring and a weak protagonist. She doesn't question the Society and the government until there was this malfunction. If Ky never showed up, Cassia would've been married to Xander. 

What I think that really bothered me was the type of writing style Ally Condie uses and the characters. I mean its a good book and all but it was all too poetic. Like the way she describes things. Again, the characters really bothered me. I got bored out of it in some places through the book. 

The good thing about this was the ending. I did not expect that to happen and I liked how it slowly intertwines you to read the next book. Well mostly because it was a cliff-hanger.

I really wanted to love this. I really did but this was a little disappointment. I like it but not love it. I would recommend this to someone who loves romance but people who don't really care about dystopian novels. I felt like the dystopia part of the novel was just to describe the time, place, and the Society. 

My Rating: 

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Review

Publication Date: September 24, 2011
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 452 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Mara Dyer #1


Synopsis: 
Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.


What I thought:
Okay, WOAH! I loved this a second time around.

Lets just say that this was one of those books that are like "OMG! WTF! WHAT IS GOING ON!!!" I was sucked in immediately. And I cannot wait to reread the second book!

Basically, this book is insane, literally! At the start, something bad happened to Mara and like a few weeks later, she doesn't remember. When I first picked up this book, I didn't know it was a horror/ghost storyish. I'm not a fan of creepy novels because they scare the life out of me, but this a a little romance in this. What I've seen is that, tons of people are deducting a star from this book is because of the romance. For me the romance didn't bother me at all. In my opinion, if it wasn't for Noah, Mara would be insane and heck... I will go insane.

I love how Michelle Hodkin can turn a eerie, creepy storyline into a funny but still creepy one. The characters were SPOT ON! Like seriously. I love Mara's brothers. They are so caring and Daniel, he is like my dream brother. And of course my admiration for Noah. He's like the only one that keeps Mara (aside from her family) from going insane or having her committed. Did I mention he's hot British. For me, the down fall was the interaction with Mara and her mom. She's just... ughhh.

OHMYGOD!! THAT ENDING!!! Here's another reason why I adore this book, it leaves you hanging. I knew something was gonna happen but I didn't know it was that! And when you finally thought you had everything figured, NO! Michelle Hodkin throws us an unexpected ending. DARN YOU CLIFF-HANGERS!!!!

Overall, I recommend that you pick up The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Its a really fast paced book with a smack of romance cherry on top. :)


My Rating:

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks Review

Publication Date: May 22, 2012
Publisher:
Feiwel & Friends  
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 342 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Of Poseidon #1


Synopsis:
Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he's heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen — literally, ouch! — both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma's gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom . . . Told from both Emma and Galen's points of view, here is a fish-out-of-water story that sparkles with intrigue, humor, and waves of romance.  

What I thought:
Of Poseidon is the story of Galen, a prince of the house of Triton, who an ambassador of sorts between Syrena and humans. He and his sister come to Florida looking for what appears to be a Syrena,and find Emma - a "human" girl who just so happens to fight off a shark.

If that doesn't interest you then this might, MERMAIDS - well Syrena. They hate being called mermaids.

Now, that might sound cool, and it is, but, it's more of a cheesy and girly book. There's a LOT of romance between the two main characters and some romance with the supporting characters. I'm more a dystopian, science fiction, fantasy sort of girl but this was a light and funny read.

The writing style of this book is different with most books. It has Emma's POV in first person and Galen's POV in third person but his perspective. It kinda threw me off but it work out really well. And don't forget the hilarious commentary with both characters. Sometimes when one of them does something stupid or funny, Emma always think OhMySweetGoodness or count Mississippi's.

The characters in this also worked out pretty well. Emma is a strongish main character and Galen... Well he's a prince, what can you expect from him. But their affection for one another is spot on and absolutely amazing. And they barely fight... No I take that back. I liked how caring Galen is toward Emma. Rayna, in the beginning she's like a diva princess. Hating on Toraf, her mate, humans, and Emma. She's rude towards her and blames her for her best friend's death. But towards the middle she lightens up and starts to like her.

I would definitely recommend this book to mostly girls who loves romance and mermaids. For guys, I also recommend but I prefer not to because most guys don't like that much of romantic stuff and no action scenes so, yeah. I cannot wait for the second book and the ending!!!!! Ahh I hate cliff hangers!!


My Rating: