Saturday, September 28, 2013

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan Review

Expected Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: ARC
Page Count: 384 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: Uninvited #1


Synopsis:

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


Review:

In the year of 2021, the government tests the people for HTS, which is a Homicidal Tendency Syndrome. Basically, if you have this, it’s likely you’ll end up a killer.

So the main character Davy has a future ahead of her. She has a family, her boyfriend Zac, her best friend Tori who I REALLY HATE, and college. Then one day the results of HTS came back positive for her. Now everything she once had is now ruined. Her parents are scared of her, her boyfriend left and broke up and Tori is being a total bitch to her. She has no one until she meets another carrier/person who has HTS, Sean.

Sean and Devy aren’t really like other HTS carriers. They don’t seem dangerous and Sean is actually pretty sweet. At first Davy was alright, under the radar, until she slapped Zac for being a total ass. Then Tori reports her and all hell breaks loose. Honestly, what Zac did, he deserved that slap.

All governments in dystopian books are corrupt but this government is messed up. Just a little violence, boom you have the kill gene. You slap someone, boom you get a mark and punished.

I read this in one sitting and under 2 hours. I cried, I laughed, and I even yelled at it. Crazy but I totally felt what Davy was going through and it just made me emotional. From being a girl who’s rich and had everything she wanted, to a nobody.

I really loved the relationship between Davy and Sean. Honestly without Sean, I wouldn’t think that Davy would be able to survive in life. Sean saves her from many situations and she doesn’t feel lonely. Same goes with Sean. Sean grew up in foster care and has a childhood opposite from Davy. He never felt wanted until Davy actually cared what would happen to him.

This is the first in a duology that come out in 2014 and I really recommend pre-ordering and reading this! It’s an amazing read


ARC provided by Edelweiss and HarperTeen 

Rating:

No comments:

Post a Comment