Wednesday, December 25, 2013

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings Review

Expected Publication Date: June 10, 2014
Publisher:
Greenwillow / HarperCollins
Format: ARC
Page Count: 400 pages
Source: Publisher
Series:The Murder Complex #1


Synopsis:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.


Review:

Actual rating: 4.5 Stars 

Now, going into this, I completely had no idea what to expect from this. Was it realistic fiction? Does it have murders and crimes to solve? What point of view is it? Is there romance? I had so much questions about this book, but when I went into this, I was completely enthralled. Now with those questions, I'll answer them and as always, with no spoilers.

This is a futuristic, dystopian type of thriller. There's plenty of action scenes and murders but not graphic since this is YA.

There's actually two protagonists, Meadows and Zephyr. With those two main characters, it is told in dual point of views. Meadow is a kick-butt character, lets start with that. Meadow was trained to survive and Zephyr was trained/more like programed to kill against his own will. 

With all that drama going on, how did they possibly end up in each others worlds? Meadows actually found him crying and another point, attempted suicide. Now, this is one of the first books I actually read that a male character breaks down and the heroine is more of a badass than the hero. I give you all the applause to you Lindsay! Now when he attempted to suicide, the plan backfired and Meadows actually saved his life by giving him her blood. But when she does help him, she fins out that Zephyr is an Essential. No one is an Essential in this world and Meadow's confused why he is one. 

In my opinion, it isn't until the middle where it gets really interesting. For the most part in the beginning, its mostly some back story of the characters and then when Meadow and Zephyr come together and start to interact, I believed that's when the story really hit for me. Basically most of the book I was so confused because with all the twists and turns. Then by the end, all I can say was this was crazy and then at the very last part of the book, the realization hit me and then it was over. 

The ending was very ambiguous and I really want to know more of this story.

With Lindsay Cummings' writing, it's again, not too graphic, but it does give you the chills. It has this poetic vibe to it. This is an amazing debut novel to start with and I overall loved it. 


ARC provided by HarperCollins and Greenwillow

Rating:

No comments:

Post a Comment