Saturday, January 26, 2013

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare Review

Publication Date: April 5, 2011
Publisher:
Margaret K. McElderry Books 
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 424 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Mortal Instruments #4


Synopsis: 
The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She's training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And - most importantly of all - she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters who used to be in Valentine's Circle, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second bloody war. Clary's best friend, Simon, can't help her. His mother just found out that he's a vampire and now he's homeless. Everywhere he turns, someone wants him on their side - along with the power of the curse that's wrecking his life. And they're willing to do anything to get what they want. At the same time he's dating two beautiful, dangerous girls - neither of whom knows about the other one.

When Jace begins to pull away from Clary without explaining why, she is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: She herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace.

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. The stakes are higher than ever in City of Fallen Angels.


My Review + Rant:

Ladies and gentlemen ... May I present you, the Queen of Cliff-hangers ... CASSANDRA CLARE. Seriously! Cassandra Clare makes me want to throw a book through a window.

In City of Fallen Angles, it focuses more on Simon, which was great read because in the last three books it didn't really revolves on him but with Clary and Jace. So, the story begins about 2-3 months after the end of City of Glass. Clary is being trained to be a shadowhunter, Jocelyn preparing to marry Luke, Alec and Magnus are off seeing the world and happily in love (MALEC!), Simon is still struggling with being a vampire along with dating two girls at the same time and Jace acting all weird. But aside from that ... Jace is still Jace.

It is so hard for me to write this without any spoilers.


Just to get my frustrations out SPOILERS ABOUT THE ENDING AHEAD!
This will be a rant

OH MY FRICKEN GOD! ARE YOU KIDDING ME!! Sebastian that bastard!! Why does he have to come back!! And now he's controlling Jace?!? NOOO! Tears! I am in TEARS! Is he going to be fine? Will Clary know? THAT SOB!! I...cannot speak! *sighs* *frustrated* But it was all worth it.

                                                                      Rating:

Thursday, January 24, 2013

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa Review

Publication Date: February 1, 2010
Publisher:
Harlequin Teen
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 363 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Iron Fey #1


Synopsis:
Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth - that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.


 My Review:

Meghan Chase always felt slightly off in her life, ever since her father disappeared when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school…or at home.When a dark stranger begins watching her, her best friend becomes strangely protective of her and now her brother has gone missing. When they got into The Nevernever they were being hunted by Puck’s former best friend now enemy, Prince Ash of the Unseelie Court (a.k.a the HOT Prince of the Winter Court).

Meghan in my opinion is "weak" and not much of a strong lead. I mean of course she's new to everything that's happening but I think she's afraid and that seems kinda annoying. Other than that, I really loved the supporting characters. Grimalkin might be annoying but he is such a cat and surprisingly really helpful! I also loved the two love interests for Meghan. I preferred to see more of Ash and the relationship grow between Meghan and him but still, this IS the first book in the series. Ash is a great character, but why do I ALWAYS fall for the forbidden guys or the guys who are such an ass. He's always following orders and listening to what others want but you can tell that deep down he wants to be free and doing what he wants.

Overall, The Iron King is an AWESOME book and I can't wait to read the second book and the novella.

  
Rating:
 

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder Review

Publication Date: December 1, 2008
Publisher:
Mira 
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 405 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Study #1


Synopsis:
Choose: A quick death…Or slow poison...

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She'll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly's Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can't control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren't so clear...


What I Thought:

I freaking loved this book so so much! I could not put it down!

Yelena has been convicted of murdering General Brazell’s son Reyad and with only hours left until her death, Yelena is offered to save her life but only if she agrees to become the food taster for Commander Ambrose.

Maria V. Snyder created a engaging and riveting novel with action, adventure, suspense, and romance. It's well written, it has a great pack of characters, it's unpredictable, and your heart will want more.

Yelena... freaking love her. She's one of those characters that you can;t help but instantly love. She is decidedly stubborn, but unfailingly loyal to the people she cares about. Yelena is one of my new favorite female protagonist of all time.

And Valek ... what can I say? He's a highly skilled assassin and the chief of a highly secret network of spies. One word -WOW! Valek serves as Yelena's mentor through her training as a food taster, helping her through her trials and occasionally protecting her from Brazell's soldier thugs that seek revenge on her murder of Reyad.

Just the relationship between them is wonderful. And I really do believe Valek is sweet to Yelena. Yelena... the one who got Valek's cold heart pumping.

Overall, I was captivated at the start of the book, and I couldn’t put the book down once I started reading. The world Maria V. Snyder created is completely convincing. I loved all the characters, especially Valek -I mean, hello?! Poison Study isn’t only a spellbinding fantasy it is also a wonderfully built love story! I can not wait to read Magic Study!

                                                                         My Rating:

Sunday, January 13, 2013

Harken by Kaleb Nation Review

Publication Date: January 9, 2013
Format: E-book
Page Count: 375 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Harken #1


Synopsis: 
After surviving an assassination attempt, teenager Michael Asher discovers that he is at the center of a worldwide conspiracy reaching higher than any earthly power. A supernatural organization desperately wants him dead. He doesn't know why. Everyone who might have the answers has already been killed.

Tumbling into a web of international secrets, Michael is forced to fight back and dig up the truth. He begins to question how much of the world is truly as people are led to believe it is. Are there things that humanity is not being told? Who is the puppet master? And how far into the maze can he venture before he is lost forever?


What I Thought:
descriptionSEQUEL!!! I NEED SEQUEL!! Kaleb... you are a genius!! That ending... wow!! I don't even have time to process the thoughts and words I just read.

 At first, I didn't really know what to expect reading this only that its a Conspiracy / Sci-Fi story about a teenage boy named Michael who survived an assassination attempt. I don't know about you but, that sounds freaking awesome what?! So I'm just on my Kindle and reading Harken and I went about 20-30 pages in and I was hooked immediately.

We start off introduced to Michael who has a gift of reading people's eyes meaning he can see their emotions and he's at the center of a worldwide conspiracy theory. He's one of those characters that the readers love but at some point also hate because he can be an idiot at some points. As the story went on, I grew to love him even more. He takes risks for the people he cares about and that is, to me, what makes a strong main character because I don't like witty protagonists and Harken is an action story. We need bad ass main and supporting characters to fulfill the plot and Mr. Kaleb Nation did that.

This book involves a lot of action. It is definitely a fast read for me because most of the time I would just be like "Wait...WHAT?! How...But...HUH?!" and I would just keep reading 'till the end just to see how it answers all of my questions and when I saw

                                                         THE END OF BOOK ONE

Half of me was like "OMG WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?! I NEED THE SEQUEL!! ARC! GIVE ME ARC! And the other half ... left me in tears. I was more confused, it answered some of my questions and then left EVEN MORE questions.

On with the supporting characters. Callista and Thad are the Chosens and they help Michael throughout the whole novel. Callista is an interesting character which I have ups and downs with. Sometimes she starts blaming Michael for things and that kinda gets very annoying even when Michael couldn't do anything about it. Still, she's a very strong character and I will grow more to like her. I adore Thad. He's loyal and he doesn't let his past bother him which is good for him, he's self-sacrificing which is amazing.

Most YA novels, there are romance. In Harken, I wouldn't say there isn't any but there's a hint of a romance between Michael and Callista, but it doesn't really interfere with the whole plot.
The chemistry isn't the main focus of the whole book but it was nice to see the relationship. It was nice and light and I'm definitely excited to see where it goes.

When I got to the end, my heart just dropped and my brain just shut off. It left me wanting more. I just loved the ending. There is a cliff-hanger but it was a nice cliff-hanger and if you know me or read my reviews, I HATE CLIFF-HANGERS. I get so worked up about them because they are torture. It felt as if it left you hanging to continue the series and to realize that it's the end of the book and you should really read the next book to find out what happens.

Overall, this action packed, thriller, and a touch of romance will keep you hanging 'till the very end. Pick it up on Amazon right now!! GO DO IT!! ITS AMAZING!! Don't be an apple. Go read it!!

*Side note: I freaking love the cover. It's so mysterious and just the name HARKEN*


My Rating:

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Review

Publication Date: November 15, 2011 
Publisher: Harper
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 338 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Shatter Me #1


Synopsis:
Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.


What I Thought:
WOW! It's just... Wow! Speechless. The ending just blew my mind! I don't know if I can say anything about this book because, well, it's that good. I'm still speechless.

Just the first line, I was hooked. Tahereh Mafi's writing style is so amazing and beautifully written. It's poetic and there's some words that are slashed out when Juliette is thinking in her head. I noticed that tons of people are deducting stars because of the writing style but I didn't mind at all! In my opinion, it interested me more and kept me captivated.

Juliette has an ability that causes her to kill anyone she touches. So she refuses to touch anyone near her. Juliette could be bad ass and strong at times but for the most part, she is weak but I don't blame her. She's been outcast when she was younger and at some parts of the book, she would cry and etc.

On the other hand, Adam is such an awesome character that I absolutely loved and ... speechless. He's caring, strong, and a old "friend" (kinda) when they were little. Warner is another intriguing character that is somewhat caring towards Juliette.

Overall, I loved this book and cannot wait to read Unravel Me! I recommend this to everyone who loves dystopian, paranormal romance, and swoon worthy characters.


Rating: