Sunday, March 31, 2013

The Host by Stephenie Meyer Book Review

Publication Date: May 6, 2008
Publisher: Little Brown and Company 
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 619 pages
Source: Library
Series: The Host #1


Synopsis:
Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading "soul" who has been given Melanie's body, didn't expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer's thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she's never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Featuring one of the most unusual love triangles in literature, THE HOST is a riveting and unforgettable novel about the persistence of love and the essence of what it means to be human.


Review:

BEST STEPHENIE MEYER BOOK EVER !! Best ending too! Definitely gonna watch the movie on opening day and I seriously cannot wait for the sequel in a year or two.

Wow. How come it took me so long to finally pick this up? This has got to be the best Stephenie Meyer book ever. It's nothing like Twilight and the way Stephenie wrote this book is totally mind-gripping and it leaves you reading it all night and it makes you think, it makes you cry.

Explaining the plot of the book is very complicated. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of humans and they possess their bodies. At this time, the earth is at peace, no violence, no wars -except for the resistance- honesty, and kindness. Wanderer, who invades Melanie's body has trouble being in her body. Melanie fills Wanda's thoughts with visions of Jared and soon enough Wanda and Melanie set off to go find Jared and the people they love.

Wanda and Melanie are both very strong. Melanie isn't like any other humans that had been invaded. She stays in Wanda's thoughts and sometimes, she can control her body when necessary. Wanda is so self-sacrificing and she is very kind to the humans even though she faced many threats and almost gotten killed by the resistance. But over time, they see each other as sisters.

Now for the love square. It's not a love triangle, but a square. Ian loves Wanda and Jared loves Melanie. Let me point out that, when Ian and Jared saw Wanda/Mel, they both either slap her or threatens her. Over time, Ian develops feelings for Wanda and even though Melanie disapproves of it, Wanda too have feelings for Ian. Then there's the jealousy of Jared and vice versa.

Long story short, I loved this book and also loved the movie. I recommended you read this. It's full of romance, sci-fi, and a thought-provoking story that will leave you breathless.

Click here to read my movie review of The Host

Rating:

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Everneath by Brodi Ashton Review

Publication Date: January 24, 2012
Publisher:
HarperCollins / Balzer + Bray Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 370 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Everneath #1


Synopsis:
Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she's returned--to her old life, her family, her boyfriend--before she's banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can't find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance--and the one person she loves more than anything. But there's just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he'll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

As Nikki's time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole's queen.

Everneath is a captivating story of love, loss, and immortality from debut author Brodi Ashton.


Review: 

This book is amazing. Love the Greek mythology retelling of Hades and Persephone.

Not only this book was purely amazing, but it has a unique writing style. It has the main character, Nikki, told from the present perspective and her past, before she "came back".

For the past 100 years in the Everneath - 6 months on earth (surface, Nikki Beckett is used as a source of energy for Cole - an Everliving - to feed. Being a forfeit, Nikki has no memories and her energy is sucked away by Cole, expect for one memory - Jack. When she decides to go back to the surface, she can't help but look for Jack and still want him. Bad news, Cole followed her and without a doubt, Jack's still heart broken. Nikki is a good character. Sometimes she made really bad decisions, but she's really strong.

I loved Jack the minute Nikki saw him. I know it's a book but Brodi Ashton makes me fall in love with Jack and I can't deny that he's attractive. Cole on the other hand, I have a hate-love, mostly hate relationship. But he cares for Nikki and wants her to be his queen. For me, sometimes I want to punch him on his throat with my foot for trying so hard to split Nikki and Jack up.

I cannot believe the ending! 1. Its a cliffhanger 2. I cried. I'm not saying anything until you read this book.

Fast-paced, emotional, and full of frustrating romance, this book is worth checking out.

  
Rating:

Saturday, March 23, 2013

The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett Review

Publication Date: March 5, 2013
Publisher: Tor Teen
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 367 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Arkwell Academy #1


Synopsis: 
Sixteen-year-old Dusty Everhart breaks into houses late at night, but not because she’s a criminal. No, she’s a Nightmare.

Literally.

Being the only Nightmare at Arkwell Academy, a boarding school for magickind, and living in the shadow of her mother’s infamy, is hard enough. But when Dusty sneaks into Eli Booker’s house, things get a whole lot more complicated. He’s hot, which means sitting on his chest and invading his dreams couldn’t get much more embarrassing. But it does. Eli is dreaming of a murder.

Then Eli’s dream comes true.

Now Dusty has to follow the clues—both within Eli’s dreams and out of them—to stop the killer before more people turn up dead. And before the killer learns what she’s up to and marks her as the next target.


Review:
3.5 but rounding it to 4 This was a cute and fun read!

What lured me into wanting to read this book was the Nightmare and mystery concept. Dusty, who isn't just a Nightmare, but a dream-seer, can see the future through dreams. Every dream-seer requires a partner, and in this case Dusty's partner is Eli -also her love interest.

Mindee Arnett created an original setting and world of this book. There's paranormal creatures called magickind, and they're divided into three groups... naturekind (faeries, dryads, mermaids), witchkind (witches and wizards) and darkkind (vampires, demons and Nightmares).

Dusty is a funny teenager with full of fierce and sarcasm. And being a teenager, there's always a love interest. Scratch that -two love interests. Eli Booker and Paul.

Eli is the main love interest. But the thing that frustrated me the most was that he and Dusty stayed friends most of the book. Immediately when Eli arrives, he fits in the popular people so he ends up dating Katarina, who is a total biach (yes biach) and a siren. Despite Katarina, Eli is nice character and actually cares for Dusty.

Now for the other love interest. Dusty meets a nice sweet boy named Paul who I actually rooted for the whole book because I was so frustrated with the Eli and Kat thing. But something unrealistic is that he's too sweet. No one can be that nice and caring except for Jem.

The ending was pretty intense. We finally found out who the killer was and I didn't even knew that actually happened. But the last chapter was a little cheesy.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. It has likeable characters and I'm looking forward to reading the next book.

Rating:

Friday, March 15, 2013

Inside & Out TAG

Created by Jeremy at MathomBooks
http://youtu.be/_9Oeeqp2174

I Inside flap/Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough (Discuss)

N New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: Audiobook, E-Book, Paperback, or Hardcover?

S Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why)

I In your best voice, read for us your favorite 1st sentence from a book.

D Does it matter to you whether the author is male of female when you're deciding on a book? What if you're unsure of the author's gender?

E Ever read ahead? or have you ever read the last page way before you got there? (Do confess thy sins, foul demon!) :)

&

O Organized bookshelves, or Outrageous bookshelves?

U Under oath: have you ever bought a book based on the cover (alone)?

T Take it outside to read, or stay in?


I: I prefer more info because that's my number 1 rule to buying books.

N: Hardcover

S: Keeping it clean (OCD) and one of my biggest pet peeves about books.

I: I've been locked up for 264 days.

D: It doesn't matter.

E: Guilty. I'm not that patient.

&

O: Organized

U: Yes

T: Stay in. Too distracting outside. SQUIRREL!

Sunday, March 10, 2013

The PLAYING WITH YOUR EMOTIONS Book Tag

Tag created by Raleen:
http://www.youtube.com/user/padfootan...

The "Questions"
Which book makes you feel......
1. Happy?
2. Sad?
3. Angry?
4. Nostalgic?
5. Scared?
6. Surprised?
7. Disappointed?
8. Distressed?
9. Confused?

Happy: Of Poseidon because it was a fast, nice, romantic, cheesy read.

Sad: Mostly all books make me cry but, The Fault in Our Stars -for obvious reasons, Everneath, Sweet Evil, and Mockingjay for their endings.

Angry: Fricken City of Ashes. Clary and Jace to be exact. If you read City of Bones, you know what I'm talking about.

Nostalgic: The Hunger Games because it got me to reading again and book blogging. Also I was so obsessed with it.

Scared: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. That book is crazy.

Surprised: The Host because of Stephanie Meyer and her Twilight books -which I'm probably never gonna read.

Disappointed: Under the Never Sky. Yeah, I didn't like it. Characters and plot bore me.

Distressed: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (cried for days) and Crossed (still stressed about that)

Confused: All the Cassandra Clare books

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare Review

Publication Date: August 31, 2010
Publisher:
Margaret K. McElderry Books 
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 476 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Infernal Devices #1


Synopsis:
Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa's power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by—and torn between—two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm's length . . . everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world. . . . and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.



Review: 

Cassandra Clare is my addiction.

The details and descriptive writing with everything is absolutely amazing. Clare does an excellent job explaining the history and background of the Shadowhunters and actually reading their history. I loved how it was set in Victorian London instead of the present New York setting and back in the 1800s. Being a huge fan of The Mortal Instruments, I adored the fact that these are TMI's ancestors and lets not forget, we also have some Magnus Bane!

So we got these three main characters, Tessa, Will, and Jem. Tessa being kidnapped by the Dark Sisters, she realizes she's a Downworlder and now tangled with this secret about Shadowhunters, demons, and so on. Kinda sounds like Clary minus the Downworlder thing. Along the way trying to find her brother, she's starting to care about Will and Jem at the same time and that's where the plot thickens.

This is an easy, exciting, and very entertaining book. I loved this from the start and I am obsessed with Cassandra Clare's books since the beginning.

I don't know which is better, TMI or TID. Either way I very enjoyed this and go pick it up.


Rating: 

DAY AND NIGHT TAG

Original: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8pdS...

QUESTIONS:
D: Do you read more in the morning or at night?
A: Are there any books that changed the way you thought about things?
Y: YA or Not?

A: Are there characters that you honestly believe are real?
N: Nobody touches my books or I don't mind loaning my books out?
D: Do you ever smell your books?

N: Not everyone loves books...is this a positive or a negative?
I: I keep my books in the best condition or maybe not? Which are you?
G: Gosh I have to many books! True or False?
H: Have you ever spilled or stained your books before with something, and if so how?
T: Toned or untoned while reading? ..or in other words...Do you read and workout at the same time?

D: I read at night just because I'm more focused and I usually sleep in the mornings. 

A: I would say The Host because, in the beginning, everyone is judging Wanda because she's a soul and not a human and just because your not human doesn't mean they're not the same and how she was very vulnerable.

Y: YA. I read YA books 99.9% of the time while the other percent I read adults but I prefer YA.

A: Characters? What do you mean Jace and Will are characters? Harsh Much.

N: Half and half. I only loan books to people I trust and know won't damage them.

D: Yes. Not gunna lie.

N: It doesn't really matter to me.

I: BEST CONDITION! I cannot stand ruined books. (OCD)

G: 100+ Definitely true.

H: I stained one of my books with blood once from a nose bleed. I don't know how it happened but it jut did.

T: I sometimes read while running on my treadmill.

Friday, March 1, 2013

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter Review

Publication Date: September 25, 2012
Publisher:
Harlequin Teen
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 404 pages
Source: Bought
Series
: White Rabbit Chronicles #1

Synopsis:

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….


I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I'd tell my sister no.
I'd never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I'd zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I'd hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I'd tell them I love them.
I wish... Yeah, I wish.


                                                                   Review:

Alice? Zombies? Sign me up!

Aside from the title, this has nothing to do with Alice in Wonderland. It's mostly a girl named Alice Bell who somehow ends up involved with zombies.

Before everything happened, Ali's mom, dad, and sister died from a car accident except for her. Now she's living with her grandmother, grandfather, and going to a new school. Sounds like a mundane life right ... wrong. Going to this new school she meets new friends that are secretive and trouble for her.

If I could describe this book with one word I would choose hilarious! Gena Showalter's writing is so compelling I didn't want to stop reading. How she came up with this original idea and unique story is brilliant.

Alice narrates this story with feisty but great sense of humor. Then we have her friend Kat who really came out of nowhere and now her best friend. Sassy, but an awesome friend, Kat is a girl who I came to love and underneath the makeup, she's down to earth. And of course, lets not forget the boys; more specifically - Cole. Cole is fierce and hot with a secret only a few knows. Their relationship is frustrating at times but really sweet - don't forget his one liners.

Now for the villains, I didn't really cared or felt anything for them.

Long story short, you should all pick up this book. 


Rating: