Monday, April 29, 2013

7 Deadly Sins Book Tag

Original Creator: http://youtube.com/BookishlyMalyza

 The Questions:

GREED—What is your most inexpensive book? What is your most expensive book?

WRATH—What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

GLUTTONY—What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

SLOTH—What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

PRIDE—What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

LUST—What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

ENVY—What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

 
GREED— My most inexpensive book is The Host by Stephanie Meyers. I got it for 2 dollars and looking at the original prince which is 25 dollars, I'd say I feel successful. My most expensive book as of today is Beautiful Disasters by Jamie McGurie. It's a limited edition signed hardcover for 27 dollars.

WRATH— Yeah, this is easy. CASSANDRA CLARE! I love her and her books but, the way she writes make us become overly attached and then in the end, she rips our heart open and not even sorry for it. I would say it's the most awesomeness experience reading her books and then the most heart-wrenching feeling ever.

GLUTTONY— The Hunger Games. Yeah. Read that baby 8 times already.

SLOTH— All my big books. Like The Darkest Minds, Eon, Partials, and Grave Mercy. I'm a very lazy person and they're just to long-ish.

PRIDE— Any dystopian novel. Like The Hunger Games, Divergent, etc. Mostly because in these books, the world is so messed up and I like to bring them up during like a hunger or something political or environmental debate.

LUST— To sum it all up. Sexy jerk in the beginning, sweet but still sexy jerk in the end.

ENVY— Here's the thing about me, I have a credit card, I have money. If I want a book, I'd just buy it. But I have been neglecting to buy certain books. I would want the whole Gone series, Morganville Vampire series, and sequels. I am bad at buying sequels.

Saturday, April 27, 2013

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins Review

Publication Date: May 1, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 458 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Sweet Trilogy #1


Synopsis:
Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.
Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She's aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn't until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He's the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?


Review:

LOVED Sweet Evil and ahh the feels I have for this book!

Anna is a sixteen year old who doesn't swear, doesn't drink, and doesn't lie. Basically she's an angel -literally. In the first few chapters Anna, with her best friend Jay, goes to a concert. Immediately, she's attracted to the drummer, Kaiden. Later on, Anna and Kayden goes on a road trip which Anna discovers who she really is and tries to not get involved with Kayden. And there's these kids who basically do bad things. These are based on the 7 deadly sins but added a few more.

The writing itself is amazing. Wendy Higgins writing style makes us want to not stop reading and keeps us interested until the very end. The way she describes the characters, plot, and romance is absolutely brilliant! She creates an awesome plot and makes us want more.

Like I said, Anna doesn't do anything bad. She is the ultimate good girl. At some points of the book I'm like "Really Anna? Was that necessary?" Anna overall is a good character, but sometimes annoying.

Kaiden is the son of Lust and boy of boy, he is sexy! He's an ass but can be sweet at times. Anna brings out Kaiden's humanity out and I just love him. There are no words how hot he is. And to top it all off, he's has a British accent!

The romance is a bit of a roller coaster. It's frustrating and it annoying, but I just love it. Kai and Anna aren't suppose to be together and they try so hard to avoid each other, which doesn't work that much. I really hope something good happens in the next book.

Just for the record... THAT ENDING! I was crying my heart out.

Full of forbidden romance, lust, and adventure, I HIGHLY recommended you read this and I cannot wait to read the next book!


Rating:

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Rainbow Spines and Covers Book Tag

Original: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzUidwOGM2Q

Red 
Orange-ish (Red Orange -still orange)
Yellow
Green
Blue
Indigo (I think)
Violet


Monday, April 22, 2013

Falling for You by Lisa Schroeder Review

Publication Date: January 1, 2013
Publisher:
Simon Pulse 
Format: E-book
Page Count: 370 pages
Source: Borrowed from friend

Synopsis:
Rae's always dreamed of dating a guy like Nathan. He’s nothing like her abusive stepfather—in other words, he’s sweet. But the closer they get, the more Nathan wants of her time, of her love, of her...and the less she wants to give.

As Rae’s affection for Nathan turns to fear, she leans on her friend Leo for support. With Leo, she feels lighter, happier. And possessive Nathan becomes jealous.

Then a tragedy lands Rae in the ICU. Now, hovering between life and death, Rae must find the light amid the darkness…and the strength to fight for life and the love she deserves.


Review:

The thing I had most troubles with was the characters. If it wasn't for the ending, I would've given this 1.

I liked the concept and plot of this but the characters were just too annoying. I couldn't relate to them at all and they were just plain bad. I liked the way it's written. There's poetry and it's not in chronological order.

It starts out the main character being ended up in a hospital and we don't know what happened until the end -which I thought was predictable. Before everything happened, Rae met a guy named Nathan, who is the most obsessive and clingy person I have ever read. They start dating and the more they're with each other, the more Rae feels suffocated and wants out. Later on we meet Leo, who is Rae's friend, and he is nothing like Nathan. He's sweet and caring.

Rae lives with her mom and step-dad. Her step-dad is a total maniac and a dick! And the worst part, her mom doesn't do anything to stop.

Because of the characters, I did not enjoy this and I had to skim through most of it.

Rating:

Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout Review

Publication Date: April 3, 2012
Publisher:
Spencer Hill Press 
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 329 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Covenant #2


Synopsis:
There is need. And then there is Fate...
Being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn't exactly awesome--especially when Alexandria's "other half" is everywhere she goes. Seth's in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom--so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her nightmares of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, pure-blooded Aiden. Or what he will do--and sacrifice--for her.
When daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the gods send furies--lesser gods determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenants and to the gods, and that includes the Apollyon... and Alex. And if that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters didn't blow bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude... or killing her.
When the gods are involved, some decisions can never, ever be undone.


Review:
3.5 rating

Gah! I really wanted to love this book, I really did but they characters where dull and most of the time Alex was annoying.

Pure starts where Alex is still trying to cope with the death of her mom and the fact that she is the Appollyon -well the other half. She also has to deal with her feelings towards Aiden who is a pure blood who is a pure-blood, and Seth the Appollyon and other part of the love triangle.

In this we get to see more character build up of Seth. In the first book, I didn't really know what to expect from him, but in this, it brought a whole new perspective. He's actually caring and sometimes a little scary.

Alex on the other hand not so much. At some points when she's doing something, she doesn't think and gets into trouble and have Seth bail her out. I'd say her actions and personality went downhill in the second book.

Adien too! He and Alex were annoying. The relationship between them is confusing. One minute Adien undeniably loves her the next, he gives her the cold shoulder.

Long story short, characters went downhill and I will read the next book. I hope Alex can redeem herself.


Rating:

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Cinder by Marissa Meyer Review

Publication Date: January 3, 2012
Publisher:
Feiwel & Friends
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 387 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Lunar Chronicles #1


Synopsis: 
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


Review:

An Amazing New Twist on a Classic!

Cyborg Cinderella. I think that it was the concept of an altered twist on the Cinderella tale that really made me yearn for this release as much as I did, and Marissa Meyer fulfilled all of my fantasy dreams. Castle on Earth, yes! How about a evil empire on the Moon that is hellbent on taking over ruling Earth by offing a huge portion of the population so evil Queen can marry hot prince who is crushing on said cyborg Cinderella?! OH yeah!

Cinder is a story about a girl named Cinder who lives with the evil stepmother in New Beijing surviving by hiding out in her workshop and selling parts and repairs in the city market. We open up to Cinder revealing that she is a cyborg, part human-part machine, living in a futuristic world that wants nothing to do with cyborgs and yet they are also looking to sell off a cyborg to two into research for a cure to end a crippling disease rippling through the population. Cinder is soon asked to repair a service machine to the one and only horribly attractive, conflicted and kind Prince Kai.

Is this book just about a relationship, nope, it is about the harsh reality of interplanetary conflict, death and disease, machine repair, medical practices, and personal leg repair. The character interactions between Kai and Cinder are fabulously written and intertwined in the plot throughout the story but really what caught me was Cinder. This amazing young woman lives a harsh life but also she carries within her a spark to greatness. We soon find in these pages a complicated past and a harrowing future for this young heroine in a world out to shun her. Marissa Meyer has taken an old tale and fashioned it into a new beautiful work that will captivate readers and keep them anticipating until the very last page.

Rating:

Saturday, April 13, 2013

WOULD YOU RATHER? (Book Edition!)

Original: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21QqdMGIUeg & http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9T_G-NKwDA

The Questions:
Would you rather read a hardcover or paperback?
Would you rather buy your book online or at a bookstore?
Would you rather be a runner in the maze runner or a tribute in the hunger games.
Would you rather ride a broom or a hippogriff?
Would you rather be running from count loaf or be running away from snatchers like in deathly hallows?
Would you rather go on a trip to amsterdam with Hazel and Augustus or on a road trip with Quentin Jacobsen and his friends?
Would you rather explore Narnia or explore Hogwarts?
Would you rather read a stand alone or a series?
Would you rather read fiction or nonfiction?
Would you rather read at home or at a quiet public place?
Would you rather venture the secret garden or venture into the forbidden forest?
Would you rather be a shadow hunter or a demigod?
Would you rather be a squib or a downworlder?
Would you rather fall into a rabbit hole and find wonderland or rather fly off to never land with peter pan?


Hardcover. They last longer and something about it, I just love it. But paperbacks are cheaper.

Online. They're more cheaper and my bookstore is in another city where I'm from, but I still shop at the same store.

I haven't read The Maze Runner, but I'd choose a runner from what I heard of. I would die the second the timer when off in The Hunger Games.

Definitely a  hippogriff!

I gotta stick with my Harry Potter, I rather have snatchers chase me. (Well, this is gonna be fun)

Gosh this is hard. Why does John Green have to do this to me! I guess a road trip because travling to many places instead of just one would be absolutely brilliant.

Damnit! Growing up with both of these books... I choose... can I choose both? I'm gonna say Narina.

Series. One habit I have reading books is that I hold on to the character's and I become attached to them.

I love fiction. The number one reason why I read books is to get away from the real world and into something that's like no other.

I read at home, on my bed.

I choose the secret garden. I mean why the forbidden forest? It's like Slender but in Harry Potter.

Okay this has to be the hardest one ever! Being a demigod I could be daughter of Poseidon and Zeus but being a shadow hunter I could fight demons and be with Jace, Will, and Jem. I guess shadowhunter but if there was a such thing as both, I would choose both.

I would be a downworlder. We Cassandra Clare fans have to stick together.

Neverland... I wish both though.















Wednesday, April 10, 2013

The Ultimate Book Tag

The Ultimate Book Tag was made by Megan on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/10...

Questions:
1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
2. Which author's writing style is completely unique to you and why?
3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books...)?
5. Do you smell your books?
6. Books with or without little illustrations?
7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn't quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)
8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?
10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?
11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
12. When did you get into reading?
13. What is your favorite classic book?
14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?
15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated...what would you do?
16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?
17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?
18. What is your favorite word?
19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?
20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?
21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
23. Zombies or Vampires?
24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

1. No I don't get sick while reading in the car. I guess I'm just use to it because when I was little my mom would take me to the library and after that I would just constantly read in the car. Now I just usually take my book or read on my phone.

2. Cassandra Clare. She is my number one favorite author in the whole wide world! She creates these worlds and characters that you hold on to and in the end it's complete torture to let them go.

3. Harry Potter
  • Wizards and Witchcraft
  • Harry can kill vampires with just a wave of his wand
  • I grew up with Harry Potter 
4.
Small but carries a ton!

Clockwork Princess, Obsidian, beverages, candy, wallet, notebook, cosmetics, phone, and pens

5. Guilty. I just like to smell the 'new books' scent.

6. Either one. Illustrations is a bonus but most books in my shelf are no illustrations.

7. Um? Cinder and The Selection. I read these two books multiple times and at first I loved it, but now I guess I'm just tired of it.

8. I didn't really read when I was a child but when I was like 12, I started reading City of Bones and the ending left a really huge cliff-hanger and I almost threw the book out the window. It's not a funny story but it's a memory and the start of my love-hate relationship with Cassandra Clare.

9. The Hunger Pains which is a parody of The Hunger Games

10. The Host by Stephenie Meyer

11. No. I don't really see myself as an author, but someone who enjoys writing.

12. When I read The Hunger Games, it introduced me to YA and it made me what to read again. Without it, I wouldn't be me right now because books is my life.

13. Pride and Prejudice

14. I guess History and English.

15. I would put it in a box for storage or in my drawers. It doesn't get to show itself on the shelf.

16. Divergent, The Maze Runner, Legend, there's more but I don't have a good memory.

17. I don't film but a bad habit while reading books is that I yell at the book as if it was a human being.

18. Obviously, ocean, ice, water, dark, midnight, shadow -there's a lot but I don't want this to be too long.

19. Everybody says I'm a nerd just because I'm Asian but I say I'm a geek because I love books and everything that is books. So technically a book geek.

20. Vampires and not because of Twilight. I mean, how awesome would that be to have fangs and ... hehem, Klaus from The Vampire Diaries... total hotness.

21. Oo this is a hard one. I'm gonna say angels because of the Shadow Hunting world by Cassandra Clare's books.

22. Another hard one. Spirits but nice and hot ones like in the books not scary ones.

23. Zombies. No explanation needed. They are fricken awesome. (Walking Dead)

24. Forbidden love. Love triangles are more frustrating while forbidden love are also frustrating, but more interesting and I actually cry in most forbidden love books.

25. Action-packed with a few love scenes. I just hope that there's a lot of love scenes mixed with butt kicking scenes. Kinda like Shadow and Bones and Defiance.

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

The Selection by Kiera Cass Review

Publication Date: April 24, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 327 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Selection #1


Synopsis: 
For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself--and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


Review:

I think its safe to say America is an idiot, Maxon is sweet, and Aspen & Celeste are freaking annoying. I loved the book and I was so disappointed when I finished it and had to wait for book two to release.

I read this in June, so probably more than 10 months ago and I was still in that Hunger Games phase and started picking this books up. This was a fast paced but relaxed book in my opinion. Lots of people say this is kinda like The Hunger Games plus The Bachelor minus the killing. Though, it would sound more interesting if it was.

In this book, girls all over the country have a chance to enter the Selection where 35 girls are chosen to become the prince's wife and get to have the crown. With the help of her family, and boyfriend Aspen, they all persuade America to enter the contest. At first when it was brought upon America, she was skeptical at first, until Aspen broke up with her and then decided to enter. When she goes to the palace with the other 34 girls, she befriends some of the girls and made even made an enemy with one. During the Selections, America has to choose who her heart belongs to -Maxon or Aspen.

America was a really nice character. Other than her thinking about Aspen sometimes when she's with Maxon, she wasn't that much a problem. She cares for her family and the people she loves, which is great and all but she's sometimes stubborn and feisty. America isn't afraid to speak up and on one point with the bitch Celeste, who is basically 'in it to win it.'

Growing up, Maxon never really had a friend, other than America. Being forced to pick one of the 35 girls, he has some troubles about it but other than that, he is really sweet and polite. Also he doesn't really know anything about girls, like how to comfort them or anything. Aspen, being a six (servant), he cares for America, but has a lousy way of showing it. I mean I get he doesn't want America to be a six but, if he didn't want her to be a servant always poor, (view spoiler) and he expects she could just forgive him?

Long story short, this book was very entertaining and I cannot wait to read The Elite and the pilot for the TV show on the CW. And for people who were wondering, yes I ship America with Maxon. Aspen could have Celeste. They would be perfect for each other.

Rating: