Sunday, May 26, 2013

In the After by Demitria Lunetta Review

Expected Publication Date: June 25, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: ARC
Page Count: 400 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: In the After #1


Synopsis:
They hear the most silent of footsteps.
They are faster than anything you've ever seen.
And They won't stop chasing you...until you are dead.

Amy is watching TV when it happens, when the world is attacked by Them. These vile creatures are rapidly devouring mankind. Most of the population is overtaken, but Amy manages to escape—and even rescue “Baby,” a toddler left behind in the chaos. Marooned in Amy’s house, the girls do everything they can to survive—and avoid Them at all costs.

After years of hiding, they are miraculously rescued and taken to New Hope, a colony of survivors living in a former government research compound. While at first the colony seems like a dream with plenty of food, safety, and shelter, New Hope slowly reveals that it is far from ideal. And Amy soon realizes that unless things change, she’ll lose Baby—and much more.

Rebellious, courageous, and tender, this unforgettable duo will have you on the edge of your seat as you tear through the pulse-pounding narrow escapes and horrifying twists of fate in this thrilling debut from author Demitria Lunetta.


Review:

HOLY SWEET MOTHER OF GOD! That was amazing!

When I first began this book, I didn't know what to expect from this, but somewhat dystopian and science fiction aspect. For about 10 chapters in, I was so confused and didn't know what's going on in the story. Being as a dystopian, post-apocalyptic novel, there has to be something that wiped out mankind and they are aliens. After you start getting used to the world and the alien aspect, it becomes an intriguing novel.

The writing style is amazing! Its not boring, and it made me read this all night. I guess Demitria Lunetta has an effect to make a good page turner.

The first part in the story is mainly about survival. Sixteen year old Amy, the protagonist in the book, has been in hiding for years with Baby, also one of the main characters. Her name isn't actually Baby but Amy calls her that. Amy is a bad-ass and kick-butt heroine who isn't whiny and just amazing.

Apart from aliens and all that jazz, there is a bit of romance between Amy and Rice. Technically his name is Richard but he calls himself Rice. Rice is a seventeen year old who Amy happens to threaten to shoot at first meeting. Not so cool right? After their first encounter, they slowly start to hang out and eventually develop an attraction.

If there is a sequel,*crossing my fingers*, I hope the relationship between Amy and Rice develop more and bring in more action and I would seriously want Amy to kick butt on some fighting scenes.

Overall I really recommend you all read this and buy it when it releases it in stores. I seriously can't wait for the next book. Its fantastic and I have a feeling its gonna go big.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and HarperTeen

Rating:

Saturday, May 25, 2013

Eden at the Edge of Midnight by John Kerry Review

Publication Date: October 19, 2012
Publisher: EATEOM Publishing Ltd
Format: E-book
Page Count: 348 pages
Source: Author
Series: The Vara Volumes #1


Synopsis:
The Vara of Yima, the original Garden of Eden, sealed from the rest of the world and populated with the fittest of men and women. A secret paradise that 150 years ago became ravaged by smog that choked out the skies.

Now the Vara exists in a permanent state of darkness and its people need a champion, a chosen one to save them from the smog that threatens to fill the realm and poison its inhabitants.

That’s what they needed. They got Sammy Ellis instead. She isn’t important enough for her dad to stick around for, never mind saving a realm or junk like that. Her only responsibility was to help the chosen one open the gateway into the Vara, but not only has she entered the realm in their place, she’s also locked them out in the process.

Stuck in a twilight land of giant mushrooms, pursued by dark forces and still in her pyjamas, being unimportant back in the real world is starting to seem way more attractive.


Review:

The author reached out to me after I entered a giveaway for this book and I am really glad he did! It takes time to actually get into this book but after a couple of chapters, it starts to get really interesting and unwinds to be a great book.

Intriguing and hilarious characters and monsters, this will keep you wanting more. The world John Kerry build is very creative and it makes me very jealous of Sammy -the main character- who gets suddenly involved with a land of giant mushrooms and dark forces.

Rating:

Stormbringers by Philippa Gregory Review

Expected Publication Date: June 4, 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Format: ARC
Page Count: 336 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: Order of Darkness #2


Synopsis:
Italy, 1453. Luca and Isolde grow more and more attracted to each other as they continue their journey to unravel the mysteries throughout Christendom. But their travels are delayed by the uprising of an intense religious crusade that threatens the balance of the civilized world. Death lingers in the air as war ravages on, but this religious conflict is nothing compared to the arrival of an intense and deadly storm.

Caught in the midst of unimaginable chaos, Luca and Isolde must rely on one another in order to survive.

The second in Philippa Gregory’s four-book series delves further into a forbidden romance and an epic quest. And the tension builds as secrets about The Order of Darkness are finally revealed...


Review:

I really wanted to like this, I really did but no. I gave this too many chances and I will not be continuing this series or finishing this book either.

The characters were dull and bland. It felt like it was a story that never ends. Nothing happened and in the synopsis it mentions romance, yeah no. There was no romance. This is suppose to be a fantasy novel, and it hardly had any hardcore action scenes.
In my honest opinion, there should be less world building and history (that's what the first book is for) and more character development and a change of writing style. Books are for enjoyment, not boredom.
 
Rating: 

Friday, May 24, 2013

Update #1

Final exams are coming soon and these past few weeks are pretty hectic and crazy with studying and school. I'm sure I'm barely going to pass the Geometry and science exam. Geometry is hard and I don't really pay attention in science because, for one thing I'm all the way in the back. English is going to be a breeze unless there's a writing exam and I guess history would be easy. For one thing I need to pass my history exam to get in to AP Human Geography next year.

I haven't been reading much as I usually do and my to review pile is just getting bigger and bigger. I decided to write a 1-3 reviews a week and starting on June 9 up until June 15, I will be on a reviewing/writing marathon. Since writing one review takes about I guess 20-30 minutes, I'd probably get through 12 reviews a day. I will be posting status updates on my Twitter @JessieMLiu #writingmarathon2013.

Other than reviewing, I got a few advance readers copy that I will be reading this and next month. I just finished Stormbringers by Blackout by Robison Wells which comes out in October 1st, Find Me by Romily Bernard release date September 24th, and the last one that I'm currently reading In the After by Demitria Lunetta which comes out on June 25th. 

So here's a short summary of whats happening for the people who are too lazy to read the three paragraphs:
  • Exams
  • Studying 
  • Need to review
  • Doing a write-a-thon on June 9th-15th
  • Currently reading In the After by Demitria Lunetta ARC    

Happy readings,
Jessie

Friday, May 17, 2013

Changeling by Philippa Gregory Review

Publication Date: January 1, 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 315 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: Order of Darkness #1


Synopsis:
The year is 1453 and all signs point to it being the end of the world. Accused of heresy and expelled from his monastery, handsome seventeen-year-old Luca Vero is recruited by a mysterious stranger to record the end of times across Europe. Commanded by sealed orders, Luca is sent to map the fears of Christendom and travel to the very frontier of good and evil.



Seventeen-year-old Isolde, a Lady Abbess, is trapped in a nunnery to prevent her from claiming her rich inheritance. As the nuns in her care are driven mad by strange visions, walking in their sleep, and showing bleeding wounds, Luca is sent to investigate and driven to accuse her.



Forced to face the greatest fears of the dark ages—witchcraft, werewolves, madness—Luca and Isolde embark on a search for truth, their own destinies, and even love as they take the unknown ways to the real historical figure who defends the boundaries of Christendom and holds the secrets of the Order of Darkness.


Review: 

Thanks Simon Pulse for sending me this book!

It was good but the writing style isn't really for my taste.

It's told in third and alternating point of views of the two main characters Luca Vero and Isolde. Luca is smart, charming, good lucking character who against his will is thrown into a secret order. His mission to go out to investigate find dangers and evils happening around Europe. Then it leads him to a nunnery that Isolde has been forced into by her brother after her father died. She's also smart, beautiful, and someone who is willing to gain back the her inheritance.

I think, not only the writing style but the lack of expanding and detailing the plot and what's going on in the story. It's pretty short and being a historical fiction, there should be more details and back story of... well the history.

There is a hint of a romance going on and I would like to see where this is going and I hope the next book can make a better impression.

Rating:

Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins Review

Publication Date: April 30, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 371 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Sweet Trilogy #2


Synopsis:
Anna Whitt, the daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a vow. She’d been naive about a lot of things.

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?


Review:

HOLY HERA! That was pure sweet and amazing!

This book picks up months after the end of the first book. From the school's good girl to a party girl, it's all for show. There's these demon whisperers who basically stalk the Nephilims to see they're doing their jobs. Anna can't get Kaiden out of her head and is still heart-broken.

So Anna travels around the world with Kopano because of this prophecy that I am not going to explain because it's major spoilers. Because of this, it created a love triangle. Honestly, I liked Kop but it will always be Kaiden.

Wendy did an amazing job writing this book! All those gut wrenching Kai and Anna moments, it was was GAH! The romantic and sexual tension between them is so frustrating and an overload of fantasticness.

There's a lot more action happening than the first book and we meet a few new characters because of the prophecy and it's very hard to explain everything without spoilers.

Basically, if you want to go on an emotional roller coaster filled with romantic tension, a swoon worthy hot guy, and Nephilims based on the 7 deadly sins, this is your book. I HIGHLY recommend you all read this.

Rating:

The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Review

Publication Date: October 23, 2012
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 544 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Mara Dyer #2


Synopsis:
Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.

She can’t.

She used to think her problems were all in her head.

They aren’t.

She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets.

She’s wrong.

In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?


Review:

 HOLY SWEET NEPTUNE'S MOTHER!! What an AMAZING sequel!

It takes place about hours after the ending of the first book. Mara is going insane and no one believes what she saw except for Noah.

In The Unbecoming, there's more world and character building and it's pretty creepy and is exciting, but in this, its ADDICTIVE and you CANNOT put it down! There's definitely lots of twists and a HUGE CLIFF-HANGER that I'll discuss later on with spoilers.

I love how Mara remained strong, loyal, and stayed true to herself after everything she's been through. There's exes stalking her, creepy dolls, parents who don't believe anything she says, her mom actually having her committed, and more bat-shit crazy things.

Noah. Hmm. What can I say about Noah? Well for one thing I felt that Noah is the one who kept Mara sane and grounded. After everything, Noah doesn't give up on her and is always by her side no matter what obstacles they face. He is insanely loyal, sweet, kind, funny, romantic, and Mara is just lucky to have him. Seriously! Why can't most guys be like Noah.

Everyone has to read this! This is an amazing and addictive series you do not want to miss. Full of drama, creepiness, romance, and insanity, Michelle Hodkin leaves you hanging on a thread waiting for more.


Regards to the ending:
description

(view spoiler)

Rating:

Sunday, May 5, 2013

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo Review

Publication Date: June 5, 2012
Publisher:
Henry Holt and Co. 
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 356 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Grisha #1


Synopsis:
The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance.


Review:
More of a 4.5 rating

Amazing debut novel! Leigh Bardugo style of story telling with her addictive high fantasy, world building, phenomenal characters, and captivating story were pieced together perfectly.

Bardugo's writing style is again, amazing! She doesn't over details but gives us enough to make us captivated. She creates a dark, mysterious, dangerous, and beautiful world. As I was reading this, it felt as if I could vision myself in the story. Not that many author's can create a high fantasy novel that's is very hyped, so congrats to you Leigh Bardugo.

The main protagonist, Alina, is powerful and brave and we get to see her character develop more as the story progress, which I thought was amazing. Alina, being an orphan basically her whole life with her best friend Mal, never really knew she was "special" until The Darkling comes in.

The Darling. Well, he's dark, mysterious, morbid, and seductive. I very much ship him and Alina right now. Even though he's crazy, I'm giving him the benefit of the doubt. I think there are reasons why he did those things and under the darkness, there is a heart and he's actually sweet. (He kinda gives me a Warner from Shatter Me vibe)

Overall, if you haven't read this, then I don't know what the heck you're doing. The next book comes out very soon so I recommend you all read this before June. Action packed, high fantasy, and a bit of romance you do not want to miss.


Rating:

Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout Review

Publication Date: August 14, 2012
Publisher:
Entangled Teen 
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 366 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Lux #2


Synopsis:
Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that's possible. Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…


Review:

Pure awesomeness! This was an amazing sequel! I usually don't like sequels, but this blew my mind!

In Onyx we get to see so much things and character developments between Katy, Daemon and others. After Obsidian, Daemon becomes more protective towards her and doesn't like the fact the new kid in school fancys Katy and the DOD are here.

The character that was most improved was Daemon and it blew my mind. I loved how he's starting to be a better person for Katy and tries to prove his love to her. Katy of course doesn't believe Daemon loves her but Daemon's on edge and lets just say it's on the edge of being a new adult book. Their relationship is hard to explain without any spoilers.

For the new character, the moment Blake walked through those doors, I knew something was shady about to happen. Even Daemon didn't trust him, but for some reason Katy does and this makes Daemon pretty much jealous.

There was so many action/fighting scenes in this! Again, not spoilers but near the ending... wow! I did not expect that.

It does leave with a cliff-hanger but still, MIND-BLOWING! It just leaves you speechless and it will make you want to read the next book.

Overall, I know I didn't have the much to write, just because of spoilers, but I really recommend you read this series and continue on. Jennifer's writing style is amazing and captivating and the story is pure epic. 


Rating: