Sunday, June 30, 2013

The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski Review

Publication Date: November 14, 2012
Publisher: J.A. Redmerski
Format: E-book
Page Count: 426 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: The Edge of Never #1


Synopsis:

Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett had always been one to think out-of-the-box, who knew she wanted something more in life than following the same repetitive patterns and growing old with the same repetitive life story. And she thought that her life was going in the right direction until everything fell apart.

Determined not to dwell on the negative and push forward, Camryn is set to move in with her best friend and plans to start a new job. But after an unexpected night at the hottest club in downtown North Carolina, she makes the ultimate decision to leave the only life she's ever known, far behind.

With a purse, a cell phone and a small bag with a few necessities, Camryn, with absolutely no direction or purpose boards a Greyhound bus alone and sets out to find herself. What she finds is a guy named Andrew Parrish, someone not so very different from her and who harbors his own dark secrets. But Camryn swore never to let down her walls again. And she vowed never to fall in love.

But with Andrew, Camryn finds herself doing a lot of things she never thought she'd do. He shows her what it's really like to live out-of-the-box and to give in to her deepest, darkest desires. On their sporadic road-trip he becomes the center of her exciting and daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But will Andrew's dark secret push them inseparably together, or tear them completely apart?



Review:

OH MY GOD! THAT WAS AMAZING! Actually amazing is an understatement. This was more like beautiful, brilliant, pure amazing, just perfection. I just love Cam and Andrew's relationship together. It was so nice and perfection. Yeah if this had a 10 star rating I'd give it a 10. I nearly died in the end and the beginning of the epilogue because of certain things happening at the time, but I was so relieved and my face was soaking wet with tears. This was a real page turner and normally I don't write full reviews on NA books, but this blew my mind away so here it is.

I started this book at 11 p.m. and I though I would just read for an hour or two, no. I ended up staying until 3 a.m. to finish this ans I HAD to finish this.

This book is beautiful. Not just the cover but the story itself. It's about taking chances and living life at the fullest.

20 year old Cam is tired of living a boring same life everyday. After her boyfriend Ian died prior to the book, she isn't the same anymore and wants a change. So one day she bought a bus ticket to Idaho and goes on from there. During the bus ride we meet Andrew. Boy oh boy Andrew. He is so loyal, sweet, kind, loving, and he has all the swoon worthy package. As they start to know more of each other, the more they fall in love.

This is told in two point off views, Cam and Andrew, which was really nice because they are similar together but very different at the same time. And being thrown together by meeting at a bus, there's always more than one side to a story.

I knew Andrew had a secret but I couldn't figure what and until the very end I cried and cried and told myself it's not happening and my heart just dropped.

This was just a roller coaster and I loved Andrew so much and Cam is not those whiny characters which is good so just perfection.

Rating:

Saturday, June 29, 2013

The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter Review

Publication Date: April 19, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 293 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Goddess Test #1


Synopsis:

Every girl who had taken the test has died.
Now it's Kate's turn.
It's always been just Kate and her mom - and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won't live past the fall.
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld - and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.
Kate is sure he's crazy - until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride and a goddess.
If she fails...

Review: 

Fantastic! Great twist with the whole Greek Mythology.

There's been a lot of Peresphone and Hades retellings but this is definitely on my top 10. The thing that seperates from the others are that Kate, the main character, has to take these tests in order to become Henry (Hades) wife.

The writing style is amazing. It sucked me in imeadatly and I read this in about a day. There's so much character building and how Aimee Carter made a great twist to the retelling is just amazing.

There's more romance than action. This was mostly about how Kate is dealing with this and figure out if she's in or not. Maybe in the next book we see more action.

Kate is very kind, caring, and loyal. She cares for her mom a lot and others even when they're bad. Henry has most of the same character traits as Kate but he seems very lonely until Kate arrived which I thought was really cute.

Overall I enjoyed it and I cannot wait to read the next book even though I know what's gonna happen because of stupid spoilers. Gah, people need to put spoiler alerts on their reviews to give a little warning.


Rating:

Friday, June 28, 2013

The Collector by Victoria Scott Review

Publication Date: April 2, 2013
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Format: E-book
Page Count: 352 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Dante Walker #1


Synopsis:

He makes good girls...bad.

Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple: weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal-opportunity collector and doesn't want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within ten days.

Dante doesn't know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect, he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector…and uncover emotions deeply buried.


Review:

I hate guys that's like "Ugh. She's really ugly. She can't be seen in public." and girls who are like "Oh I'm not pretty. I'm not pretty." LIFE IS A BITCH AND SUCK IT UP! That's just the main thing I had a problem with. When people are so insecure about themselves, people in school start to bully them. Its just... no I have no words to explain so I will be using GIFs.

The Beginning
description
The Middle
description
The Ending
description

Dante
description
description
description

Charlie
description
description

Overall
description
description

description                   
Rating:

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Invincible by Dewayne Haslett Review

Expected Publication Date: September 3, 2013
Publisher:
Lulu
Format: ARC
Page Count: 208 pages
Source: Author
Series: Invincible #1


Synopsis:

Troy Connor has no idea who he is. He doesn’t know where he came from, or how and why he ended up in the crime-ridden streets of Detroit. All that he knows are the disturbing nightmares that haunt his mind, the strange, powerful skills he develops, and the plans he has in store for them.

As he learns to harness his new abilities, Troy must deal with being in love for the first time, a deadly enemy sent to destroy him, and a mysterious stranger who may hold the secrets to his past.



Review:

This is the first in the Invincible Trilogy and for a self-published book, it was really good.

It starts out with Troy waking up in a man in his 30's house, Brad. He doesn't know where he is or who he is, only his name. He doesn't know how he really go there and why. Only that he has these powerful abilities that no normal humans have.

It isn't until Troy's second day of school he finds out he has these powers. He discovers them after a fight with the football player Rick, who is badly injured after that. (Let's be honest, he deserved it.)

This kinda reminds me of The Amazing Spider-Man. But here me out, a nobody in the beginning, a somebody and a hero in the end. When you read it you'll understand.

Brad was like a father to Troy throughout the book. He took him in, took care of him, fed him, drove him to school, provided a home, and other family like qualities.

Troy isn't alone in this world. He has Jack and Taylor. Jack befriended him immediately on the first day of school and I just adore him and he's actually pretty funny. Taylor is pretty and wants to be a journalist. She and Troy has this crush romance going on throughout the whole story.

I will be honest, the relationship between Troy and Taylor seemed a little sudden but I am interested to see where this will go.

The beginning is mostly about character building and we see Troy adapting to his abilities/powers and figure who he really is. It isn't until the end where we are introduced to the enemy but it went so fast it didn't even matter. Plus when we finally know who he is I was like "Uh, what?" and "How do you even pronounce that?"

Just a side note; Lion-Man. Seriously? Lion-Man. XD Man, sure. Lion, not so sure. If I choose the name, I say Drifter like how he's so fast he drifts away from whatever happened like nothing happened and pretends he doesn't know anything. I don't know.

This is really a fast paced book and when I say fast pace I mean fast pace. I finished about like 2-3 hours. I really enjoyed it and can't wait to read the next book. Hopefully I'll get an ARC.

ARC provided by the author and publisher

Rating:

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas Review

Expected Publication Date: September 17, 2013
Publisher:
Balzer + Bray
Format: ARC
Page Count: 464 pages
Source: Publisher
Series:The Elemental Trilogy #1


Synopsis:

It all began with a ruined elixir and an accidental bolt of lightning…

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she's being told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the greatest mage tyrant the world has ever known. A suicide task for anyone let alone a sixteen-year-old girl with no training, facing a prophecy that foretells a fiery clash to the death.

Prince Titus of Elberon has sworn to protect Iolanthe at all costs but he's also a powerful mage committed to obliterating the Bane to revenge the death of his family—even if he must sacrifice both Iolanthe and himself to achieve his goal.

But Titus makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the Bane closing in, he must choose between his mission and her life.


Review:

This is why I love fantasy. There's an interesting plot and storyline, and it has great world building.

One of the main character, Iolanthe, is the greatest elemental mage. One day she did this experiment to fix an elixir but also caused and "accidental lightning". From here on, the prince, the Inquisitor, and basically all of Atlantis wants her but all for different reasons. The prince needs to protect her and the Inquisitor is hunting her down for her powers.

According to this whole prophecy thing about Iolanthe having to defeat the Bane, this all mighty mage tyrant was a little confusing to be honest but it played out really great. I think it was just the overall meaning to why confused me.

This is told in two perspectives which I thought was really great because Iolanthe and Prince Titus are similar but very different from each other and we got to see what the other character felt or did from a different point of view.

Iolanthe is a sixteen year old girl who is loyal, strong, and very smart. She's not those pathetic whiny girls who when they don't know how to do something and expects someone to do it for her. NO! She gets things done!

Prince Titus has been preparing for this moment basically his whole life to defect the Bane to revenge his family. He's one of those characters who doesn't want to let anyone in or to have any friends. But aside from those flaws, he does have this romantic swoon thing going on. You'll get it when you read it or one of the quotes later on this review.

There is romance in this but not very much. By very much I mean it's not all about their love relationship but it has to do with how the story changes. Like there are a few stolen glances and inner thoughts about each other but (this is NOT a spoiler since it is in the synopsis) Prince Titus has to protect her and defeat the Bane but instead he falls for her and now has to decide whether to save her or his mission.

Just a side note, here's one of Prince Titus's quotes. Boy, oh how he can bring forth this good of a line:

“Then let me tell you this: I live for you, and you alone.” -Prince Titus

Enjoyable and I cannot wait to read the next book.
 

ARC provided by Edelweiss and Balzer + Bray


Rating: 

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Resist by Sarah Crossan Review

Expected Publication Date: October 8, 2013
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Format: ARC
Page Count: 400 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: Breathe #2


Synopsis:
Bea, Alina, and Quinn are on the run. They started a rebellion and were thrown out of the pod, the only place where there's enough oxygen to breathe. Bea has lost her family. Alina has lost her home. And Quinn has lost his privileged life. Can they survive in the perilous Outlands? Can they finish the revolution they began? Especially when a young operative from the pod's Special Forces is sent after them. Their only chance is to stand together, even when terrible circumstances force them apart. When the future of human society is in danger, these four teens must decide where their allegiances lie. Sarah Crossan has created a dangerous, and shattered society in this wrenching, thought-provoking, and unforgettable post-apocalyptic novel.

Review:

After reading this, THANK YOU GOD FOR OXYGEN!

The sequel and I believe also the last book in this series -don't quote me on that- was more gripping, shocking for sure, and had me more than the first book. No spoilers of course but there was more things going on in this and we get to see that in many point of views.

First thing comes in mind about this was shocking. About maybe 24%, 11 chapters in, I literally jumped out of my bed and started screaming. I did not see that coming. I can't even... I even lost all my abilities to even.

There is a bit of some changes. There's definitely new characters and some characters we saw in Breathe but never got a chance to know them. One of them is Ronan and that's all I'm going to say to avoid spoilers. But still, now the view points in Resist are Alina, Bea, Quinn, and newly added Ronan.

I'm pretty sure that this is the last book just because I would not change the ending and I felt it completed the story and it did.

I am very lucky to read this before the release date and I am very happy with this sequel more than Breathe.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and
Greenwillow Books

Rating:

Breathe by Sarah Crossan Review

Publication Date: October 2, 2012
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Format: E-book
Page Count: 384 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Breathe #1


Synopsis:
When oxygen levels plunge in a treeless world, a state lottery decides which lucky few will live inside the Pod. Everyone else will slowly suffocate. Years after the Switch, life inside the Pod has moved on. A poor Auxiliary class cannot afford the oxygen tax which supplies extra air for running, dancing and sports. The rich Premiums, by contrast, are healthy and strong. Anyone who opposes the regime is labelled a terrorist and ejected from the Pod to die. Sixteen-year-old Alina is part of the secret resistance, but when a mission goes wrong she is forced to escape from the Pod. With only two days of oxygen in her tank, she too faces the terrifying prospect of death by suffocation. Her only hope is to find the mythical Grove, a small enclave of trees protected by a hardcore band of rebels. Does it even exist, and if so, what or who are they protecting the trees from? A dystopian thriller about courage and freedom, with a love story at its heart.

Review:

More of a 3.5 but rounding it to a 4

In Breathe, overpopulated humans are once again screwing up the planet. It's always the their fault messing with the planet *face palm*. Since it is overpopulated, there has to be more food. In order to do that, they have to take down tress to plant crops and soon there's no trees at all. No trees means no air. At first it's okay, everything's fine but later on every natural resource is dying like the ocean and there would be no oxygen left. Then there's this company who finds a way to bring back the oxygen but you have to pay it. Now the government controls almost about everything now like they always do.

This is told in three points of views, Alina, Quinn, and Bea. We first meet Alina who is looking for a boy named Abel who has disappeared. When people start disappearing, they are most likely dead but she doesn't want to believe that and she is determined to find him.

Next we have Quinn. Quinn is rich. His family is rich and Quinn basically has a load of air to breathe which helps out his best friend Bea a ton. Bea loves Quinn but he doesn't even have a clue. Until he stumbles upon Alina, he immediately takes interests on her and Bea is left feeling a little jealous and sad about it.

I will be honest, I did felt this book was a little boring and slow at some parts. It spent a lot of time with the the three of them traveling back and forth across the outlands. There could've been more character background but maybe the sequel will be better.

Overall I was not amazed but I am interested to see where this is heading and thanks to Harper Collins, I don't have to wait for the next book in October.

Rating:

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Renegade by J.A. Souders Review

Publication Date: November 13, 2012
Publisher: Tor Teen
Format: E-book
Page Count: 364 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: The Elysium Chronicles #1


Synopsis:
Since the age of three, sixteen-year-old Evelyn Winters has been trained to be Daughter of the People in the underwater utopia known as Elysium. Selected from hundreds of children for her ideal genes, all her life she’s thought that everything was perfect; her world. Her people. The Law.

But when Gavin Hunter, a Surface Dweller, accidentally stumbles into their secluded little world, she’s forced to come to a startling realization: everything she knows is a lie.

Her memories have been altered.

Her mind and body aren’t under her own control.

And the person she knows as Mother is a monster.

Together with Gavin she plans her escape, only to learn that her own mind is a ticking time bomb... and Mother has one last secret that will destroy them all.


Review:

Wow that was beautiful and sick at the same time.

Don't let that pretty cover fool you. You might think that this is sweet. You think that this is just about love and happy endings. NO! You're wrong. Their little utopia, is sick and twisted and too perfect.

Evelyn is a 16 year old girl who's been trained to Daughter of the People in this underwater dome called Elysium. In this utopia world everything is perfect. Perfect genes, prefect gardens, perfect life. The reason for this is so the people can have "the perfect" baby with blond hair and same blue eyes everyone have. If I lived there I would've gone insane already.

I hated Mother so much. She's manipulating, evil, perfect, twisted, and just grr. I hate her so much and how controlling she is. She has the nerve to alter everyone's brains and memories by brainwashing them! These experiments she does just makes me want to slap her on the face so much. Either she's power crazy or has a big OCD problem.

So how does Gavin get into this mess? Gavin isn't from Elysium. He's a surface dweller and he stumbled upon Evie's world. Then he's turn in for questioning ordered by Mother and Evie and Gavin's interest in each other actually saves him from being executed. In Elysium, there's this thing called "coupling" where at a certain age they start producing babies with their so called perfect genes. Both Evelyn and Gavin are a coupling because of Mother's orders. When Evelyn starts to realize that Mother is a monster, this little utopia is nothing but perfect and her memories being altered, she and Gavin tries to escape but Mother is making sure they won't get out alive.

The romance between Gavin and Evie is kinda like love at first sight but then Evie's memory is altered and then they start to talk about themselves and their world. When Evie saved Gavin she was fascinated by him and didn't feel threatened at all until Mother brainwashed her that Gavin is nothing but a lifeless being. From there on Gavin knows something is wrong with Evie so he helps her and then their relationship start to progress.

I cannot wait for the next book after that sad but happy ending.

Rating:

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater Review

Publication Date: July 13, 2010
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 360 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls #2

Synopsis:
In Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver, Grace and Sam found each other. Now, in Linger, they must fight to be together. For Grace, this means defying her parents and keeping a very dangerous secret about her own well-being. For Sam, this means grappling with his werewolf past . . . and figuring out a way to survive into the future. Add into the mix a new wolf named Cole, whose own past has the potential to destroy the whole pack. And Isabelle, who already lost her brother to the wolves . . . and is nonetheless drawn to Cole.

Review:

Beginning was okay, middle was awesome, ending was alright. Grace and Sam seem dull in the sequel, but it was still a good quick read.

Nothing really changed or big happened until the end. The characters were alright. I honestly think I would've abandoned this if it wasn't for Cole and Isabel. Actually, this would've gotten a 2 stars if it wasn't for them.

I think the biggest problem in this series is that it's slow and nothing happens until the very end. Which is true for Linger. I read this under a day and when I finished I was like "That's it? It ended?"

I will finish this trilogy just to see what happens but I'm probably not gonna reread this series.

Rating:

Splintered by A.G. Howard Review

Publication Date: January 1, 2013
Publisher: Amulet Books
Format: E-book
Page Count: 371 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Splintered #1


Synopsis: 
Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family.

She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.


Review:  

4.5 Rating

This by far I would say is my favorite take on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. This book was so amazing I had to go look up on a thesaurus for synonyms for 'amazing' because I will be using that word a lot in this review.

Since she was very young, Alyssa can hear bugs and flowers whispering and talking to her. Especially a black moth. One day Alyssa learns that Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is more than just a book, its real. There with the help of Jeb, her best friend and crush, and Morpheus, the black moth who Alyssa grew up with, she has to fix Alice's mistakes in order to save her family and friends.

Something about it sucked me in immediately and it got me reading up until 2 am because I HAD to finish it. Sleeping wasn't even an option when I started it. Everything was just amazing! The writing style, the cover -which I am loving, the synopsis, the characters, EVERYTHING! I seriously need this book on my shelf ASAP!

The writing is breathtaking and stunning. It's not slow, not over detailed, and amazing. It made me cry, made me laugh, and made my heart break a bazillion times. The world and characters A.G. Howard build was so captivating I really wanted to be Alyssa and go to Wonderland.

This Wonderland still has that wonder feel but a little more morbid, dark, and a little eerie which I thought was great because I loved how an innocent classic became this creepy in a good way.

Okay. If I loved this book so very much with all my heart, why did I give it a 4.5 rating instead of a 5? The reason for that is the very beginning of the book. About maybe 4, 5, chapters in I didn't really care about the ancestors and after those chapter then I really got sucked into the book.

Now for my two boys... Jeb and Morpheus. Can I really choose between these two? Can I really? Jeb, a human who's Alyssa's best friend. Sweet, loyal, an artist, and gorgeous. Morpheus, Alyssa's childhood friend who used to play together and someone who lives in Wonderland. Mysterious, sexy, British accent, and after everything, caring. Obviously I can't choose so I'm on that white line for now.

Twisted, and magical, I need to go buy this so I can reread this and forever love it. I HIGHLY recommend you all read this and GAH! What else can I say about this? I really really need the next book!


Rating:

Blood Red Road by Moira Young Review

Publication Date: June 7, 2011
Publisher:
Margaret K. McElderry Books 
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 459 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Dust Lands #1


Synopsis:
Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That's fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when a monster sandstorm arrives, along with four cloaked horsemen, Saba's world is shattered. Lugh is captured, and Saba embarks on an epic quest to get him back.

Suddenly thrown into the lawless, ugly reality of the world outside of desolate Silverlake, Saba is lost without Lugh to guide her. So perhaps the most surprising thing of all is what Saba learns about herself: she's a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack and a gang of girl revolutionaries called the Free Hawks, Saba stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilization.

Blood Red Road has a searing pace, a poetically minimal writing style, violent action, and an epic love story. Moira Young is one of the most promising and startling new voices in teen fiction.

Review:

More of a 3.5.

I liked the plot and the element to it. I just hated the writing style. It was way to difficult to read and I had to read it twice to understand it.

The way it's written is really different from other young adult novels. Like instead of saying "I said" or "she said hi to me", it's "I say" and "she says." It didn't flow in my mind and I had to reread the sentences to keep up what they are saying. Moira Young does not use quotation marks around dialogue and she uses slang, which was really different. That's just the major thing I had a problem with.

Other than the writing style, this was actually a descent book. Saba goes on a journey to find her brother with her sister who she blames the death of their mother. Along the way, she meets Jack and she doesn't want to have a relationship or anything that would distract her. Soon Jack helps Saba with the journey and everything goes east from there. Not really east but you get what I mean.

Overall it is a fast paced book with difficult and original writing style. I say go pick it up and I will be reading the next book to find out what happens.

Rating:

Reboot by Amy Tintera Review

Publication Date: May 5, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: E-book
Page Count: 365 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Reboot #1


Synopsis:
Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).

Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.


Review:

At first before reading this, I knew it was some sort of dystopian book and I was right with one thing, but I actually thought it was about robots and androids. I mean there's bar codes and people are labeled and its post apocalyptic and the title Reboot. Reboot really sounds technical and robot language-ish.

First things first. THEY ARE NOT ZOMBIES! Reboots are basically still human but stronger and faster and indestructible unless it involves a bullet. They are just altered humans. They're not brain dead like zombies but emotionally dead. Like they don't have emotions because of how long they died. For Wren she's about half way to emotion dead and half still human. That's because she woke up 178 minutes, 2 hours and 58 minutes. The less you take to wake up, the more emotions/humanity you have. It sounds really confusing and complicated but its not when you read it.

So people are dying and after that they are rebooted meaning reawakened. This was a very interesting take on the post apocalyptic aspect. It was very original and I have never read anything like this.

The relationship between Wren and Callum (22) was so well put. It flowed throughout the story and I really liked their interactions with each other. I will say it was pretty fast but I didn't mind because it worked out so great.

Quick, action packed, cute romance, and a fast read. I recommend you all read it and I can't wait for the next book to come out.


Rating:

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater Review

Publication Date: June 1, 2010
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 392 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1

Synopsis:

the cold.
Grace has spent years watching the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—watches back. He feels deeply familiar to her, but she doesn't know why.

the heat.
Sam has lived two lives. As a wolf, he keeps the silent company of the girl he loves. And then, for a short time each year, he is human, never daring to talk to Grace...until now.

the shiver.
For Grace and Sam, love has always been kept at a distance. But once it's spoken, it cannot be denied. Sam must fight to stay human—and Grace must fight to keep him—even if it means taking on the scars of the past, the fragility of the present, and the impossibility of the future.


Review:

I don't remember much about this book. Only that I loved it. I read read this over a year ago and haven't written a review yet, so here we are.

This was my first Maggie Stiefvater book and now I read about three or four books of hers. Her writing style is slow and somewhat poetic and songlike. This is told in dual points of view from Grace, a human, and Sam, a wolf.

Her whole life Grace has been watching wolves from behind her house and there's this yellow eyed wolf who watches her too. That wolf is Sam. These werewolves isn't like Twilight werewolves or Teen Wolf. They change by temperature. If it's cold they change. When it's summer or hot, they change back into human form.

The romance in this was a little dull but I didn't mind it back then. Sam is fighting to stay with Grace and Grace wants to keep him. I guess this kinda reminds me of The Vampire Diaries (TV) mainly because in this they live in Mercy Falls and in TVD they live in Mystic Falls. I thought that was pretty convenient.

Overall, I liked it but don't remember much about it. I did read Linger and it was okay but I will be continuing this series and I will be reading more of Maggie's books.

Rating:

Sunday, June 16, 2013

Poison Princess by Kresley Cole Review

Publication Date: October 2, 2012
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: E-book
Page Count: 384 pages
Source: Borrowed from friend
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #1


Synopsis:

She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen year old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can’t do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side….


Review:

I really wished I read this after the second book released. So many tears. My heart got broken like a bajillion times. GAH!!

I've been meaning to read this for a while now, so I did and I was blown away. At first I was really confused because the synopsis made it looked like a post apocalyptic, dystopian atmosphere. It wasn't until maybe about 50-150 pages in that we start to realize to see it.

Before everything happened, a 16 year old girl named Evie starts having these visions about the world going through an apocalypse. Because of this she had to go to a mental hospital because people thought she was insane. It starts out with Evie with her boyfriend at that time and she's in school. During that there are these new transfers that are really different from others that are from that school. One of them, Jackson, Evie's love interest, is infatuated by her and sorta likes her. It's really complicated. After the apocalypse, Evie finds out that Jack is alive and she needs his help to survive.

When I say their relationship is complicated, I mean complicated. It's like I love you, I hate you. Most of the time when they have a sweet moment together, one of them has to ruin it and then they start fighting and don't even get me started about this Selena bitch. Selena, got to go. It's not really a love triangle because Evie likes Jack and Jack likes her but Selena likes Jack but Jack doesn't like Selena. It sounds confusing but I promise its not. It's their relationship that's confusing to be honest.

The ending killed me. I think it killed Evie more than it killed me. I think there is a reason why that happened and later on it's be okay or not. That's just me theorizing like crazy again. I don't really know what to expect in the next book. Maybe it's gonna center around Death since he is on the cover.

Overall I very much liked and enjoyed this book. Still wish I read this in October so I don't have to wait for the next book.

Rating:

The Last Prince of Atlantis by Leonard Clifton Review

Publication Date: January 30, 2012
Publisher: N/A
Format: E-book
Page Count: 442 pages
Source: Author


Synopsis:
Allen King is a 15 year African American male teenager living in a blue collar family in Miami,Florida. Allen immediately discovers after finding a crystal necklace that he's an alien hybrid prince of ancient royalty. Suddenly things change as this shy teenager becomes a strong leader by having the power of telepathy and teleportation besides communicating with sea animals. Allen is aided by a beautiful young Greek goddess,two orphan teens and his boisterous uncle. Together while keeping the earth safe they fight Allen's immortal enemies with high hopes of restoring his kingdom, the lost city of Atlantis.

Review:

The Last Prince of Atlantis has an original concept and plot. I first noticed this on a giveaway on Goodreads and I entered it but didn't win it. About six months ago, the author contacted me and asked if I wanted to read it and I said yes. It wasn't until April I read this book. Honestly I wasn't amazing but I did enjoy it.

There are some grammar mistakes and at first I just ignored them but as the story progressed, it got kinda annoying but being a self published book, kudos to you Leonard Clifton. The writing style is hard getting used to but other than that it's okay.

This is very different from what I usually read character wise. Most books I read have characters that are mostly whites or English. This has African Americans, Asians, Latinos, and whites.

When I hear this book described as the next Harry Potter or Twilight or The Hunger Games, I say no. I'm not trying to be mean but practical. Those three books has million-billions of fans and TLPOA has maybe 100. This is nothing like Twilight with vampires or werewolves. It doesn't have 24 kids fighting for the death. It doesn't have a boy who discovers he's a wizard. Instead, it has an African American teenage boy who finds out he's some sort of prince who has these amazing powers and is helped by friends and a beautiful goddess.

Overall, I liked it but the writing style just wasn't for me.

E-book provided by the author

Rating:

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Leave Me Alone, I'm Reading Tag!

I haven't done a tag for a very long time now since I been too busy with #writingmarathon2013. But I saw this Courtney do this so why not give this a try.

Tag created by: Holly from http://www.youtube.com/user/Bookgasmic

Questions:
1. If you could step into the life of one fictional character for 24 hrs, who would it be and what would you do?
2. It's the zombie apocalypse and you find yourself locked in a basement with 3 fictional characters. Who would you want them to be and why?
3. Which 2 fellow Booktubers would you want by your side in that basement as you wait to be rescued?
4. Which fictional characters would be your best friend? Which would be your mortal enemy?
5. Which villian/evil doer do you secretly admire?
6. Who are your top 2 favorite fictional pairings/ships (it doesn't have to be romantic...can also be 'partners in crime', best friends etc)
7. If you could change the ending to any book you have read, which one would it be and why?
8. An alien race invades earth. What book do you give to their leader in order to better understand humans/humanity?
9. Using the title of a book you have read, what would you call the story of your life?
10. If you HAD to kill off a character from one of your favorite books...and you can't choose a villain (that would be too easy), who would it be?

  1. GAH! One fictional character? Ummmm. Gosh this is hard. I would say Tessa because I could be Tessa and then turn into someone else.
  2. Jace, Four, and Gabriel. Jace is a Shadowhunter so he could probably beat the crap out of them, Four is a bad-ass from Divergent and Gabriel could light them on fire. 
  3. Christine from PolandBananaBooks or Jesse from JessietheReader because they seem really cool, funny, and chill.
  4. I see its characterS, so its more than one. Maybe Katy from the Lux series because we both love books or Jem, Simon, or Noah because they are really sweet and loyal. My mortal enemy would have to be Kris from The Elite. I hate her.
  5. Does the Darking count? People think he's evil but I think he's pretty mysterious and seductive. 
  6. If you follow me on Tumblr, I ship a lot of people. But I guess my OTP would have to be Clace (Jace and Clary) and Noah and Mara or Klaus and Caroline. But I do ship a lot of people. 
  7. The Evolution of Mara Dyer. I'm not gonna say why. Go read it or read my review under the spoiler to know why.
  8. The Host because that's basically what the whole story is about.
  9. This one's hard but maybe The Future of Us by Jay Asher because I revolve myself with social media sites like Tumblr, Youtube, Goodreads and Twitter.
  10. I don't mind killing off Mal from Shadow and Bone. I prefer Alina with the Darking anyways.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead Review

Publication Date: August 16, 2007
Publisher: Razorbill
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 332 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Vampire Academy #1


Synopsis:

St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger...

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.


Review:

I think this is my first ever vampire series I have read and I very much enjoyed it.

Tons of people read this book and there was so many hype about it. I never thought to read this until Christine from PolandBananaBooks recommended her viewers to read this series and I did and I am very happy I listened to her.

Rose and Lissa have been on the run until two years later, they are dragged back to the academy by Dimitri. Rose is a guardian-to-be to Lissa, a Mori princess vampire, who is also her best friend.

I'm not a huge vampire fan, but aside from the title, I never really saw that much vampire things. Its mostly about Rose going back to school and be a guardian which I though was really great. This is written in her point of view but sometimes we get to see Lissa because of the connection Rose and Lissa has.

There is romance in this book and not just any romance. Forbidden love. I LOVE forbidden loves because its such a tease and one side of the relationship is always trying to push the other away and it just makes my heart break. Dimitri is this twenty-four-year-old dhampir of Russian origin. He's quiet, guarded, and a bit anti-social. He's very popular in St. Vladimir and often described as a "god". Dimitri and Rose's relationship is very frustrating. Rose likes him and he likes her back but Dimitri tries to stay out of her so it wouldn't interfere the whole guardian thing.

Unique and engaging, I really recommended this series and I will definitely finish this series.

Rating:

Ascend by Amanda Hocking Review

Publication Date: April 24, 2012
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 326 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Trylle Trilogy #1


Synopsis:
Wendy Everly is facing an impossible choice. The only way to save the Trylle from their deadliest enemy is by sacrificing herself.  If she doesn’t surrender to the Vittra, her people will be thrust into a brutal war against an unbeatable foe.  But how can Wendy leave all her friends behind…even if it’s the only way to save them?

The stakes have never been higher, because her kingdom isn’t the only thing she stands to lose. After falling for both Finn and Loki, she’s about to make the ultimate choice…who to love forever. One guy has finally proven to be the love of her life—and now all their lives might be coming to an end.

Everything has been leading to this moment.  The future of her entire world rests in her hands—if she’s ready to fight for it.


Review:

What an amazing ending for an amazing series!

I was hooked immediately on the first chapter and finished it in one sitting. In the very start, Loki comes to Wendy for forgiveness and help, which melted my heart because I know that Loki truly loves Wendy and GAH the feels. This series has amazing development in each book. The first one we see Wendy trying to adapt who she is, the next is Finn and Tove, and in this is more about Loki.

Loki has got to be my favorite character. He's handsome, smart, sarcastic, loyal to Wendy, and just lovable. He's just a really strong character with a lovable heart. In my honest opinion, I never really saw a love triangle. Its more of a 10%, 90% chance of the two guys. Wendy is trying to forget about Finn and Finn is doing the same but he is a bit jealous of Loki.

This series doesn't have that much action until the end where Wendy tries to save everyone. But overall it was a very good ending and I can believe its over. I loved every single character even though I hated some at first -Finn, but I will miss this series and I will definitely will reread this again and fall in love and hate with the characters again.


Rating:

Torn by Amanda Hocking Review

Publication Date: February 28, 2012
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 324 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Trylle Trilogy #2


Synopsis:
When Wendy Everly first discovers the truth about herself—that she’s a changeling switched at birth—she knows her life will never be the same. Now she’s about to learn that there’s more to the story…

She shares a closer connection to her Vittra rivals than she ever imagined—and they’ll stop at nothing to lure her to their side. With the threat of war looming, her only hope of saving the Trylle is to master her magical powers—and marry an equally powerful royal. But that means walking away from Finn, her handsome bodyguard who’s strictly off limits…and Loki, a Vittra prince with whom she shares a growing attraction.

Torn between her heart and her people, between love and duty, Wendy must decide her fate. If she makes the wrong choice, she could lose everything, and everybody, she’s ever wanted…in both worlds.


Review:

The ending. I did not expected to be that...uh revealing.

A lot of things happened in this sequel. This starts out about a day or two tops after Switched and I am not gonna go that much in depth about the plot but it was amazing. There was many surprises like Tove for example. Yeah never really expected that.

There are a few more characters in this book. Loki being my favorite is insanely handsome and next in line for the throne of the Vittra. Vittra tend to be a more violent than other troll tribes. Their powers lie in physical strength and longevity, though some still have mild psycho-kinesis. While most Vittra are generally good-looking, more than half of their offspring are born as hobgoblins. Loki kidnaps Wendy and holds her as a prisoner for a while and there she discovers the truth about herself.

I was never a big fan of Finn, but he was a real dick in this. I mean, he was the one that pushed Wendy away and still have feelings for her. But if she likes another guy, he should respect that and move on and not be such an arrogant ass about it!

The romance in this was mainly centered on Loki and Tove. Loki being the most. He has both Trylle and Vittra blood and is charming, cocky and a bit of a mystery. He finds Wendy intriguing and infuriating which is totally why I ship them.

Very captivating, entertaining, and full of drama, I loved this sequel and if you haven't read the first book yet, I really recommended you do so.

Rating:

Switched by Amanda Hocking Review

Publication Date: January 3, 2012
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 318 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Trylle Trilogy #1


Synopsis:
When Wendy Everly was six years old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. Eleven years later, Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. She’s not the person she’s always believed herself to be, and her whole life begins to unravel—all because of Finn Holmes.

Finn is a mysterious guy who always seems to be watching her. Every encounter leaves her deeply shaken…though it has more to do with her fierce attraction to him than she’d ever admit. But it isn’t long before he reveals the truth: Wendy is a changeling who was switched at birth—and he’s come to take her home.

Now Wendy’s about to journey to a magical world she never knew existed, one that’s both beautiful and frightening. And where she must leave her old life behind to discover who she’s meant to become…


Review:

WOW! Boy does she know how to write a page-turner.

The first book of the series, Switched, introduces us to Wendy Everly. Not being the most popular girl in school, constantly dealing with her admittedly bratty attitude is one thing, but at the age of 17 (almost 18), Wendy also must come to terms with the fact that she’s a troll. No, not like the toy or the beasts that live under bridges, rather the model-like, incredibly wealthy and powerful ones living in Förening, a secret community for trolls of the tribe Trylle in Minnesota. When they’re born, Trylle babies are taken from their troll parents and given to human host families where they establish trust funds that ultimately fund Förening. When they’re old enough, Trackers are sent to retrieve them and bring them home. When Wendy’s Tracker, Finn, comes for her, not only does she have to adapt to her new identity, but surprise surprise, she also recognizes her feelings for him.

This is my first Amanda Hocking book and I absolutely loved it. I read it it one sitting and thank goodness I bought the rest of the books or I would go crazy if I didn't know what happened next. I don't know why but her writing is so addictive and I didn't want it to end.

The relationship with Wendy and Finn was a little... how do you say, complicated. Wendy isn't suppose to have feelings for Finn and Finn knows the risks, but Wendy doesn't care but Finn does. So what does he do? Pushes Wendy away even though they both have mutual feelings for each other.

There was lots of other supporting characters like Tove, Matt, Rhys, and Willa. I liked Tove the most. Maybe because he'd seem calm and loyal.

Overall, I really much enjoyed this books and I am really looking forward to more Amanda Hocking's books.

Rating:

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson Review

Publication Date: October 2, 2012
Publisher: Speak
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 372 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Shades of London #1


Synopsis:
The day Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occasion. For Rory, it's the start of a new life at a London boarding school. But for many, this will be remembered as the day a series of brutal murders broke out across the city, gruesome crimes mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper events of more than a century ago.

Soon “Rippermania” takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him. Even her roommate, who was walking with her at the time, didn't notice the mysterious man. So why can only Rory see him? And more urgently, why has Rory become his next target? In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities.


Review:

Hmm. I thought I would enjoy this book but no.

I thought this would be a hardcore mystery/murder novel but instead I got a book with nothing really happening. Some chapters were really long and not enough things going on and I think it was just the way its written and the writing style of it just bored me.

The Name of the Star didn't quite live up to my standards. I think its because I wanted serial killer, bloody craziness. When I choose a book to read it's based on the genre and synopsis. I didn't want a ghost, paranormal mystery book.

There is a lot of pop culture and mainstream references like my favorite Doctor Who and besides the story, there's things about field hockey, and unnecessary things that does not even connect to the plot.

Will I read the next book? Yeah. Am I reading it anytime soon? Probably not.

Rating: