Friday, July 26, 2013

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen Review

Publication Date: February 14, 2012
Publisher: Walker Children
Format: E-book
Page Count: 292 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Scarlet #1


Synopsis:

Posing as one of Robin Hood’s thieves to avoid the wrath of the evil Thief Taker Lord Gisbourne, Scarlet has kept her identity secret from all of Nottinghamshire. Only the Hood and his band know the truth: the agile thief posing as a whip of a boy is actually a fearless young woman with a secret past. Helping the people of Nottingham outwit the corrupt Sheriff of Nottingham could cost Scarlet her life as Gisbourne closes in.

It’s only her fierce loyalty to Robin—whose quick smiles and sharp temper have the rare power to unsettle her—that keeps Scarlet going and makes this fight worth dying for.



Review: 

Loved this version of Robin Hood. The main characters where kickass and the ending... WHOA! I seriously need the next book like right now!

A.G. Gaughen’s writing style is amazing. The only thing that bothered me was how Scarlet talks and the chapters were long. It’s like the dialect is something to get use to but other than that it was perfect. A short book but the story seems longer.

Scarlet is one of Robin Hood’s thieves and no one knows she’s a woman expect for the band and some people. So, she disguises herself as Will Scarlet, a boy. She’s independent, fierce, strong, and makes a few mistakes here and there. Other than that, she’s one deadly thief.

I don’t think the chemistry between Robin and Scarlet is an insta-love because they start out as friends, and of course, one person starts crushing on someone. Not just that but at some parts, they nag at each other.

Now, for the other love-kind not really-interest. John. So John likes Scarlet and Robins knows it but Scarlet doesn’t want John, she just wants to be his friend so then there’s this tension between Robin and Scarlet. It sounds confusing when I explain it, but it will make sense.

Ending was mind blowing. I never thought Scarlet’s past was like that and the whole scene at the end, I was so nervous about what’s gonna happen. After everything, I need the next book and see how this plays out.

                                                                           Rating:

Frostbite by Richelle Mead Review

Publication Date: April 10, 2008
Publisher: Razorbill

Format: E-book
Page Count: 327 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Vampire Academy #2


Synopsis:

Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose...

It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if hand-to-hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks... This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price...


Review: 

Picking this back up after 8 months of putting this down, I will say Vampire Academy had me more and this just frustrated me. I am continuing the series though because after Shadow Kiss, I NEED to pick up this series.

Frostbite was really annoying. It’s like one of those that ‘I love you but I can be with you’ situations. After like halfway through, I got bored or frustrated with the characters.

It wasn’t a good sequel, but the books later on in the series make it up big time. This series is worth checking out.

So it starts right after Vampire Academy and can I say drama, drama, drama. It’s a miracle that people still put up with Rose’s attitude. She’s kickass for sure, but whiny.

Not as good as the other books but I do recommend you read the SERIES.

Rating:

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken Review

Publication Date: December 18, 2012
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 488 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Darkest Minds #1

Synopsis:
When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones.

When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. Now she’s on the run, desperate to find the one safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents.

When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.


Review:

Just finished reaction: DAMN YOU RUBY!!! WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT!!!!!! I am crying. My tears are streaming down my face and onto the keyboard. BUT WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT!!!!!!!!!! I CAN'T FEEL. I CAN'T EVEN. I NEED THE NEXT BOOK ASAP!

I cannot believe I put this down before. I read this in one sitting and its a thick book. This is an AMAZING book which you should all go read!!

So the main character's name is Ruby. She is currently 16 years old but in a few chapters, she was I think 10ish. Before all of this happened, there's this plague -I mean there has to be something and a crappy government that controls people. This, they control children. By controlling, I mean sending kids to camps and study/experiment on them. This plague wipes out everyone except for certain people and these kids are different and developed these powers. There’s green, blue, red, yellow, and orange –orange being the most powerful and green harmless.

Ruby is a kick-ass protagonist. She’s amazing, strong, bold, and such an engaging character. Ruby is an orange but fakes being a green so the authorities can’t transfer her to an orange camp to be experimented, or stuff like that.

Liam, Liam, Liam. He was such a likeable character! I LOVE him! He’s so kind, and generous, sweet, and just aw! This is NOT a spoiler by the way but the part when he basically went in to Ruby's shower, to give her socks. I was laughing so hard and it was so awkward because he so has a crush on her and also NOT a spoiler, I almost had a heart attack on page 393 (hardcover). I literally thought Liam wasn’t joking, but he did so *swipes sweat off forehead*

THE ENDING!! I CANNOT EVEN! I thought I was gonna be like, “Oh, this seems nice. I guess it’s gonna be a happy ending after all! I wonder how this ends. … WAIT? WHAT? BUT NO WHAT? BUT! WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK! I don’t know if I should applaud Alexandra Bracken for that twisted but amazing ending, or hate her. I’ll go with both. Everything she writes makes me go into tears. Even the novella! I NEED the next book ASAP.

As you can tell from my feels, GO READ THIS BOOK!!!
 

Rating:

Tiger's Quest by Colleen Houck Review

Publication Date: June 7, 2011
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 479 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: The Tiger Saga #2

Synopsis:

Back in Oregon, Kelsey tries to pick up the pieces of her life and push aside her feelings for Ren. But danger lurks around the corner, forcing her to return to India where she embarks on a second quest--this time with Ren's dark, bad-boy brother Kishan, who has also fallen prey to the Tiger's Curse. Fraught with danger, spellbinding dreams, and choices of the heart, TIGER'S QUEST brings the trio one step closer to breaking the spell that binds them.

Review:

It's a step up from Tiger's Curse. The ending was very unexpected. I know what Ren's going though but seriously?! He's an idiot!

So after the events in Tiger's Curse, Kelsey is back in Oregon and has to embark on another journey with Ren. They look for his brother Kishan who also has the curse. I will say this has more twists and heartbreaks, and just WTF moments. Kelsey is a fustrating character. She is strong, but stupid and idiotic on some of the actions she does.

I am torn between the two brothers. Ren is a white tiger with coblat blue eyes and Kishan is this black tiger that's sarcastic and VERY honest. They are like opposites of each other, yet similar at the same time. Of course Ren is romantic and also Kishan but their personalities are so different. Ren holds things back with Kelsey, while Kishan is brutally honest. I really like Kishan and I don't know who is best for Kelsey but either one is fine as long I can have Kishan.

Speaking of heartbreaks, the ending was BRUTAL! I did not expect that to happen. I'm pretty sure I was crying at that time when I found out what was happening. There was no alert. No signs of this happening. NOTHING! JUST WHY COLLEEN!!?

Romance, adventure, twists, heart breaking ending, I present you 'Tiger's Quest'

Rating:

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Grave Mercy by R.L. LaFevers Review

Publication Date: April 3, 2012
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 549 pages
Source: Bought
Series: His Fair Assassin #1

Synopsis:

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?


Review:

From the first page, I knew this book was gonna be amazing, and it was!

I could not put this down. For a 500+-page book, it was pretty fast and never dull at any moment. It was so great I finished it in 4-6 hours. I have never in my life read a book like this before. It has magic, adventure, action, historical fiction, and badass main characters.

The main character, Ismae, was SO badass and just a genius. She’s a nun assassin and daughter of Death. First off, NUN ASSASSIN! How sick is that?! Ismae was such a fierce, feisty, and one of the most kickass characters ever. Then there’s the other main character Gavriel Duval –commonly known as Duval. I just adore him so very much. He just melts my heart and the badassness level he’s at makes this book even better. He’s smart, strong, sweet, and again I’m using this word a lot, badass. This book is badass.

Can I just say, thanks to this, I now love not insta-love. In the beginning, they were both very wary about each other but as the story progresses, we get to see their trust and friendship grow and finally have feelings for each other. This isn’t just a love story because it’s not.

The ending was so perfect and just whoa. Whoa. WHOA! This book! OH MY GOD! THAT ENDING! I FREAKING LOVE THE ENDING! I’m not gonna even. If you want to know what happens READ THE BOOK!

Betrayal, adventure, action, and love. Go read this book and I’m so excited to read the sequel.

                                                                   Rating:

Monday, July 15, 2013

Frigid by Jennifer L. Armentrout Trailer Reveal!

Frigid Description 

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn’t anything new. They’d been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the ‘man’ in man-whore. He’s never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn’t want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she’s perfect and she’s everything. But the feelings he has for her, he’s always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they’re stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor’easter, there’s nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

To Buy Links
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Frigid-ebook/dp/B00CONW5I6/ref=sr_1_1_title_1_kin?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1373884777&sr=1-1&keywords=Frigid

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/frigid-j-lynn/1114986686?ean=9781939392749&itm=1&usri=frigid

Frigid Trailer:

Link: http://youtu.be/KFjHtnm03_0

Jennifer L. Armentrout
 # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Tiger's Curse by Colleen Houck Review

Publication Date: May 1, 2012
Publisher: Splinter
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 456 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Tiger's Curse#1

Synopsis:

Passion. Fate. Loyalty.

Would you risk it all to change your destiny?

The last thing Kelsey Hayes thought she’d be doing this summer was trying to break a 300-year-old Indian curse. With a mysterious white tiger named Ren. Halfway around the world. But that’s exactly what happened. Face-to-face with dark forces, spellbinding magic, and mystical worlds where nothing is what it seems, Kelsey risks everything to piece together an ancient prophecy that could break the curse forever.


Review: 


Kelsey signs up for a two week job at a circus for the summer. What she doesn’t know is that she’d be traveling all the way to India to break a 300 year curse on a tiger and to trust people she never met before.

Now I know why people say Kelsey is an annoying character. She is a great heroine but she makes rational decisions and I understand why Kelsey did what she did in the end but I'm starting to see she's an idiot.

Ren is a beautiful white tiger with blue eyes. Well obviously since he’s on the cover. At first sight, Kelsey is intrigued with him and Ren is curious about her. Ren is actually a prince and until Kelsey came in, he could shift back to human form for a little while.

It was nice to read something different like setting wise. I never read a book that took place in India and I’m glad I did. I still don’t know what took me this long to read this. I already read the next three books and I will say this series is worth checking out.

Tiger’s Curse is the first installment out of five of the amazing Tiger Saga. It takes you to an epic adventure to India full of romance, fantasy, and magic.

Rating:

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Maar Review

Publication Date: April 29, 2008
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 328 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Wicked Lovely #1


Synopsis:
Rule #3: Don't stare at invisible faeries.

Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty—especially if they learn of her Sight—and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don't speak to invisible faeries.

Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don't ever attract their attention.

But it's too late. Keenan is the Summer King who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost—regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.

Faerie intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr's stunning 21st century faery tale.


Review: 

I’m going to try REALLY hard to remember what happened in this story since I read this back in April.

The main character, Ashlyn, has the ability to see faeries her entire life. She follows the rules her Grandmother has taught her: Don't stare at invisible faeries, don't speak to invisible faeries, and don't ever attract their attention. The faeries in this stay in the human world and do bad things to us. Only a few people who have the sight can see them. Until two fey starts following and stalking her, she tries her best to avoid them but Keenan is determined to make her his queen.

It went by really fast for a 300 page book. There’s so much going on and before you even know it, it ended. But good news is there’s 5 books and other short stories and novellas.

The whole love triangle ordeal is a bit cheesy. Keenan wants to be with her so she can be his queen and then there’s Seth who is a human and Ashlyn’s best friend.

I’ve been really hesitant to read the sequel because it’s another story and then the third book has Ashlyn and I don’t know if I’ll be reading it anytime soon but I will get to it eventually.



Rating:

Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder Review

Publication Date: December 20, 2011
Publisher: Mira
Format: E-book
Page Count: 390 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Healer #1

Synopsis:

Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honored for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince—leader of a campaign against her people. As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for. Because the price of peace may well be her life....



Review:

This wasn’t as good as the Study series but it was still amazing.

Avry is a healer. If someone is hurt, she can make them good as new again. Problem is, she is hunted for her kind. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague to the people and everyone wants her dead. She is the last of the healers and until Kerrick finds her and saves her from execution, she is forced to heal Prince Ryne while still being hunted.

I really liked the characters. Maria made them really likable (except Kerrick) and I really wanted them to be my friends. 

This isn’t some insta-love romance. Trust me, this isn’t. Kerrick was cruel, hard, tough, and a guess a little abusive. Don’t believe me? Who ties a woman to a tree in the cold?! That bastard. Avry and Kerrick started off hating each other and later on, a on and off friendship.

This didn’t have me as much as the Study series did but it was still enjoyable and I was mentally stabbing the bad guy in this.

Full of adventure and magic, Touch of Power started off a great series.

 Rating:

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund Review

Publication Date: June 12, 2012
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Format: E-book
Page Count: 402 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: For Darkness Shows the Stars #1

Synopsis:
  
It's been several generations since a genetic experiment gone wrong caused the Reduction, decimating humanity and giving rise to a Luddite nobility who outlawed most technology.

Elliot North has always known her place in this world. Four years ago Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, the servant Kai, choosing duty to her family's estate over love. Since then the world has changed: a new class of Post-Reductionists is jumpstarting the wheel of progress, and Elliot's estate is foundering, forcing her to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth--an almost unrecognizable Kai. And while Elliot wonders if this could be their second chance, Kai seems determined to show Elliot exactly what she gave up when she let him go.

But Elliot soon discovers her old friend carries a secret--one that could change their society . . . or bring it to its knees. And again, she's faced with a choice: cling to what she's been raised to believe, or cast her lot with the only boy she's ever loved, even if she's lost him forever.

Inspired by Jane Austen's Persuasion, For Darkness Shows the Stars is a breathtaking romance about opening your mind to the future and your heart to the one person you know can break it.


Review:

I haven't read Persuasion by Jane Austen, but I have seen the movie and this was a good retelling of it. Kai of course was a complete ass half of the book. It just annoyed me that it went to slow. I hope the pace changes in the next book though.

I’m gonna start off with the relationship between Elliot and Kai. It’s not an insta-love romance. Again, NOT INSTA-LOVE!  Kai was a complete utter jerk and an asshole throughout the book. The only nice thing from him were those letters he wrote to Elliot. When Elliot saw Kai again after all these years, she can even recognize him. Off the bat, he was mean to her and basically told her that their childhood and friendship was nothing.

The writing style is a bit slow and over detailed but it was still worth the reading. Persuasion, being my favorite with Pride and Prejudice movie adaptation, it went really well even though this felt like a more futuristic book.

Overall I am really excited to read the next book which I will be reading in about a week.


                                                                           Rating:

Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout Review

Publication Date: September 18, 2012
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Format: E-book
Page Count: 304 pages
Source: Borrowed

Synopsis:
  
Dying sucks
...and high school senior Ember McWilliams knows firsthand.

After a fatal car accident, her gifted little sister brought her back. Now anything Ember touches dies. And that, well, really blows.

Ember operates on a no-touch policy with all living things--including boys. When Hayden Cromwell shows up, quoting Oscar Wilde and claiming her curse is a gift, she thinks he's a crazed cutie. But when he tells her he can help control it, she's more than interested. There's just one catch: Ember has to trust Hayden's adopted father, a man she's sure has sinister reasons for collecting children whose abilities even weird her out. However, she's willing to do anything to hold her sister's hand again. And hell, she'd also like to be able to kiss Hayden. Who wouldn't?

But when Ember learns the accident that turned her into a freak may not've been an accident at all, she's not sure who to trust. Someone wanted her dead, and the closer she gets to the truth, the closer she is to losing not only her heart, but her life.

For real this time


Review:

First things first, this is written by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Why wouldn’t I read this?! She is amazing! With that out of the way, I cried so much in the beginning because I felt so sorry for Ember.

Ember has an ability or I should say “gift” that if she touches people, it kills them. It kinda sounds like Shatter Me but it’s different because Ember could control it, but doesn’t know how. She’s been stalked for about 1-2 years by Hayden who also has a gift but different from hers because of her sister, Olivia who is 5 years old, has the gift to bring back the dead. From there on Ember and Olivia goes and lives off with Hayden’s family and start a new life.

I honestly hated a lot people in the beginning. I hated Olivia, I hated Phoebe and her brother, the other dude who I don’t remember his name, and Hayden’s dad. They just really irritated me and I just wanted them to shut up. But throughout the story I started to like some of them but still hate Olivia and Phoebe.

The writing style of course is brilliant coming from Jennifer. I absolutely love her books. One thing I notice a lot is the characters and milk. Olivia, Daemon, and Cam all love to drink milk.

An amazing stand-a-lone book filled with heart wrenching feels, romance, and paranormal things, I recommend you all read this if you haven’t yet already.

                                                                             Rating:

Spark by Brigid Kemmerer Review

Publication Date: August 28, 2012
Publisher:
Kensington 
Format: E-book
Page Count: 345 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Elemental #2


Synopsis:
Gabriel Merrick plays with fire. Literally. Sometimes he can even control it. And sometimes he can't. Gabriel has always had his brothers to rely on, especially his twin, Nick. But when an arsonist starts wreaking havoc on their town, all the signs point to Gabriel. Only he's not doing it. And no one seems to believe him. Except a shy sophomore named Layne, a brainiac who dresses in turtlenecks and jeans and keeps him totally off balance. Because Layne has a few secrets of her own...

Review:

I freaking love this book! I think Gabriel is by far my favorite Merrick brother. He’s so frustrating in Storm but in Spark where we have his POV, I so fell for him with is snarky, sarcastic attitude.

I will say I did love Storm but I love Spark even more. I think the reason for that is that there wasn’t any love triangles, which I am getting really tired of. Gabriel changed so much personality wise. He was a better person than the average jock. This changed my whole perspective of the characters. I even like Hunter now but I still hate and I mean HATE Quinn and I don’t care about Becca anymore.

After the events of Storm, Gabriel has to go to his math class –which Nick usually goes for him, but people would notice because of his leg. Being back again, he fails dramatically on a pop quiz but a girl who sits next to him decides to help him and changes his answers. He doesn’t know why she did it but he is intrigued and curious about her.  So there’s been a lot of fires happening and everyone is pointing fingers at Gabriel. He knows he’s not doing it but no one believes him.

Now the relationship between Gabriel and Layne was really sweet and I will say the beginning, was such as tease. Layne is a sophomore who is shy, smart, and wears turtleneck sweaters. Gabriel of course doesn’t notice her until she switched his answers on that test and then later saving her and her deaf brother Simon.

Long story short, I love Spark and I can’t wait to read the next book about Hunter, which I am starting to really love.

Rating:

Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock Review

Publication Date: May 8, 2012
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Format: E-book
Page Count: 404 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Hemlock #1

Synopsis:

Mackenzie and Amy were best friends. Until Amy was brutally murdered.

Since then, Mac’s life has been turned upside down. She is being haunted by Amy in her dreams, and an extremist group called the Trackers has come to Mac’s hometown of Hemlock to hunt down Amy’s killer: A white werewolf.

Lupine syndrome—also known as the werewolf virus—is on the rise across the country. Many of the infected try to hide their symptoms, but bloodlust is not easy to control.

Wanting desperately to put an end to her nightmares, Mac decides to investigate Amy’s murder herself. She discovers secrets lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, secrets about Amy’s boyfriend, Jason, her good pal Kyle, and especially her late best friend. Mac is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her life at risk.

Kathleen Peacock’s thrilling novel is the first in the Hemlock trilogy, a spellbinding urban fantasy series filled with provocative questions about prejudice, trust, lies, and love.


Review: 

I don't know what’s more depressing, the ending or the fact that I have to wait for the second book.

What first led me to read this was the fact that on Goodreads, it said fans of the TV series True Blood would like it. People who follow me on Twitter know I LOVE True Blood and I loved this book. This isn’t my favorite book because it does have some flaws but It was an epic tale.

I guess one thing that’s different from average YA vampire or werewolf books, is that the people –or I should say humans, knows about the Lupine Syndrome and werewolves. So there’s these Trackers who hunt and kill the people who are infected with this Lupine Syndrome. Kinda sounds like True Blood right?

The main character, Mac, is hunting / trying to find out who killed her best friend Amy. All she knows is that it is a white werewolf.  With everything happening, Kyle, Jason being a Tracker, and more werewolves attack, her world is turned upside-down.

I will admit, some of the chapters went really slow and some unnecessary but other than that it was a great read and I had to finish it to find out who was behind of everything –which I so called it.

Overall, I really enjoyed this and I can’t wait for the sequel. 

Rating:

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo Review

Publication Date: June 4, 2013
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Format: E-book
Page Count: 435 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: The Grisha #2


Synopsis:

Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.


My Review:

This is going to be a slightly different review. My best friend also read this book very recently and I thought why not include what she thought of the book (and I thought it was really funny). So this first part is my spoiler free review and the next will be her full of spoilers rant/what she thought.

Can I just say, OH MY GOD! I really shouldn’t read this before 2014 because THE ENDING! I don’t even know how I feel about the ending. I literally cannot even. I can’t even. I am unable to even. I have lost my ability to even. I am so unable to even. O…MG. Everything is beyond perfect (except Mal because I don’t like him) and the new characters are just pure amazing.

In this, Alina has become more bad-ass and fiercer than ever. I wonder how she’s gonna be in the next book. I definitely loved the new characters and especially Sturmhond. Mhm that Sturmhond.
description
description
description
He’s a privateer and I just love him so very much and I’m not gonna spoil anyone who hasn’t read the books.

Overall, I know this was short but my friend has a lot of things to talk about so I HIGHLY recommend this series and hope to see where this ends.

                                                                   My Rating:

  
Now for my friend, Arianna, review/rant

WARNING, THIS HAS SPOILERS AND WHEN I SAY SPOILERS I MEAN SPOILERS + RANTING

Hmm where should I start maybe when Mal puts his fathead into Alina’s possible perfect love life or maybe my knowing that the darkling has to die in the next book. Ugh I JUST CAN’T BELIEVE IT, ANY OF IT SHE JUST LOST HER POWERS ARE YOU HAPPY MAL ARE EFFING HAPPY I BET I KNOW WHAT UR THINK THAT NOW YOU CAN HAVE A LIFE TOGETJER YOU INSENSITIVE FUCKER.

Sturmhond couldn't have been any sexier it’s just impossible yet it was. He just jumps out of nowhere as Nikolai and he just so damn PERFECT!!!! But yet again Mal has too stick his fat foot in and ruin any chance of anything existing between them!! AHHH CANT YOU JUST CHOKE ON YOUR STUPID BOW AND DIE!!!!! Yet I have to say when this bitch sticks his tongue down that hoes throat after doing some stupid shit. OH MY GOD if I could’ve jumped in to the frickin book I would’ve have shot the little peasant and make just about every ones lives a little better.

Ok so back to whatever, after Nikolai's smexy entrance and all that time they spent together I'm just like riveting and glowing with joy! And when he asks her to be his queen I'm just like "SAY YES BITCH, SAY YES" but no because IT gets in the way because apparently she's in "love" with him pfftt who does that!!!! You know I'm starting to wonder who the real antagonist is in this book, is. Is it that hot piece of dark magic ass Darkling? NO IT SHOULD BE THAT DREAM CRUSHING- AHHHHHHHHH!!!

But back to the point, overall Nikolai was/ is magnificent. And OMGDOUBLEHKP (learned that from Jessie XD) when she starts seeing the Darkling all over the maffing place I'm just like... I'm can't even- I mean is it weird that I just like loved that little tactic of his I'm just lime score for the dark side :D!!!!! Also I love these twins added to the story but what did break my heart Genya I'm just like: “Why" *poker face, tear*. But we all have are reasons so I've excused her from the backstabbing bitch list. But I'm just like not getting how Alina is supposed to destroy this fold and speaking of destroy when that nichevo'ya tears off Vasslyne or whats his names arm I'm just like at least some bitch that deserved it got!!! But I think what just took my emotions and just tossed them out the window of a 100-story building was when her Powers just... disappears. I mean I know they'll come back or something cause like I personally don't see the point of her being the main character but that's just me (whatever floats your cat), but just the lack of knowledge of Nikolai's whereabouts just leaves me like what the fuck is GOING ON THIS CANT BE OVER YET! I mean I totally saw the Darkling’s death from not happening yet coming but like when Alina gave herself up to him I'm just like is she really gonna do this but then she practically sucks the life out of him and I'm just like, WOW WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON and then that happens right and then the S.O.B. saves her I'm just finally you do something right!!!! But like still Nikolai’s whereabouts being unknown, her powers disappearing, Alina looking like an old lady, and Mal surviving and the Darkling too.

I have to say that in the next book Alina is going to have to take that sexy bitch (Darkling) down because shits about to get real yet again.

Follow Arianna on Instagram and thank you for your uh very uh special review XD. Her Instagram: @karmagato http://instagram.com/karmagato

Her rating:

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

In The Stillness by Andrea Randall Review

Publication Date: April 9, 2013
Publisher: N/A
Format: E-book
Page Count: 486 pages
Source: Borrowed


Synopsis:

Natalie is a wife.
Natalie is a mother.
Natalie is a cutter.

Clawing at walls built by resentment, regret, and guilt, Natalie cuts as an escape from a life she never planned.

Staying present is only possible when you let go of the past. But, what if the past won't let go?


Review:

I. Am. A. Mess. This was so sad, emotional, deep, and when I say emotional, I MEAN EMOTIONAL! Every single page I would start crying and couldn't stop.

This has to be by far the first ever book that's not written by Cassandra Clare, that made me cry nonstop. And that's a BIG accomplishment because I would shed some tears and sob but this, mhm.

I read this nonstop like I had to finish it. The characters where AH-MAZE-ING. I so felt what Nat is going through and her cutting (well I don't do that but I do know people who suffer from it) and how her life has been so screwed up and wasted. Until she finds Ry again and that's when everything goes into place.

I really hated Eric. I mean he's a total jerk and asshole. Even near the end I still hated him.

I really loved this book and I really recommend you all read this because it sends out a great message and the feels just hits you and with the whole second chance love, I can't even right now. I really need to go to sleep. It's 3:32 am right now because I had to finish this.

This is a stand-alone and I'm really sad that's it. I get to attached to characters and I just can't help feeling I want more. (But please no Eric) 


                                                                       Rating:
 

Monday, July 8, 2013

The Elite by Kiera Cass Review

Publication Date: April 23, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: E-book
Page Count: 323 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: The Selection #2


Synopsis:

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.


Review:

Actual rating 3.8 but I'm rounding it to a 4

Every freaking character from the first book changed. EVERYONE. Either they got annoying, got stupid, got idiotic, or plain messed up.

We have six girls left, America, Marlee, Celeste, Kris, Natalie, and Elise. Now I don’t want to rant about this too much, but I felt like I wanted to crush every each and one of the characters by the throat.

I really wished that this was told in two points of view because I’m this close of putting America in the worst protagonists ever list. I am too fed up with her emotions and from America’s POV, I’m starting to hate Maxon which I shouldn’t because I read the novella which is told in his POV, and I loved it.

America has got to be I don’t know #2 of my top most annoying, not thinking, idiotic, blabber mouth protagonists! I was always so annoyed because America has so many opportunities to talk to Maxon about his intentions, but SHE DOESN’T! America is stupid she such a selfish I'm so frustrated because she is like " I don't wanna listen to you.” So many times I wanted America to just shut up and grow a pair of balls.

I got a little carried away, but you get the point. I’m giving it a four because it was still a great read but one tiny big flaw was the characters. I still can’t wait for the final book in this trilogy.

Rating:

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Ugly Covers Tag

Tag created by:
http://www.youtube.com/user/nerdintra...

The Questions:

1. Choose the top five most hideous book covers in your collection.
2. What convinced you to buy them? Or were they gifted to you?
3. Name a few good books with ugly covers
4. Name a few books that had awful covers and were also bad reads
5. What makes a book cover ugly to you?
6. Are these books likely to be donated/gifted/sold or will you still keep them despite their unattractive appearance?
7. Lastly, award one of your books "King of Ugliness" in the kingdom that is your book collection

1.

2. Beautiful Creatures: The movie 
City of Bones: I first bought it as an e-book because it was 99 cents so I read it and now I am BEYOND obsessed with the series.
Daughter of Smoke and Bone: So many good reviews on it
Poison Study: Again, so many good reviews
Vampire Academy: Tons of people read it so why not me
These are horrible covers but LOVED ALL OF THEM!

3. Every book on #1, Shatter Me, The Elemental Series, every Mortal Instruments book (Very much highly recommend)

4. Every Sookie Stackhouse book and Falling for You

5. Something that's not unique, some people, the color scheme, blandness, etc.

6. I keep them on my bookshelf if I liked/loved/enjoyed them. If it doesn't live up to my expectations, I put them in storage or my drawers.

7. I don't have a tippity top ugly cover but Poison Study and City of Bones for a reason. I mean the cover doesn't bother me and the book itself are both AMAZING/ BRILLIANT, but look at two editions of it.
The one on the right is beautiful. While the one on the left, eh. Like what is this? The right is obviously more intriguing than the original one.
And look at this. The motion picture one is breathtaking! I mean, look at it and its a great repensation of the book. There's another world on Earth fulled with demons, half human-half angel, vampires, warlocks, and faeries. While the original cover is a shirtless Jace. Plus the color scheme on the left is bland and the one on the right looks too good to be true and everybody on Tumblr freaked out when they saw the poster of City of Bones.

DON'T judge a book by its cover. Each and one of these books are amazing (unless I put them on #4).  

Beautiful Covers Tag

Tag created by:
Jason: http://www.youtube.com/user/theheavyb...

Questions:
1. Choose 5 of the most beautiful books in your collection.
2. Choose a beautiful book that features your most favorite color.
3. Choose a beautiful book that features your least favorite color.
4. Choose your favorite cover of a classic.
5. Choose your favorite cover of a children's book.
6. Do you often buy books based solely on a beautiful cover?
7. Out of every book that you own, which book best exemplifies your idea of a beautiful book.

1.

2. I would've picked Fallen but I already did for #1 so:

3. DO NOT LIKE PINK AT ALL, but the new cover I like

4. It's a tie between Wuthering Heights and Sense and Sensibility
 

5.

6. No I don't. I judge on the synopsis and the genre.

7. I really love gothic, dark, mysterious covers. I don't know why but its like a feeling I have. It's kinda like "Yes! That cover is beautiful and dark and that color. I love it!" I choose Fallen by Lauren Kate. All the books in the Fallen series are beautiful but Fallen is my favorite.
I mean, just look at that dark blue and black. Her dress is amazing. I wish I had her dress. I want this as a prom dress or any dress; I just want it.