Thursday, August 22, 2013

The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen Review

Publication Date: December 13, 2012
Format: E-book
Page Count: 336 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: The Coincidence #1


Synopsis:

There are those who don’t get luck handed to them on a shiny platter, who end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, who don’t get saved.

Luck was not on Callie’s side the day of her twelfth birthday when everything was stolen from her. After it’s all over, she locks up her feelings and vows never to tell anyone what happened. Six years later her painful past consumes her life and most days it’s a struggle just to breathe.

For as long as Kayden can remember, suffering in silence was the only way to survive life. As long as he did what he was told, everything was okay. One night, after making a terrible mistake, it seems like his life might be over. Luck was on his side, though, when Callie coincidentally is in the right place at the right time and saves him.

Now he can’t stop thinking about the girl he saw at school, but never really knew. When he ends up at the same college as Callie, he does everything he can to try to get to know her. But Callie is reserved and closed off. The more he tries to be part of her life, the more he realizes Callie might need to be saved.


Review: 

Now thinking back, I’m giving this two stars.

I think I’m like one of the only people that doesn’t like this book. This was I think one of my first New Adult books I ever read and I didn’t like it at all.

I read this whole book, just to get through with it. It lacked so much stuff for me. It lacked interest, plot, writing was dull, and the romance was forgetting. It’s been months since I read this book and it was so bad that I don’t even remember it but for some tidbits.

The only good thing about this was the ending. The ending was something that was nerve wrenching but for the whole book, it was dull and boring and lack of interest.

I’m probably not gonna read the next book anytime soon so…


Rating:

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Branded by Keary Taylor Review

Publication Date: February 23, 2010
Publisher: K&T Publishing
Format: E-book
Page Count: 376 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Fall of Angels #1


Synopsis:

Jessica had the nightmares for as long as she can remember. Nightmares of being judged by people who have died, of being branded by the angels. Her friends and family think she's crazy because of it all. Yet she carries the mark of the condemned, seared into the back of her neck, and hides it and herself away from the world.

But when two men she can't ignore enter her life everything changes, including the nightmares. The two of them couldn't be more different. She will do anything to be with one of them. Even tell him the truth about angels, why she never sleeps, and the scar on the back of her neck. But one of the two has set events into motion that will pull her toward her own judgment and turn her into the object of her greatest fear.


Review:

It was surprisingly really good. I went in, knowing nothing about it and now just whoa!

This isn’t any angel book I have ever read before and honestly, the only reason why I read this was because it was free on Amazon. Now I am truly grateful that I have read this because this is amazing.

So the main character, Jessica, has nightmares about angels sentencing her to death but it’s not really her. It’s other people but she’s in there body/place. It sounds confusing but it really isn’t. So because of this the scar on the back of her neck throbs and she doesn’t want to sleep.

Then comes in the love interest, Alex. Alex was a really nice and loyal character and he was just perfect for Jessica.

The pace and the writing of this was good. It wasn’t too fast or slow but a nice normal read.

While this is no love triangle in this, Cole is an interesting character who also happens to be the neighbor of Jessica and he’s mysterious and just shady.

Overall, I do not know what’s gunna happen next and I hope to read the next book soon

Rating:

Touched by Corrine Jackson Review

Publication Date: November 27, 2012
Publisher: Kensington Teen
Format: E-book
Page Count: 343 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Sense Thieves #1

Synopsis:

Remy O’Malley heals people with touch—but every injury she cures becomes her own. Living in a household with an abusive stepfather, she has healed untold numbers of broken bones, burns,and bruises. And then one night her stepfather goes too far.

Being sent to live with her estranged father offers a clean start and she is eager to take it. Enter Asher Blackwell. Once a Protector of Healers, Asher sacrificed his senses to become immortal. Only by killing a Healer can a Protector recover their human senses. Falling in love is against the rules between these two enemies. Because Remy has the power to make Protectors human again, and when they find out, they’ll be coming for her—if Asher doesn’t kill her first.


Review: 

The ending was pretty predicable and the beginning felt a little weird but other than that it was good. I liked Gabe and Asher. I never really liked sisters in books.

I saw some reviews that’s like, “Oh this book is similar to Twilight,” and I have to say, yes, it is similar yet different at the same time. I guess the only thing that I can come up with is that Remy can heal. Other than that, main character moves to a new place. Girl sees hot guy. Hot guy notices her. Girl and guy is obsessed with each other and can’t stop thinking or being around each other. Guy wants to kill girl but can’t. And so on.

It was really dull, like everything I expected happened and nothing wanted to me to be like theorizing like crazy about the ending. The writing was eh. It lacked a few stuff, it was just boring, and the plot was just really YA stereotypical. This was just like any other book.

The whole relationship with Remy and Asher was just too… how can I say? I can’t think of anything but I guess the word that fits the most is Twilight. I haven’t read Twilight but I know plenty about it because of all its hype and it’s VERY similar. Remy is basically Bella and Asher is Edward.

Now the question that if I’ll read the next book. Probably not anytime soon but I might get there. 

Rating:

Friday, August 16, 2013

Misfit by Jon Skovron Review

Publication Date: June 4, 2013
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 342 pages
Source: Library


Synopsis:

Jael Thompson has never really fit in. She’s changed schools too many times to count. The only family she’s ever known is her father, a bitter ex-priest who never lets her date and insists she attend the strictest Catholic school in Seattle. And her mother—well, she was a five thousand year old demon. That doesn’t exactly help.

But on her sixteenth birthday, her father gives her a present that brings about some unexpected changes. Some of the changes, like strange and wonderful powers and the cute skater boy with a knack for science, are awesome. But others, like the homicidal demon seeking revenge on her family? Not so much.

Steeped in mythology, this is an epic tale of a heroine who balances old world with new, science with magic, and the terrifying depths of the underworld with the ordinary halls of high school.


What I thought:

Actually 2.5

Basically, it lacked interest. I never heard of this book before so when I went to the library, I noticed it’s called misfit and there's a show called that too. So I picked it up, read the synopsis and decided I wanted to read it. It felt a little dull and I guess I wasn't feeling it.

I think this is the first ever book that I read last week before a review, and don’t remember anything. That’s how bad it is. This isn’t really gonna be a review because I honestly don’t remember anything.

So the main character’s name is Jael and her father is an ex priest. She changed so many schools so she never really fitted in or has friends. She’s basically half demon and then there’s her love interest Rob.

I’m gonna say this right now, thankfully I didn’t buy this book because this will not be a reread for me.


Rating:

Saturday, August 10, 2013

Update #4

Long time no see. Well, it's only been a week but still. School started again since July 24th and I've been busy with all my classes and homework, and I don't have enough time to write reviews that much anymore. It doesn't mean I'm not writing reviews, it means I don't write that much reviews like I'd used to. So instead of 6+ reviews a week, you'll be getting 1-4 reviews at least.

When I say I don't have time to read, I mean it. My English class doesn't really expect me to read for school, only that I read at least a 200 page book by December plus I have homework for each and every one of my classes. It's pretty hectic but by next year, I'll probably have it under control.

Now.. for a fan gushing moment: OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG CITY OF BONES COMES OUT IN TWO WEEKS!!!! I'M SO EXCITED! I saw like 5 clips of it and I started crying. It's that good! Now that's it's near, there's more clips and TV spots, and I sworn to not click and watch those because this is the only movie that I don't want to be spoiled. For the premiere, I'm gonna have the runes drawn on my arms and shoulder and I'm going all black because Shadowhunters wear black duh. On Wednesdays we wear black xD.

Tomorrow I'm gonna see the Percy Jackson movie with one of my best friends and hopefully I'll like it. I heard many bad and mixed reviews about it, plus it has a 34% rating on Rotten Tomatoes. So fingers crosses I like it and I'll write a review about it on the following days. Note I haven't read this series so my experience could be different from others who read it.

Other than my book life, I hate school. P.E. is the worst and I pulled a mussel that's been sore for weeks and now my arm hurts from the rope. I swear, I have no strengths. The downsides of being not active. Why can't reading be a sport ... it's easier and less work. My math class is indescribable. Algebra II is so weird and my teacher teaches it differently unlike my middle school teacher from 7th grade. I miss my old teachers. Then again that was a few years ago. AP Human Geography is fast. I can barely understand it but I have some ideas of it. We took two quizzes already and I got As on both of them so that's good. I'm just worried about the big test next week and a project on Monday. I mean COME ON ITS BARELY THE FOURTH WEEK OF SCHOOL. French's been easy. It's getting a little harder to remember somethings but that's going great.

So watch out for reviews on some books this week and a Percy Jackson movie review.

Happy readings and au revoir,
Jessie

Saturday, August 3, 2013

Heartbeat by Elizabeth Scott Review

Expected Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin Teen 

Format: E-Book
Page Count: 304 pages
Source: Publisher


Synopsis:

Life. Death. And...Love?

Emma would give anything to talk to her mother one last time. Tell her about her slipping grades, her anger with her stepfather, and the boy with the bad reputation who might be the only one Emma can be herself with.

But Emma can't tell her mother anything. Because her mother is brain-dead and being kept alive by machines for the baby growing inside her.

Meeting bad-boy Caleb Harrison wouldn't have interested Old Emma. But New Emma-the one who exists in a fog of grief, who no longer cares about school, whose only social outlet is her best friend Olivia-New Emma is startled by the connection she and Caleb forge.

Feeling her own heart beat again wakes Emma from the grief that has grayed her existence. Is there hope for life after death-and maybe, for love?


Review:

Life. Death. And Love. It has it all.

Emma is a seventeen year old who lives with her stepfather Dan, and goes to the hospital every day to see her dead mother hooked onto wires for a living baby inside of her. Initial reaction: That’s messed up. Emma is furious about it and lashes out to Dan –so did I. Then one day she meets Caleb, a guy with a reputation that steals cars, does drugs, and gets into trouble. From there on, Emma leans on to him from what’s happening with her life and only Caleb truly understands her.

It went by really fast. One point I’m just yelling at Dan and then boom, end. I’m pretty sure that this is a stand-a-lone (don’t quote me on that) but it seemed sudden. Like the ending was way too fast for my brain to understand what happened.

I decided this was a 4/5 stars because I hated Dan so much. He's a bastard and he says things that he thinks that is true but is so not. Even in the end, I still hated him. He was just a frustrating character and all he cared about was the baby. I didn’t even care about the baby because I also was frustrated about how the doctors and Dan only kept Emma’s mom body alive because of the baby. As you can see my hatred for Dan from my status updates:

9.0% "Already I hate this Dan guy. ITS HIS FAULT! I hate him so much. All he cares about is the baby -.-"

11.0% "STOP TALKING ABOUT THE FRIGIN BABY DAN! JUST SHUT UP IN GENERAL."

17.0% "You bastard! SHE DIDN'T WANT THIS BABY! YOU DID! I think this whole book I'm just gonna yell at Dan. But it's still a good book"

50.0% "Uh oh. Being drunk is never a good thing. Funny but never a good thing. XD"

55.0% "Dan, I'm tired of your bullshit so JUST SHUT UP! You know nothing. NOTHING! And Emma, U GO GIRL!"

55.0% "OHH NO YOU DIDN'T! SHE IS NOT JEALOUS YOU TWAT! SHE IS FURIOUS THAT YOU LET HER MOTHER, YOUR WIFE GO THROUGH WITH THIS!"


Aside from frustrating characters, I love Emma and Caleb. Caleb is so sweet to Emma and he understands her. He’s like her rock and they get each other and that was nice.

This doesn’t come out until January 2014 but I will say this is worth checking out.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and Harlequin Teen 

Rating:
 

Friday, August 2, 2013

Slide by Jill Hathaway Review

Publication Date: March 27, 2012
Publisher:
Balzer + Bray
Format: E-Book
Page Count: 259 pages
Source: Bought


Synopsis:

Vee Bell is certain of one irrefutable truth--her sister's friend Sophie didn't kill herself. She was murdered.

Vee knows this because she was there. Everyone believes Vee is narcoleptic, but she doesn't actually fall asleep during these episodes: When she passes out, she slides into somebody else's mind and experiences the world through that person's eyes. She's slid into her sister as she cheated on a math test, into a teacher sneaking a drink before class. She learned the worst about a supposed "friend" when she slid into her during a school dance. But nothing could have prepared Vee for what happens one October night when she slides into the mind of someone holding a bloody knife, standing over Sophie's slashed body.

Vee desperately wishes she could share her secret, but who would believe her? It sounds so crazy that she can't bring herself to tell her best friend, Rollins, let alone the police. Even if she could confide in Rollins, he has been acting distant lately, especially now that she's been spending more time with Zane.

Enmeshed in a terrifying web of secrets, lies, and danger and with no one to turn to, Vee must find a way to unmask the killer before he or she strikes again.


Review:

HOLY SNAPS! I did not expect that to happen. I did not expect that to be the killer and for those reason. I can't believe what happened. I was crying because I refuse to believe the ending. Oh my god. There were so many twists at the end. Like how many twists can you reveal to the reader without them spazing out!

Just picture you’re reading the book and it’s going a relaxed pace. It’s starting to end and BOOM. Multiple twists hits you and you don’t know what the actual is happening. Shit is going down in 80% out of 100% part of the book and it just ah.

Vee is the main protagonist and she can slide into people and see what they see but can’t hear their thoughts. After one of her sister’s friend dies, Sophie. Well, technically, she was murdered but you get the point. So now, it’s up to her to figure out whole this killer is and why he/she is doing this.

Now I really and I do mean REALLY hate her sister and her friend Amber. She’s a bitch, annoying, and one of those cheerleaders that are over-emotional that makes them look like an idiot. Yeah, I have a lot of hate for them… mostly her sister. That’s the only complaint I had for this book. I HATE HER SISTER!

Zane, I guess is the love interest and Rollins is also like that but they’ve been friends for a long time now. It’s not really a love triangle and it’s hard to explain this because then there’s going to be spoilers and yeah.

Overall, I felt that this was one of those WTF books because of the ending and THE ENDING! Gosh! I still don’t believe it.
Rating:

Glass Houses by Rachel Caine Review

Publication Date: October 3, 2006
Publisher: NAL Jam
Format: E-book
Page Count: 239 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: The Morganville Vampires #1


Synopsis:

It’s a small college town filled with quirky characters. But when the sun goes down, the bad comes out. Because in Morganville, there is an evil that lurks in the darkest shadows—one that will spill out into the bright light of day.

Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. The popular girls never let her forget just where she ranks on the school’s social scene: somewhere less than zero. And Claire really doesn’t have the right connections—to the undead who run the town.

When Claire heads off campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Hew new roommates don’t show many signs of life. But they’ll have Claire’s back when the town’s deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood...



Review:

It could've been done better. For one thing, maybe it should be a first person POV instead of a 3rd. I had high expectations for this because many people enjoy this series and I wish I enjoyed it as much as they did.

It wasn’t a huge disappointment, but it was lacking in character and plot. The writing is okay as I said, it should’ve been in first person point of view because I’d think it would’ve flown better for Claire saying ‘I’ or ‘My’ instead of she. It’s just a pet peeve of mine.

This vampire world is unique and different from the others so that was a plus. Rachel Caine does leave you with cliff-hangers in every book (that I read so far) in the series.

It’s hard to explain what this is really about but I recommend this to people who like the Sookie Stackhouse series. It’s kinda very alike in the writing style kind of way.

That’s all for this review. Au revoir and see you all next time.


                                                                      Rating:

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan Review

Publication Date: September 13, 2012
Publisher: Dial Books
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 304 pages
Source: Bought


Synopsis:

A high-stakes online game of dares turns deadly

When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the game knows her. They tempt her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and team her up with the perfect boy, sizzling-hot Ian. At first it's exhilarating--Vee and Ian's fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes. But the game takes a twisted turn when they're directed to a secret location with five other players for the Grand Prize round. Suddenly they're playing all or nothing, with their lives on the line. Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE?


Review:

This was the kind of book that sends out a great message to the readers about gambling your life to something that’s beyond useless, is worth nothing.

At first it’s slow and a bit confusing, but as the story progresses, it plays out very well and very interesting.

So Vee is a normal teenage girl who gets a chance to be a contestant for NERVE, a game of dares broadcasted worldwide. This isn’t like I dare you to dance in public; these are the real deal. They are serious, intense, embarrassing, and deadly. One thing for sure is, Vee isn’t stupid. She knows this is dangerous but is willing to do this for things she wants that the company of the game got from her blog. So from here on, Vee and her hot partner Ian’s life are at stake.

The way it’s written is flowy and not boring at all. The dares are funny at first but deadly and intense through the end. The characters were great, especially Ian. He seems so caring and just loyal to Vee. My least favorite character would have to be Sydney. Sydney is a real bitch like no doubt.

There’s a lot of twists and WTF moments and some parts makes you go on the edge of your seat to find out what’s going on because like I said, it’s not slow at all and it just makes you want more.



Rating: