Monday, September 30, 2013

All That Glows by Ryan Graudin Review

Expected Publication Date: February 11, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: ARC
Page Count: 320 pages
Source: Publisher


Sypnosis:
  
Emrys—a fiery, red-headed Fae—always embraced her life in the Highlands, far from the city’s draining technology, until she’s sent to London to rejoin the Faery Guard. But this isn’t any normal assignment—she’s sent to guard Prince Richard: Britain’s notorious, partying bad boy and soon-to-be King. The prince’s careless ways and royal blood make him the irresistible for the dark spirits that feed on mortals. Sweet, disheveled, and alive with adventure—Richard is one charge who will put Emrys’s magic and heart to the test.

When an ancient force begins preying on the monarchy, Emrys must hunt through the London’s magical underworld, facing down Banshees, Black Dogs and Green Women to find the one who threatens Richard’s life. In this chaos of dark magic, palace murders and paparazzi, Emrys finds herself facing an impossible choice. For despite all her powers, Emrys has discovered a force that burns brighter than magic: love. 


Review:

Actual Rating: 4.5

Emrys is a fairy godmother. It isn’t one of those wish granting, magical wands fairy godmothers but more of a guardian. She’s been assigned to protect the prince and soon king Richard. Richard is a partying British royal bad boy. Since being irresponsible most of the time and drinking, the dark spirits wants him. Now Emrys is doing whatever she can to protect the future king. Even if she falls in love for him.

I love Ryan Graudin’s take on faeries and the world of it. It’s not old or historical at all but modern where there are paparazzi, dark magic, and murders going on. I wonder if Graudin will write another book in this world because it’s actually really fascinating where faeries are looking over people without the people knowing. It’s not long or boring at all and its actually worth reading.

Some parts of the book were a little sketchy but the writing alone will make you keep you reading all night. You can literally feel the magic when Emrys is casting a spell. And can I say the romance was done right!

Richard isn’t one of those conceited royals like Henry VIII. He’s sweet and aside from being royal, he’s like a normal person. Like off the bat, I knew I’d like Richard. You can tell that he’s nervous and a little bit lonely.

The romance, I LOVED! I love the relationship between Emrys and Richard even though at first people thought Richard was a little crazy speaking to an invisible person. Yeah, Richard is the only person (most of the time) that sees Emrys because of her invisible vale.

Near the end, I almost died! Something huge happened and I started panicking and kept reading and I just couldn’t. The ending though was so beautiful and it’s one of those feelings that just satisfies you and also want more.

An amazing debut novel full of faeries, magic, and an intriguing, irresistible romance.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and HarperTeen

Rating:

Sunday, September 29, 2013

Let the Storm Break by Shannon Messenger Review

Expected Publication Date: March 4, 2014
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Format: ARC
Page Count: 400 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: Sky Fall #2


Synopsis:

Vane Weston is haunted. By the searing pull of his bond to Audra. By the lies he’s told to cover for her disappearance. By the treacherous winds that slip into his mind, trying to trap him in his worst nightmares. And as his enemies grow stronger, Vane doesn’t know how much longer he can last on his own.

But Audra’s still running. From her past. From the Gales. Even from Vane, who she doesn’t believe she deserves. And the farther she flees, the more danger she finds. She possesses the secret power her enemy craves, and protecting it might be more than she can handle—especially when she discovers Raiden’s newest weapon.

With the Gale Force weakened by recent attacks, and the power of four collapsing, Vane and Audra are forced to make a choice: keep trusting the failing winds, or turn to the people who’ve betrayed them before. But even if they survive the storms sent to destroy them, will they have anything left to hold on to?


Review:

I am speechless and in complete shock. That ending crushed me and for the people who waiting for this and haven’t read this yet, you have no idea how lucky you guys are. You get to wait a year for the 3rd book WHILE I HAVE TO WAIT 2 YEARS!!!

As always, it’s still dual point of views. We got Vane, Audra, and the all evil and strengthening Raiden. Vane is still adjusting that he’s not really a human and the next king. I’m just gonna leave it at that. There’s way too many things that happen in this book which I can’t talk about since it goes really into depth about it.

I will talk about one of the newest characters. Solana. UGH!!! I hate her so freaking much! She is totally in love with Vane and is like in her mind, “WHY WON’T YOU LOVE ME?” She’s up all in Vane’s face and gets jealous over Audra. It’s just why. Why can’t you leave?  This might sound like a love triangle, BUT it is NOT a love triangle. Vane loves Audra and that’s that.

This had more things going on. There’s definitely more action in this sequel –especially near the end of the book.

The ending was insane! Insane! That cliffhanger will eat you alive and you’ll start screaming, crying, or just blanking out. Again, no spoilers but IT’S INSANE!!

Now I’m gonna go wait patiently for the 3rd book.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and Simon Pulse 


Rating:

Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger Review

Publication Date: March 5, 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Format: E-book
Page Count: 416 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Sky Fall #1


Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is.

Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim—the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them—but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.


Review:

So Vane is your average normal 17 year old who lived a basic life. Vane dreams about this black haired girl and sometimes he sees her in real life but never really sees her.

Then one day on a date, he sees her again and this time he chases her out the restaurant. He can’t seem to find her so he gives ups on this dream girl and tires to give Hannah (his date) a chance but before you know it, the wind attacks her and end of story.

That’s until he actually meets his dream girl in his room. Her name is Audra and she’s not really human. She’s a sylph or an air elemental. Here she has to convince Vane that he isn’t human either and a sylph before the enemy gets a hold of them. From here on, they have to unlock his memories and heritage and with an added bonus, falling in love.

It's definitely fast pace. It's told in dual point of views of Vane and Audra. It has forbidden romance, and just an epic YA book.


Rating:

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan Review

Expected Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: ARC
Page Count: 384 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: Uninvited #1


Synopsis:

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


Review:

In the year of 2021, the government tests the people for HTS, which is a Homicidal Tendency Syndrome. Basically, if you have this, it’s likely you’ll end up a killer.

So the main character Davy has a future ahead of her. She has a family, her boyfriend Zac, her best friend Tori who I REALLY HATE, and college. Then one day the results of HTS came back positive for her. Now everything she once had is now ruined. Her parents are scared of her, her boyfriend left and broke up and Tori is being a total bitch to her. She has no one until she meets another carrier/person who has HTS, Sean.

Sean and Devy aren’t really like other HTS carriers. They don’t seem dangerous and Sean is actually pretty sweet. At first Davy was alright, under the radar, until she slapped Zac for being a total ass. Then Tori reports her and all hell breaks loose. Honestly, what Zac did, he deserved that slap.

All governments in dystopian books are corrupt but this government is messed up. Just a little violence, boom you have the kill gene. You slap someone, boom you get a mark and punished.

I read this in one sitting and under 2 hours. I cried, I laughed, and I even yelled at it. Crazy but I totally felt what Davy was going through and it just made me emotional. From being a girl who’s rich and had everything she wanted, to a nobody.

I really loved the relationship between Davy and Sean. Honestly without Sean, I wouldn’t think that Davy would be able to survive in life. Sean saves her from many situations and she doesn’t feel lonely. Same goes with Sean. Sean grew up in foster care and has a childhood opposite from Davy. He never felt wanted until Davy actually cared what would happen to him.

This is the first in a duology that come out in 2014 and I really recommend pre-ordering and reading this! It’s an amazing read


ARC provided by Edelweiss and HarperTeen 

Rating:

Friday, September 27, 2013

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge Review

Expected Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: Blazer + Bray
Format: ARC
Page Count: 336 pages
Source: Publisher


Synopsis:

Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl's journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart.

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she's ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex's secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.


Review:

How can I not read a Beauty and the Beast retelling? This was/is so beautiful. The story was amazing. The characters where awesome. Just in general, the book just perfect.

If Rosamund Hodge can write up another retelling + action scenes… you will forever be my favorite author! Greek mythology with a classic tale = BRILLIANT! Her writing style is flowy and it’s not like regular retellings, which I really like since retellings are retellings but this had a twist.

People who have seen Beauty and the Beast or knows the tale of it, it’s so far from it. Sure it’s based on it but Hodge took a big turn with this. So the main character’s name is Nyx and since she was born, she was destined to marry this “demon” named Ignifex. Ignifex isn’t really his name but it’s just what he goes by. This all happened when Nyx’s father made a stupid deal with Ignifex. Now not only married to him, she’s trained to kill him. But during the times she spent with Ignifex, she starts to fall for him.

Talk about a rough relationship. I thought I would hate Ignifex but for some reason, I can’t. He is evil and cruel at times yet again I can’t hate him. Then there’s Shade. I don’t even know what to feel about him. The relationship between Nyx and Ignifex is rocky but you can see the tension between them and it’s so frustrating but it plays out really well. It’s official… I ship them.

Now the ending was not what I expected. The direction was the same as mine but the way it happened was so unexpected for me. I just didn’t know what or how it would end. But Hodge came through and crafted a beautiful work of literature.

Rosamund Hodge’s debut novel will sweep the nation.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and Balzer & Bray 

Rating:

Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd Review

Expected Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: Balzer+Bray
Format: ARC
Page Count: 368 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: The Madman's Daughter #2


Synopsis:

To defeat the darkness, she must first embrace it.

Months have passed since Juliet Moreau returned to civilization after escaping her father's island—and the secrets she left behind. Now, back in London once more, she is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget Dr. Moreau’s horrific legacy—though someone, or something, hasn’t forgotten her.

As people close to Juliet fall victim one by one to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes, Juliet fears one of her father’s creations may have also escaped the island. She is determined to find the killer before Scotland Yard does, though it means awakening sides of herself she had thought long banished, and facing loves from her past she never expected to see again.

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in the midst of a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, past bubbling to the surface, life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.

With inspiration from Robert Louis Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this is a tantalizing mystery about the hidden natures of those we love and how far we’ll go to save them from themselves.


Review:

Since this doesn't come out until 2014, I won't give anything away.

This book picks up months after Juliet left/escaped from the island from book one. So now, she's back in London without Montgomery and with the help of Professor von Stein, she’s settling back into the real world.

Even though she has returned, her illness is getting worse. Her father’s serum is starting to lose affect and she has to find a cure. As people starts being murdered by a creature that leaves slashes, Juliet starts to worry that some of the things she left on the island have followed her.

There are so many twists in this sequel and especially in the end. Like how many shocking twists can you come up with in 100 pages?! There’s definitely more action in this than the first book and we get to see familiar faces again but I’m not gonna tell you because you all have to wait and see.

In the middle, I just died. My heart, and then the tears, and then me running around the house. I can’t say much but this GIF represents it.

description

AND THEN THE ENDING!! Let’s just say it was a cliffhanger but not one of those that’s like OMG OMG! But one’s that are like “what will she do” and “we have to wait another year for this?”

You will not want to miss this action packed, sick, beautifully written, so many twists and turns!

ARC provided by Edelweiss and Balzer+Bray 

Rating:

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Revelations by J.A. Souders Review

Expected Publication Date: November 5, 2013 
Publisher: Tor Teen 
Format: ARC 
Page Count: 352 pages 
Source: Publisher 
Series: The Elysium Chronicle #2

Synopsis:

Six weeks after her arrival on the Surface, Evelyn Winters is no closer to unlocking the memories lost in her subconscious than she was when she first came. Isolated in a strange new society, Evie has only Gavin Hunter to remind her of who she once was.

But even with a clean slate, it’s easy to see that Evie doesn’t fit in on the Surface. And as her differences make her feel more and more alone, she can’t help but yearn for that place she doesn’t remember: the isolated city hidden in the depths of the ocean. Elysium. Home.

But she can’t exactly tell Gavin what she’s feeling. Not when he’s the one who helped her escape Elysium in the first place, and has the scars to prove it. Though the doctors say otherwise, Gavin believes that Evie just needs time. And if her memories don’t come back, well, maybe she’s better off not remembering her past.

But the decision may be out of their hands when Evie’s ever-elusive memories begin to collide with reality. People and images from her past appear in the most unlikely places, haunting her, provoking her…and making her seem not only strange but dangerous.

Evie and Gavin can’t wait around for her memories to return. They’ll have to journey across the Outlands of the Surface to find help, and in the end, their search may just lead them back to the place it all started…

Review:

SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST BOOK OTHERWISE SPOILER FREE

First off, thanks so much to Tor Teen and MacMillan Publishers for sending me an ARC of this!

It’s been six weeks since the last book and Evie and Galvin are out of Elysium, an underwater utopia, and now living on the Surface. After everything, Evie doesn’t remember anything from her past and she has these episodes and sleepwalks. People think something is wrong with her so they send her to the city where more advance technology and doctors can see what’s wrong with her and what’s up with her memories. However, they need someone to sponsor them. Enter a new character, Asher. Overall, many crazy things happen and an ending where you will die waiting for the next book.

What I don’t understand is how a book so beautifully crafted can be very twisted and terrifying at the same time. It’s a dual point of view, which is really great so we get to see what really goes through Gavin’s mind.

Yes there is a new character. Evie doesn’t know Asher in the beginning but Gavin knows him and he certainly dislikes him but doesn’t hate him. Asher used to be Gavin’s friend but something happened and there some tension between them but as the book progress, the ice between them melts but not fully. But throughout the book, I could see that Asher is actually a protective person and he really cares about Evie.

At random moments, Evie has little tidbits of her memory from Elysium but mainly when something triggers it. The only thing that she can really hold on to is Gavin, which in my opinion is really cute and sweet. Even though there is a new guy character, THERE IS NO LOVE TRIANGLE! When reading this I was really nervous that there was but nope! I love how when she does get the tidbits of her memory, she thinks of Gavin and it grounds her. I really love their relationship even though it seems a little rocky at some points but it plays out really well.

Now for the last part of the book, OH MY GOSH I CAN’T EVEN! First, I would like to say MOTHER YOU #*#*#! Second, I literally don’t even know what to expect now. It’s not a cliffhanger but it’s one of those that leaves you like “WHAT?!” and just theorizing what’s gonna happen. It’s just the last chapter that makes everything all confusing and then realization hits you and then you’re just there yelling at the book.

I don’t even know anymore. I really don’t know what will happen or end in the next book. Revelations is a book that you don’t want to miss.

 Rating:

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Your Bookish Identity Tag

Your Bookish Identity Tag original video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSp1Fd...

THE QUESTIONS:
- What dystopian/fantastical world would you live in?
- Who would your partner be?
- Who would be your godly mother/father? [Percy Jackson]
- Would you be a downworlder or nephilim? [Shadowhunter world]
- Which house would you be in? [Harry Potter]
- Which faction would you be in? [Divergent]
- What would be your daemon [Northern Lights]


- Hands down the Shadowhunter world. No brainer

- Will Herondale, Noah Shaw, Jace Lightwood/etc., Four, Chaol, Daemon, etc. I literally can't choose so... to be continued

- My top one is Poseidon because who doesn't want to control water and I just love water. But my list is 1. Posideon 2. Hades 3. Zeus 4. Ares

- Nephilim. It would be so sick to be a Shadowhunter. (Just a BTW I'm dressing as a Shadowhunter for Halloween)

- Pottermore sorted me into Slytherin and I stand by that choice

- I really want to be in Dauntless but let's be real... I would die. I'm too lazy for Erudite. I lie too much to be in Candor. I'm too violent for Amity like too much peace can make me nervous and crazy. Abnegation is for the selflessness but everyone is selfish. That's it... I'm Divergent.

- Wolf or snow leopard. So fierce.



Reading Habits Tag

Original: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDAYilMkLfY

Questions:
1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
6. One book at a time or several at once?
7. Reading at home or everywhere?
8. Reading out lout or silently in your head?
9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
11. Do you write in your books?


1. Usually on my bed, couch, or somewhere in my room

2. Both. I usually have a bookmark but if I can't find it I get a napkin or scraps.

3. I have to stop on a chapter or else I don't remember anything

4. When I read on my kindle I'd eat or drink but reading a physical book usually no but sometimes tea or coffee.

5. None. It's mostly the computer.

6. One book

7. EVERYWHERE!!

8. Silently

9. Only if it's VERY necesscary like for example (totally made up) Harry can't decide to choose a wand or a broom for a whole chapter.

10. New always!

11. OH DEF NO!! THIS IS ALL NATUREL

The Deepest Cut by J.A. Templeton Review

Publication Date: October 1, 2011
Publisher: Self Published
Format: E-book
Page Count: 304 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Mackinnon Curse #1


Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Riley Williams has been able to see ghosts since the car crash that took her mother’s life and shattered her family. Guilt-ridden over the belief that she’s somehow responsible for her mom’s death, Riley is desperate to see her mother’s elusive spirit to gain her forgiveness.

When her father moves the family to Scotland so they can all start over, Riley believes her life couldn’t get worse––that is until the ghost of nineteen-year-old Ian MacKinnon catches her purposely cutting herself. An uneasy truce quickly turns into friendship, and soon Riley’s falling hard for Ian.

Riley believes her gift could help Ian end the curse that has kept him tied to the land for centuries, but that would mean letting him go forever and she’s not sure she is strong enough to do that. As if her life wasn’t complicated enough, the spirit of the woman who killed Ian returns and she’ll stop at nothing to keep Riley from helping Ian find eternal peace.


Review:

I’ve been meaning to read this but never had the time to buy it but it’s free right now on Amazon as an e-book.

16-year-old Riley can see ghosts. This happened after a car accident where she survived and her mom died. After this whole mess, her dad, brother, and Riley move to Scotland. In Scotland, she meets Ian, a cursed ghost. He caught her cutting herself and then you know how this goes down.

Not only she sees ghosts but this crazy psycho ghost chick named Laria is haunting to the extremes. Never in my reading life have I ever read a book where a ghost goes to the extremes of hurting and making Riley stay away.

Falling in love with a ghost isn’t easy. Honestly if it was me I’d be a little freaked since my worst fears is paranormal stuff in real life (ghosts, demons, monsters, etc.) But J.A. Templeton makes it flow easy and nice. The ending was bittersweet. I didn’t like what the author did but further reading it seemed appropriate. Not the ending I’d expected to be honest. 



Rating:

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green Review

Publication Date: January 10, 2012
Publisher: Dutton Books
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 313 pages
Source: Bought 


Synopsis:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.

Review:

I thought I wouldn’t do a review for this because I didn’t have a blog back then and I just couldn’t because of the things that happened in this book. This affected my reading life and still ‘till this day, I remember everything even though I read this over year ago. (And because of Tumblr but still…)

At that time when this book came out, I didn’t know anything about books. I didn’t know John Green was an author. I only thought he was a YouTuber. I didn’t like to read at that time. Actually, the only thing that let me to buy this was that it was a signed edition.

From the first page, I knew I was hooked. From the last page, my life was changed. This book is very emotional. John Green makes you fall in love with these characters, and then he rips them from you. Plus this is a standalone which makes it even more depressing because this isn’t a very long book and so many things happened.

I will say I will NOT be rereading this because it’s one of those books that when you are finished, you don’t know what to do next in your life. After finishing this, I went into a mourning period. I suffered way too much emotions and rereading this will make me cry nonstop and now with more reading experience, I will fall and crumble.

For the people who haven’t read this already… Mhmp, where have you been in the last century? Get your butt off the computer, phone, whatever, get in your car and go to a nearest bookstore or Walmart/Target/whatever. Either you can die with one life, or die will thousands.

Rating:

Monday, September 23, 2013

I'm BACKKK!!! (Update #5)

It's been 4 weeks since I last posted and I been busy this whole month.

Right now I'm in fall break for two weeks and I'll be posting maybe 3 reviews a day for two weeks. I've been busy with homework, studying, quizzes, tests, exams, projects, EVERYTHING! During those times I've been reading more and more new adult books. I don't know why but I spent over a year reading YA books and a summer full of YA books everyday and I'm talking a little break.

I promised myself that I will review every book so no promises yet that I'll read a YA book anytime soon but I will when I finish with the reviews then I can post daily.

One thing I noticed while doing school work at home, I procrastinate... a lot. Either it's Tumblr, emails, Youtube, or Twitter, or other sites, I been distracted. It's still amazing how I'm still able to get good grades.

Just a warning for the upcoming reviews, there will be sass. I've been watching O2L (Connor, Ricky, Sam, Jc, Trevor, and Kian) nonstop and boy oh boy, they have sass alright. Now the catchphrases, and sassyness is growing on me so just brace yourselves.

A review will be up tomorrow so I'm gonna go.

Okay, so now I'm back and new reviews coming soon and more books and yay!!

Stay cloudy,
Jessie ;)

Friday, September 6, 2013

Rome by Jay Crownover Cover Reveal ~ Final/Fourth Puzzle Piece




Title: Rome (Marked Men #3)
Author:  Jay Crownover
Genre: New Adult
Published Date: January 7th, 2013
Publisher: William Morrow an imprint of HarperCollins Publishing



Synopsis:

Cora Lewis is a whole lot of fun, and she knows how to keep her tattooed bad boy friends in line. But all that flash and sass hide the fact that she’s never gotten over the way her first love broke her heart. Now she has a plan to make sure that never happens again: She’s only going to fall in love with someone perfect.
Rome Archer is as far from perfect as a man can be. He’s stubborn and rigid, he’s bossy and has come back from his final tour of duty fundamentally broken. Rome’s used to filling a role: big brother, doting son, super soldier; and now none of these fit anymore. Now he’s just a man trying to figure out what to do with the rest of his life while keeping the demons of war and loss at bay. He would have been glad to suffer it alone, until Cora comes sweeping into his life and becomes the only color on his bleak horizon.
Perfect isn’t in the cards for these two, but imperfect might just last forever . . .

Author Information

I'm supposed to share interesting details about myself so that my readers get to know me so here we go in no particular order: I'm an natural redhead even though I haven't seen my real hair color in years, I'm a big fan of tattoos and have a half sleeve on either arm and various other pieces all over the place, I've been in the bar industry since I was in college and it has always offered interesting insight into how men and women interact with each other, I have 3 dogs that are all crazy, I live in Colorado and love the snow, I love music and in all reality wish I could be a rock star not a writer or a bartender but I have zero talent so there is that. 
I love to write, love to read and all I'm interested in is a good story with interesting characters that make the reader feel something.



Twitter @jaycrownover


Buy Links below if you want to add them