Tuesday, November 26, 2013

The Nightmare Dilemma by Mindee Arnett Review

Expected Publication Date: March 4, 2014
Publisher: Tor Teen
Format: ARC
Page Count: 384 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: The Arkwell Academy #2


Synopsis:

Dusty Everhart might be able to predict the future through the dreams of her crush, Eli Booker, but that doesn’t make her life even remotely easy. When one of her mermaid friends is viciously assaulted and left for dead, and the school’s jokester, Lance Rathbone, is accused of the crime, Dusty’s as shocked as everybody else. Lance needs Dusty to prove his innocence by finding the real attacker, but that’s easier asked than done. Eli’s dreams are no help, more nightmares than prophecies.

To make matters worse, Dusty’s ex-boyfriend has just been acquitted of conspiracy and is now back at school, reminding Dusty of why she fell for him in the first place. The Magi Senate needs Dusty to get close to him, to discover his real motives. But this order infuriates Eli, who has started his own campaign for Dusty’s heart.

As Dusty takes on both cases, she begins to suspect they’re connected to something bigger. And there’s something very wrong with Eli’s dreams, signs that point to a darker plot than they could have ever imagined.


Review:

Thanks again Tor Teen and Macmillan for being so generous and sending me an ARC. You guys rock!

It starts out with Dusty's friend, Britney, attacked by a powerful curse. No one knows who did it so it's up to Dusty to find out. Dust is a half nightmare who feeds on human's dreams. So, Dusty dream-feeds on her and try to see who did it. It's not a clear picture but what she does see in the dream, she does not believe who it it. Eli. 

Dusty doesn't believe this and did not report Eli. Instead she confronts him. It supposedly seems that Eli cast a spell on Lance and Lance was the one who did the curse on Britney. Now Lance is the number 1 suspect. Only, he didn't do it because he actually didn't do it.  And if he didn't do it, who did?

And to make things even worse, Dusty's ex boyfriend is out of jail. Now Paul can come back to school. Here Dusty has to bond with him to see what his next plans are and his real motives. 

There wasn't a cliff-hanger or sad ending but a nice feel to it. I don't know what will happen next since the ending didn't lead me on to something. I think I have a few guesses about something on the cover which I can't specifically say what because of spoilers.  

ARC provided by Tor Teen


Rating:

Monday, November 25, 2013

Through the Zombie Glass by Gena Showalter Review

Publication Date: September 24, 2013
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Format: E-book
Page Count: 480 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series : White Rabbit Chronicles #1

  
Synopsis:

Zombies stalk the night. Forget blood and brains. These monsters hunger for human souls. Sadly, they've got mine...

Alice Bell has lost so much. Family. Friends. A home. She thought she had nothing else to give. She was wrong.

After a new zombie attack, strange things begin to happen to her. Mirrors come to life, and the whispers of the dead assault her ears. But the worst? A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do very wicked things.

She's never needed her team of zombie slayers more, but ultra bad-boy Cole Holland, the leader and her boyfriend, suddenly withdraws from her...from everyone. Now, with her best friend Kat at her side, Ali must kill the zombies, uncover Cole's secret and learn to fight the darkness.

But the clock is ticking...and if she fails at a single task, they're all doomed.


Review:

EMOTIONAL ROLLER COASTER! I cried so much and the on and mostly off relationship!! First off, Veronica has to go. Now that’s out of the way, let me continue.

This sequel was off the charts. So much action, drama, and can I say ZA! For the people who haven’t read this, well ZA is just a something. That character though!

Although this isn’t a direct telling of Alice in Wonderland, it still is a great read.

Ali is officially a zombie slayer. She's dating Cole Holland, has her Nana, and her best friend Kat. Life is pretty good right now for Ali… not. Something is changing in Ali since the ending of the first book. Ali can't seem to control ZA in her and she has the urge to kill. And to make things EVEN WORSE, Ali shares visions with someone other than Cole. Cole feels a little threatened and is worried, even if he doesn’t show it, that Ali might lose feelings for him and into the other zombie slayer.

Then there’s this whole drama about Cole and Ali, then Cole’s ex Veronica comes in and gives Ali the bitch shoulder. And everything crumbles down. Again, Veronica has to go. I won’t even care if a zombie zomifies her.

Even though the relationship went into a strain in this, I still liked Cole and Cole cared for Ali. The ending will not disappoint and I will say the ship is still running. Only that the ending I insane and in the very last, the letter from Cole, AMAZING!

Rating:

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

THE SWEATER WEATHER TAG

This is NOT a book tag or anything like that. I saw it on DailyGrace video and I really wanted to do this tag! It is originally created by http://youtube.com/itsmelexie1 but Ingrid on missglamorazzi changed and added a few things so...

Questions!
1. Favorite candle scent?
2. Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?
3. What's the best fall memory you have?
4. Which makeup trend do you prefer: dark lips or winged eyeliner?
5. Best fragrance for fall?
6. Favorite Thanksgiving food?
7. What is autumn weather like where you live?
8. Most worn sweater?
9. Must-have nail polish this fall?
10. Football games or jumping in leaf piles?
11. Skinny jeans or leggings?
12. Combat boots or Uggs?
13. Is pumpkin spice worth the hype?
14. Favorite fall TV show?
15. What song really gets you into the fall spirit?

1. Meadow by Yankee Candle has been my favorite this year. It smells like a cemetery in my opinion but still very earthy so... I'm weird

2. Tea and coffee! Any tea and it has to be Starbucks coffee

3. Fall memory? I don't remember or had one yet.

4. Dark lips. I have like all dark reds and no pinks.

5. Taylor Swift Wonderstruck. Just because it smells like tea and fall

6. Turkey and Ham. Yeah... we get both.

7. I live in California and it's very bipolar. It's warm for an hour, then its all cloudy, then its sunny, then hot, then dark and cold. Bipolar.

8. My stripped navy blue and white sweater or my knit sweater.. I love sweaters but my friend thinks I look like a grandma when I wear it to school.

9. I don't wear nail polish

10. Leaf pile..... bucket list

11. Skinny jeans. Maybe leggings in a few years. Can it be pajamas pants? I honestly will wear that to school. Wait 'till senior year!

12. Combat boots!

13. I want to hate it, but I can't

14. American Horror Story: Coven is one of them. Season 2 was crappy but Coven really brought it back up! Walking Dead. That's another of my favorites.

15. American Authors - Best Day Of My Life! LOVE THIS SONG!!

Sunday, November 17, 2013

How I Read Tag

original tag video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dg5tP6...

 Questions:
(1)How do you find out about new books to read?

I usually find a lot of books on Goodreads. I spend half of my day there. It's a really good website to use!

(2)How did you get into reading?

I read The Hunger Games and then my life was changed.

(3)How has your taste in books changed as you've gotten older?

I've been reading more and more New Adults books and other genres other than YA. But I still read YA a lot.

(4)How often do you buy books?

It's been a while since I bought a book but before that, I buy like 5 books a month

(5)How do you react when you don't like the end of a book?

Cry, scream, or mixed feelings

(6)How often have you taken a sneaky look at the back page of a book to see if it's a happy ending

Before getting used to reading, I would do that and now I never do it

Saturday, November 2, 2013

Tidal by Amanda Hocking Review

Publication Date: June 4, 2013
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Format: E-book
Page Count: 342 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Watersong #3


Synopsis:

Gemma and Harper Fisher are facing the fight of their lives. Gemma has been cursed with extraordinary powers that have a terrifying dark side, but she's finally found what she needs - a way to break the curse and become human again. However, finding the means to do it will be her greatest challenge yet. And now Penn, Lexi, and Thea - the gorgeous but deadly creatures who cursed her - are determined to kill her before she has a chance. Making matters worse, Penn has her sights set on Daniel - the guy Harper loves - and Penn always gets what she wants.

As Gemma and Harper race to break the curse before it's too late, they're thrust deeper into a mythical world of immortal secrets. They must into their enemies' past to find the answers they need, even if it means being drawn deeper into their savagely beautiful world. But one of the girls is not what she seems...and Gemma finds an unlikely ally as she struggles to save herself. Will it be enough to break an ancient curse that no one has ever escaped from alive?

Review:

My initial reaction before reading this was, WHAT THE ACTUAL IS PENN DOING WITH DANIEL! For one thing, she needs to get her hands off of Daniel and go back to the sea where she belongs and leave my ship alone.

Now with that over, let's just say this book is unpredictable. I can't even right now. The emotions are pouring uncontrollably and everything you thought you knew comes crashing down and then realization hits you and then its over.

I honestly don't know what's gonna happen next in Elegy.

One thing I loved about this was that we had Daniels point of view. He is one of my favorite characters along with Harper. But with this perspective, sometimes I also hated it because of Daniel and Penn interaction between one another.

We get to see more of Penn and learn more about her but with all of that, I still hate her and what she did/offered to someone a something, I was so pissed and I could not believe what I was reading.

I could not stop reading this book. Amanda Hocking is such an amazing writer and I just loved each and every one of her books. Word building, amazing. Characters, lovable. Plot, SHAMAZE!

The ending was insane. INSANE! I could not speak and it blew my mind down to every piece. I cannot wait and see what the conclusion of the Watersong series will offer.

                                                                       Rating: