Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Top 10 Wattpad Stories of 2014

I don't know if you know this but, I read WAY more Wattpad stories than physical books in 2014. It's actually why I was slacking off of book blogging and reading published books. For people who don't know what Wattpad is, its a online and mobile site where you can read many undiscovered and free stories. It has a wide range of varieties. So here is my top 10 Wattpad stories I read in 2014 in no particular order.

1.
This was one of the first stories I ever read and it is so good

Read here















2.
Love the characters, especially Archer

Read here















3.
This is what I wished for to happen to me in real life

Read here















4.
I read a lot of werewolf stories, but this is one of my most favorites

Read here















5.
This one, especially the second one, I cried so much. I just adore the characters and I just want more!

Read here














6.
I probably read this like 4 times already. It's another werewolf story

Read here















7.
Another werewolf story.

Read here















8.
Guess, what? Werewolf story. Okay I swear most of the stories I read on Wattpad is werewolves.

Read here














9.
Okay, not werewolf story. Instead, its in the real world where again, I wished that this happened to me.

Read here














10.
Like Crazy, it says it all in the name. Same here... wish this happened to me IRL.

Read here

Top 10 YA Books of 2014

Most of you know, this year was not my reading year but here it goes. This has no particular order at all.

1.
 Okay I know that this is not a YA book but I HAD to include it!! "Jennifer L. Armentrout gets better and better with every book she writes. I really recommend people to read this book and series." Full review here














2.
Okay, another non YA but also HAD to be on here. LIKE GIVE ME A MILES ARCHER!! HE'S AMAZING, THE STORY IS AMAZING. JUST, GAH!!!















3.
"It was an amazing experience reading the series and falling in love with the characters. Michelle Hodkin summed up the whole series very nicely and I understand what had to be done." Full review here














4.
"It was a very emotional read for me and I don't know if this can be with the fainest of hearts but this book talks about a huge topic and journey of a character who experienced rape." Full review here














5.
"Overall, this sequel is worth checking out and Wicket's story isn't done just yet. So much happened and I do not know what to expect in the third book." Full review here















6.
"LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!" Full GIF review here

















7.
"I really enjoyed this and after than cliffhanger I need to know what happens next." Full review here 
















8.
"It's very bittersweet. I absolutely love this series to pieces and love every single character. It's sad to let them go after three books." Full review here















9.
"So many twist and so many "holy crap" moments. It's a very bittersweet moment but satisfying. I love the ending and it summed up the series very nicely. Definitely love it." Full review here















10.
Again, not YA but I mean, have you read this book? It's so good and so unique and original. I thought I knew what I was gonna go through before reading this but NOPE! Like at first I was like yeah, typical book but then in a few chapters, it hits me like whoa! Never though things in this book would happen and can I just say this for now... can I have a Ridge of my own?

Monday, December 22, 2014

Top Favorite TV Shows of 2014

Counting down my top 10 TV shows that's still on the air. No particular order at all.

1.
Game of Thrones will always be on my list. What I loved about this season was the addition of Prince Oberyn. Such a great series and that ending! 














2. 
This is actually a new TV show and I absolutely love it. I was immediately hooked. It's hard to sort what type of show this is because there's romance, historical fiction, time travel, adventure, drama, etc. Whatever it is, the plot, acting, and overall show is amazing. (Click here) for my full review.














3. 
The acting and the story line gets better and better every episode. I love how they portrayed the Frozen characters perfectly.

















4. 
I will be honest, I was at first very wary about this because I do not like horror at all but this show is just so amazing. It's set in Victorian London and it contains some of literature's most terrifying and characters. My favorite characters is Vanessa Ives, Dorian Gray and Victor Frankenstein but every character in this show is amazing and so complex.













5.
This is the U.S. edition of Shameless. I tried to watch the U.K. version but it did appeal to me like this one and I say the U.S. version is much more dark and intense. The characters in this go through so much crap but they still pull it out. 















6. 
Wowza. This is another amazing show produced by Shonda Rhimes. I am just speechless about this show. It just finished the first part of the first season and it started with a bam, and ended bit it too. 














7. 
This was also a show at first I was wary of but give it like two episodes and you will be hooked. 
















8.
This show just makes me happy. It's filled with geniuses and they are so intelligent but in real life situations it so awkward. I love scenes with Happy and Toby because they liven the show so much.















9.
I've never seen anything like this on TV before and I am loving it. I was so happy when AMC renewed it for a second season.
















10.
I honestly just started this show like two weeks ago and I am loving it. I never thought it would be this good.

Sunday, December 21, 2014

A Cold Legacy by Megan Shepherd Review

Expected Publication Date: January 27, 2015
Publisher: Balzer+Bray
Format: ARC
Page Count: 400 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: The Madman's Daughter #3


Synopsis:

After killing the men who tried to steal her father’s research, Juliet—along with Montgomery, Lucy, Balthazar, and a deathly ill Edward—has escaped to a remote estate on the Scottish moors. Owned by the enigmatic Elizabeth von Stein, the mansion is full of mysteries and unexplained oddities: dead bodies in the basement, secret passages, and fortune-tellers who seem to know Juliet’s secrets. Though it appears to be a safe haven, Juliet fears new dangers may be present within the manor’s own walls.

Then Juliet uncovers the truth about the manor’s long history of scientific experimentation—and her own intended role in it—forcing her to determine where the line falls between right and wrong, life and death, magic and science, and promises and secrets. And she must decide if she’ll follow her father’s dark footsteps or her mother’s tragic ones, or whether she’ll make her own.


Review:

Juliet and her friends runaway to a mansion in the Scottish moors. There, she is welcomed by servants and staff members who take care of the estate. While at the estate, Juliet gets an odd feeling about some of the staff and feels that some are hiding secrets.

So many twist and so many "holy crap" moments. It's a very bittersweet moment but satisfying. I love the ending and it summed up the series very nicely. Definitely love it.

This book did a decent job at wrapping things up and leaving the readers satisfied, yet wanting more. It's sad to let these characters go and move on.

I really recommend people to read this series. It's such a great YA gothic read filled with twists, romance, horror, and suspense.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and Blazer + Bray

Rating:

Saturday, November 22, 2014

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Review

Publication Date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: E-book
Page Count: 470 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Mara Dyer #3

Synopsis:

Mara Dyer wants to believe there's more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.
Retribution has arrived.


Review:

After multiple publication dates being pushed back, finally the third book of the Mara Dyer series is out!

I will not go into details about it because from the second book to the third, the transition to it is filled with spoilers.

I will say it's a bittersweet moment. After many years of following the adventures of Mara, it comes to an end. It was an amazing experience reading the series and falling in love with the characters. Michelle Hodkin summed up the whole series very nicely and I understand what had to be done.

For the people who haven't read this book or this series, I VERY MUCH HIGHLY RECOMMEND! There are no words to describe how intense and interesting this series is. Retribution starts immediately where Evolution ends and it a whole roller-coaster of twists and turns. I never expected any of the things to happen.

Again, I will not go into details about this because even one word will give everything away. Go read this series and book because you are truly missing out. I cannot wait for what Michelle Hodkin has to offer next!

Rating:

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Semi Hiatus, Maybe? (Update #11)

2014 is not my year of reading. I don't know why but compared to 2013, it seems like I'm barely reading/reviewing. So because of this, I'm thinking about doing a semi-hiatus. I don't have a lot of time to be writing reviews since my schedule is loaded on school work.

For people who don't know or don't understand the meaning of 'semi-hiatus', it basically mean I will be on a break but I will check in and post once in awhile. I don't know how long I will be in semi-hiatus, but my estimate is probably until January. 

In other news, the final book of the Mara Dyer series is coming out on Tuesday! I'm really excited about that because I've waited for 2 years for this book and finally I will get to read it. So most definitely there will be a book review (maybe a GIF review) for Mara Dyer coming this week and another book I might be reviewing too. 

I will also be in a semi-hiatus on Goodreads. You can still comment and ask questions here and my other sites and I WILL respond. The only thing that I will not be doing much is reviewing/posting. 

I hope next year can be a better reading year for me. Thank you for understanding.

Jessie x 

Friday, October 3, 2014

Pivot Point by Kasie West Review

Publication Date: February 12, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: E-book
Page Count: 352 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Pivot Point #1


Synopsis:

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.


Review:

This takes alternating point of views to a whole new level. It's different and confusing at first but I do like how different it is.

So instead of alternating point of views with two different characters, in this book it's two POVs from one character. Basically, this had a two different stories type of feel to it. I will be honest, I loved one story a lot more than the other.

The whole concept of this is very difficult to explain and it'll be confusing for you guys. There's an Addie inside the Compound and then there's an Addie outside the Compound and is living in the normal world. There's Duke and there's Trevor.
I liked the supernatural aspect in this story. Addie has the ability to see the future under different paths and she can pick the one that's best. So in two futures, she was asked to pick between staying in the paranormal compound or going with her dad in the normal world.

In these two completely different worlds, there is their own little story with their own plot and conflicts. Paranormal world, the people have supernatural abilities, a 'bad boy' type of vibe love interest, and someone who has a dangerous ability. In the normal world, Addie has to adapt to our world, becomes the new kid in the Norm school, and while at this school, she meets Trevor. Trevor and Addie's relationship started out slow but it was so good. I love them together. For this world. there's these unrandom injuries happening to the football team.

Sure there's two different storylines, but the main overall thing about this is which side does Addie choose when she doesn't want either one? In the end, I say it was all worth it and it was emotional. 

Definitely, this book is unique and I have never read something liked this before. I like how different it was. 

Rating:

Friday, September 19, 2014

Stay with Me by J. Lynn Review

Expected Publication Date: September 23, 2014
Publisher:
William Morrow Paperbacks 
Format: ARC
Page Count: 438 pages
Source: Author
Series: Wait for You #3


Synopsis:

At 21, Calla hasn’t done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should. She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends.

But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought she'd left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming.

Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from the moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn’t give them her mom.


Review:

I know I'm a hardcore Wait for You fan but this is a close second. I loved Calla and Jax's story. 

This was definitely much more intense and had more action than any other book in the series. Reason for this is that this deals with drugs and intense subjects. The main character Calla, introduced in Be With Me, hasn't done that many things with her life. When she finds out her mother, Mona cleaned stolen her college funds and applied multiple credit cards with her name on it, she is forced to go back to her small town. Problem is, when she tries to confront her, she is skipped town, leaving Calla in debt. At her mom's bar, she meets a hot bartender named Jackson (Jax). 

Because of her relation with Mona, the people her mom owes and acquainted with is now targeting her. From the moment Calla and Jax first met he tries and help Calla find her mom and protects her while at it too. 

I love the relationship with Calla and Jax. Jax is a former Marine and with that, he is fiercely protective. He doesn't care what the consequences are, he WILL protect Calla and wants her safe. Not only he's protective but he's very trustworthy. All the things he tell Calla are the truth but she has doubted him a few times. One of the things I loved about him is how he would always make sure Calla is on the same page as him and throughout the book he tells her how much he wants her and complements her. 

I understand that Calla can be a little insecure around people and sometimes even around Jax because of the long scar she has. But thank god Jax is a patient man. He's really different from the other leading male characters in the series. To be honest here, Cam and Jase has some big competition here because Jax is one hot piece of meat and his personality is such a turn on and it has me thinking, why can't most guys be like him?

This book is pretty big compared with the other books but it goes by so fast because I could not stop reading it. Jennifer L. Armentrout gets better and better with every book she writes. I really recommend people to read this book and series. I wonder who's story is next.

ARC provided by the author

Rating:

*Side note: While reading this, I could not stop singing 'Stay with Me' by Sam Smith

Monday, September 15, 2014

Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout Review

Expected Publication Date: October 21, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Format: ARC
Page Count: 446 pages
Source: Author
Series: The Dark Elements #2


Synopsis:

Every touch has its price

Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss. The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could.

But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden. Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what she always wanted, but with hell literally breaking loose and the body count adding up, the price may be higher than Layla is willing to pay…


Review:

Jennifer L. Armentrout did it again and made an AMAZING sequel with just about everything that makes it perfect and a page turner!

I mentioned this before for sure but I will say this again, I have a love-hate relationship with Jennifer. I love how she creates these beautiful complex characters that everyone falls in love with but then she HAS to have something ruin my happiness. It's just WHY CAN'T I JUST BE HAPPY FOR A MOMENT! Now we all have to wait for another year for the last and final book. Ugh, Jennifer DX!!

Layla is still trying to figure out where she belongs with all the chaotic things happening around her. Her adoptive gargoyle family doesn't trust her because of the whole half demon, half gargoyle thing still and the only person who accepted for what she was is gone... or so might she thought.

There is so much I want to say about this book, but can't. I can't give anything away because of obvious reasons but I will say, lots of things happened in this man! Lots of it and drama. Then there's Jennifer who will throw you up mentally and emotionally. This especially happened with the whole Zayne vs Roth ordeal. I mean, now I can see how people are torn between the two of them but I'm still a hardcore fan for one and ONLY ONE of them.

To be honest, whoever she chooses, either way, there will be tears and heartbreak. I actually cried -a lot, maybe half the book. Now that Layla's love life is in our hands I REALLY hope she ends up with my choice. Again, either way, whoever she chooses, either one is a good choice for Layla. So it's basically 50/50.

Remember my last review on the first book where I said, "This ending ran me over, reversed, and crushed me..."? Yeah well this ending punched my face and knocked me out. It's just... THAT. ENDING. THOUGH. I know, it doesn't help or give any hints at what may happen. I guess you all have to go read it for yourselves.

ARC provided by the author

Rating:

Monday, September 1, 2014

Untouchable by Dewayne Haslett Review

Publication Date: September 2, 2014
Publisher: Lulu
Format: ARC
Page Count: 220 pages
Source: Author
Series: Invincible #2


Synopsis:

After everything he’s been through—realizing he is an alien, being thrown into the middle of an intergalactic war, and finding true love—you’d think Troy Connor would at least be happy with his new life. But as it turns out, nothing is going well for him. As new obstacles begin to arise, Troy must decide whether to hold on to his responsibilities as the heroic Lion-Man, or to throw it all away for a normal life.

Review:

Like the last book, it's still very fast paced.

So now Troy is finally sixteen and his adventures continue after the big revelation from Invincible. He is still living with Brad aka his Dad now, and friends with Jack. But what's missing? Taylor. Taylor and Troy are no longer together but maybe that'll change throughout the story, maybe it won't.

What I noticed while reading this, the plot and how it flows is actually pretty simple. Like the structure of it goes in orderly with added details and boom, you have the book. This might probably be the reason why it's such a fast paced book and a quick read -well for me. 

This series gives me a sort of comic book / super hero vibe. Technicality it should give me an intergalactic feel to it due to the fact of what Troy really is but nope. The first thing that would come into my head about this is super heroes.

The ending for this does give you a resolved feeling but there's still some stuff that still lingers and will continue in book three.

Overall I'm happy how this turned out but maybe the characters in the beginning got on my nerves but still. I recommend it!

ARC provided by the author

Rating:

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Outlander TV Show Review

Synopsis (Taken from Starz) *Warning: Synopsis Has Spoilers, Mine Doesn't!*:

Outlander follows the story of Claire Randall, a married combat nurse from 1945 who is mysteriously swept back in time to 1743, where she is immediately thrown into an unknown world where her life is threatened. When she is forced to marry Jamie Fraser, a chivalrous and romantic young Scottish warrior, a passionate relationship is ignited that tears Claire's heart between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives. 

Premiere Date
August 9, 2014
Air Time
Saturdays at 9PM
Genres
Action/Adventure, Adaptation, Drama, Historical, Romance, Sci-Fi
TV-MA
TV Parental Guidelines
Original Channel
Starz
Review:

I was going to write this review at the end of the season but this show is so amazing I just had to write one right away!

For people who don't know anything about this, it follows a 1945 married World War II nurse Claire Beauchamp Randall. During her second honeymoon with her husband, she is transported back to Scotland in 1743. She is kidnapped by a band of Highlanders who take her to the Clan MacKenzie and is unable to escape. Along the way she befriends a sweet, young Scot warrior, Jamie Fraser and she has to adapt to this new life and time.

As of yesterday, there's only been three episodes so far but the first time I watched it, I was immediately hooked. It's hard to sort what type of show this is because there's romance, historical fiction, time travel, adventure, drama, etc. Whatever it is, the plot, acting, and overall show is amazing.

In my opinion, the acting is spot on! I can tell the actors and crew take this very seriously and try to make the characters as real as possible. I was worried though about the accents in the show beforehand but thank goodness the accents wasn't a problem at all and don't even get me started on the Gaelic. Personally I don't know nor understand Gaelic but it sounds authentic to me -especially when Jamie says it I just melt. I mean have you heard him speaking it?! I get chills hearing him say it and I swear it's the most sexiest thing I ever heard, plus he's hot -I mean have you looked at him.

I am currently reading the book and the show sticks to the book very well. Of course there's some little differences but it's still true to the book. I'm very happy that this book turned into a TV show rather than a 2hr long movie. So much happens in the book that 2hrs doesn't fit anything in. With episodes, there could be a few chapters in every episode with more details than a movie and this makes a better adaption of the book.

Outlander does get compared to Game of Thrones a lot but in a way it's totally different. Both come from a popular book series and now turned into a TV show but if you really look at it, its completely different. Game of Thrones is more of a fantasy type thing while Outlander is historical fiction plus time traveling. It's good and bad that's its being compared with each other because Outlander is getting more hype meaning more people would tune in to watch but also bad because of people would have a high expectation of it. And on that note about Game of Thrones, Sam Heughan, the guy who plays Jamie, auditioned for Game of Thrones several times but never got the part. After watching Heughan's amazing acting skills, GoT's loss because damn! Zap2it even named him as this summer's sex symbol and I couldn't agree more!

Recently I've been notified that Ronald D. Moore revealed that actors working on the show have been asked to sign long-term contracts and it could run for 5 years! I was ecstatic about the news and after the pilot, Starz already renewed the show for a second season. This is now on my top three list and this show is going places!

It's still very early for me to rate but so far I will say it's a 9.5/10. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!



Developed by:
Ronald D. Moore

Based on:
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Producers:
David Brown
Matthew B. Roberts

Executive producers:
Andy Harries
Jim Kohlberg
Ronald D. Moore

Cast:

Main

  • Caitriona Balfe as Claire Beauchamp Randall
  • Sam Heughan as Jamie Fraser
  • Tobias Menzies as Frank Randall/Jonathan "Black Jack" Randall
  • Gary Lewis as Colum MacKenzie
  • Graham McTavish as Dougal MacKenzie
  • Lotte Verbeek as Geillis Duncan
  • Duncan Lacroix as Murtagh Fraser
  • Grant O'Rourke as Rupert MacKenzie
  • Stephen Walters as Anghus Mhor

Recurring

  • Annette Badland as Mrs Fitzgibbons
  • Laura Donnelly as Janet Fraser Murray (Jenny)
  • James Fleet as Rev. Dr. Reginald Wakefield
  • AislĂ­n McGuckin as Letitia MacKenzie
  • Roderick Gilkison as Hamish MacKenzie
  • Simon Callow as The Duke of Sandringham
  • Bill Paterson as Ned Gowan
  • Simon Meacock as Hugh Munro

Monday, August 11, 2014

Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson Review

Publication Date: May 6, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Format: E-book
Page Count: 449 pages
Source: Borrowed


Synopsis:

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just...disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night?
Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn?
Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger?
Um...

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane's list. Who knows what she'll find?

Go skinny-dipping?
Wait...what?


Review:

This is a type of contemporary that's great to read for the summer and get's you pumped up!

Sloane and Emily are best friends and without saying a word, Sloane just disappears. It's not like she runs away or something bad happens. Sloane just... left. Emily doesn't know why or where she went but all she left behind was a to-do list for Emily. Emily has to complete these and some things on the list is totally out of her comfort zone. The list as follows:

1. Kiss a stranger.
2. Go skinny-dipping.
3. Steal something.
4. Break something.
5. Penelope.
6. Ride a dern horse, ya cowpoke.
7. 55 S. Ave. Ask for Mona.
8. The backless dress. And somewhere to
wear it.
9. Dance until dawn.
10. Share some secrets in the dark.
11. Hug a Jamie.
12. Apple picking at night.
13. Sleep under the stars.


I kinda want to do some of the things on the list (or make some of my own). Of course, except for steal something, Penelope and 55 S. Ave. Ask for Mona (b/c that's not really real).

I love the style Morgan Matson writes and to just put it out there, she has some good taste in music! The main character and her love interest goes on these runs throughout the book and there would've be the track list of their playlists on the page. Another thing is, her characters are relateable. Personally not to me but I can see other people totally being like "wow, she's like me".

The romance was kind of conflicting for me. Frank has a girlfriend throughout most of the book but she's total M.I.A. I really rooted him and Emily but there was always a voice in the back of my mind and remind me that Frank has a girlfriend who is in college. Plus side was he pushed Emily to do things outside of her comfort zone and supported her. It's just that damn love-triangle-ish thing going on that frustrates me. The situation is just like the "love-triangle-ish" in Anna and the French Kiss.
 
I think there is a mortal to this and mostly this tells the readers to take chances and go for it. It's like my motto Carpe Diem. I really recommend this book if you're looking for a nice contemporary read. Definitely recommend it during or near summer time!  

Rating:

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Tabula Rasa by Kristen Lippert-Martin Review

Expected Publication Date: September 23, 2014
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Format: ARC
Page Count: 352 pages
Source: Publisher

Synopsis:
The Bourne Identity meets Divergent in this action-packed debut thriller with a Katniss-esque heroine fighting to regain her memories and stay alive, set against a dystopian hospital background.

Sarah starts a crazy battle for her life within the walls of her hospital-turned-prison when a procedure to eliminate her memory goes awry and she starts to remember snatches of her past. Was she an urban terrorist or vigilante? Has the procedure been her salvation or her destruction?

The answers lie trapped within her mind. To access them, she'll need the help of the teen computer hacker who's trying to bring the hospital down for his own reasons, and a pill that's blocked by an army of mercenary soldiers poised to eliminate her for good. If only she knew why . . .


Review:

I don't know about  "The Bourne Identity meets Divergent.. with a Katniss-espue" part. I mean, it was definitely fast paced and had lots of action but it wasn't any of those above. 

Basically, tabula rasa is a blank state. Sarah, if that is her name because that's what the people tell her, is in this program at a hospital/prison-like. There she's lucky to have a "second chance at life", but honestly she's there for brain surgery. There's this halo thing that holds her skull while the doctor drills into her skull, injecting substances in her brain to wipe out her memories and turn her into a blank state.

On her last surgery/ the starting point of the story, the power goes off and a mysterious figure shoves pills and a not into her hand. The hospital is being attacked and Sarah escapes.

While running, she runs into a hacker. Technically she punches him in the face first. His name is Thomas and he's with his father to take down Tabula Rasa... only if he knew where his dad is. His dad, 8-Bit us missing and their team doesn't show up.

I loved the romance in this. Thomas was really likeable. He wasn't stupid or a douche. He cared for Sarah and he was really funny at times and I think that what made the book a little less deep into it. What was even better was that the whole book wasn't taken over by the romance.

Like I said before, this book went really fast! I'm pretty sure this is a standalone book and I expected a little more but overall it was still amazing.


ARC provided by Edelweiss and EgmontUSA


Rating:

I Went to San Diego Comic Con! (Update #10)

It's been a while, again. This time I had a very good excuse, I went to freaking comic con! I lived in San Diego for my whole entire life and FINALLY yesterday was the day I went.

To some up everything, it was insane! I went on a Saturday and it was so packed. Especially the trolley.

All day I looked for Smosh Games and it was a partial success. I got to meet Joven and Lasercorn. Unsuccessfully, Wes was no where to be found until I found out that he was at Petco Park with the Borderlands laser thing.

I also met the Fine brothers and iJustine. I did see Scott from Superfruit and Pentatonix and KassemG but I didn't get a picture with them.

For celebrities, I didn't meet any but one. I met Danny ( Keahu Kahuanui) from Teen Wolf. I got his autograph but not a picture. He was really funny! I saw Shailene Woodley and Theo James, Paul Wesley, Orlando Bloom. the cast of American Dad and the actors from Ant-Man.

For books and authors, I met the author Jonathan Maberry who wrote Rot & Ruin and I got his book Patient Zero signed! Plus I got a lot a free books and ARCs. One ARC I'm really proud of was the Bad Magic book by P.B. The guy at the booth was so nice enough to give me a copy and he was really cool too. Sadly he wouldn't tell me the author's real name! Damn it, so close!

And lets not forget what I had to deal with all day yesterday, free shit. The people at comic con will literally give you a giant bag and almost every booth, there will be free stuff. I mostly got pins, books, some comics, and these bookmark / postcard things. It was so heavy, I'm still sore.
The best thing after comic con though was to finally sleep. I was so tired and I'm still tired, plus I have school tomorrow.  

My first comic con was a success and I now have more knowledge, like to remember to bring a freaking charger, not even afternoon yet, my phone was dead. I'm probably going to go to comic con again next year and HOPEFULLY Wes will be there.

A book review will be up very soon, I promise.

Jessie x

Saturday, July 12, 2014

BOOKTUBE-A-THON READS | 2014

Next week is Booktube-A-Thon and last year was a total bust for me. I failed so bad and I probably only read like two books then quit. BUT NOT THIS YEAR... hopefully. There's more info where Ariel Bissett gives you all the info --> http://youtube.com/booktubeathon

The Reading Challenges:
  1. A book with pictures.
  2. Start and finish a series.
  3. A book with red on the cover.
  4. A book someone else picks out for you.
  5. A book from the genre you've read the least this year.
  6. A book to movie adaptation
  7. Read seven books.
My TBR:

Even though I already read Clockwork Prince, this is the manga version so it has pictures in it. Since I haven't done any TID reviews I'll use this to review the original CP.








I am terrible at starting and finishing books. So I'm pulling a Christine here. It's like a start of a novella series/collection and ends with it.. yeah I'm not making sense. Basically watch her video and I'm just gonna pull a Christine.








This has the color red and I already read this but I'm up to rereading it again.










My bestest friend Arianna choose this book for me. She says it's because of the cover.









 



Last year, half if not most of the books I read was New Adult and this year I only read like one. I love Jennifer Armentrout's books and I'm really excited for Jase's story.














I already started it like a week ago but stopped and this is going to be a movie, so why not pick it up? But when Ariel said to read it and then watch it, I wasn't so sure anymore because this doesn't come out yet. So I might read The Great Gatsby, The Perks, Silver Linings, or something like that.













Okay, so reading 7 books AND reading books for the challenges above for a week can be intimidating. So I'll try to read these (most are ARCs I got a few months back) :