Sunday, February 16, 2014

A Million Suns by Beth Revis Review

Publication Date: January 10, 2012
Publisher: Razorbill

Format: E-book
Page Count: 386 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Across the Universe #2


Synopsis:

Godspeed was once fueled by lies. Now it is ruled by chaos.

It’s been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. Everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed.

But there may be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He's finally free to act on his vision—no more Phydus, no more lies.

But when Elder learns shocking news about the ship, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a mystery that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier. Their success—or failure—will determine the fate of the 2,298 passengers aboard Godspeed. But with each step, the journey becomes more perilous, the ship more chaotic, and the love between them more impossible to fight.

Beth Revis catapulted readers into the far reaches of space with her New York Times bestselling debut, Across the Universe. In A Million Suns, Beth deepens the mystery with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: They have to get off this ship.


Review:

I don't know what happened. I liked the first book but know, I feel this was very bland to me. Also, by very bland, I mean the action and the characters. 

When I read a book like this, I have very high expectation. The characters lack in depth and emotionally. Some points they were alright and then they got really annoying. 

This seems a negative review but it's my opinion and many others actually loved it. It was my expectations that took up most of my enjoyment. 

Rating:

Saturday, February 15, 2014

Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins Review

Expected Publication Date: April 29, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: ARC
Page Count: 464 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: Sweet Evil #3


Synopsis:

It’s time.

Evil is running rampant and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppressive ways.

The stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.

In the most sensual and fast-paced installment yet, Sweet Reckoning brings all the beloved Neph together one last time to fight for their freedom.


Review:

Never in my life would I expect to have an ARC of this. I am very fortunate and thank you HarperTeen and Edlweiss! 

It's very bittersweet. I absolutely love this series to pieces and love every single character. It's sad to let them go after three books. 

To Wendy, thank you so much for this series! This was an action-packed, emotional, and just amazing ending to an amazing series. It had everything a final book should had. To be honest, I don't think I will get over the fact that this ended but it will always be in my heart. 

It did leave me off wanting more but the ending did gave me a feeling of completion. 

There was swoon worthy moments and a moment that made my heart just melt.
 

I still have a bunch of questions even though it tied up nice in the end. I just hope Wendy could write a follow up epilogue of it even though the book already has an epilogue. I just want to see more of Kaiden. 

Overall, this was a beautiful and bittersweet conclusion. Can't wait to see what Wendy Higgins will write next.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and HarperTeen


Rating:

Sunday, February 9, 2014

Emerald Green by Kerstin Gier Review

Publication Date: October 8, 2013
Publisher: Henry Holt
Format: E-Book
Page Count: 464 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Ruby Red Trilogy #3


Synopsis:

Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is.

She’s only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she’s just learned that her charming time-traveling partner, Gideon, has probably been using her all along.

This stunning conclusion picks up where Sapphire Blue left off, reaching new heights of intrigue and romance as Gwen finally uncovers the secrets of the time-traveling society and learns her fate.


Review:

SO HAPPY WITH THE ENDING!

I would never expected the last half of the book to be like with with the turns. And the middle where Gwyneth's aorta... LITERALLY DIED AT THAT POINT! And with Gideon!!! HOLY SNAPS! AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING! 


Fangirling aside, this is the best ending I hoped for. This was an amazing conclusion to the whole series. 

Almost all questions where answered and the fates of the characters where revealed. I am sad to see this series go but I am so VERY HAPPY with it. 

Gwen and Gideon faced so much drama and obstacles with together and with each other but it played out really well. 

The ending for me was bittersweet but I wouldn't change anything to it if I had the chance to. 

For people who haven't read this series yet, please go pick it up! This is an amazing series and I really hope to read more of Kerstin Gier's work. 

Rating:

Saturday, February 1, 2014

Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier Review

Publication Date: October 30, 2012
Publisher: Henry Holt
Format: E-Book
Page Count: 362 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Ruby Red Trilogy #2


Synopsis:

Gwen’s life has been a rollercoaster since she discovered she was the Ruby, the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. In between searching through history for the other time-travelers and asking for a bit of their blood (gross!), she’s been trying to figure out what all the mysteries and prophecies surrounding the Circle really mean.

At least Gwen has plenty of help. Her best friend Lesley follows every lead diligently on the Internet. James the ghost teaches Gwen how to fit in at an eighteenth century party. And Xemerius, the gargoyle demon who has been following Gwen since he caught her kissing Gideon in a church, offers advice on everything. Oh, yes. And of course there is Gideon, the Diamond. One minute he’s very warm indeed; the next he’s freezing cold. Gwen’s not sure what’s going on there, but she’s pretty much destined to find out.

Review:

Drama. One word to describe this is drama. Well mostly drama for Gideon and Gwen.

This left off right after Ruby Red. After Gwen finds out she's the Ruby and not her cousin Charlotte, her life has been hell. She and Gideon has to go back in time to ask other time travelers for their blood and Gwen doesn't even know why or why she's risking her life for the Circle.

The romance is off and on. Sometimes Gideon could be sweet as ever and then the next day, he would give Gwen the cold shoulder. I didn't understand what was happening and then in the end, I wanted to slap him for what he said.

I really loved this sequel but I have so many questions.

Rating:

Across the Universe by Beth Revis Review

Publication Date: January 11, 2011
Publisher: Razorbill

Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 398 pages
Source: Library
Series: Across the Universe #1


Synopsis:

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone - one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship - tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn't do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there's only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.


Review:

Across the Universe is my favorite of this series. It's told in dual point of views, Amy and Elder. Amy is a regular earth girl and Elder is from Godspeed. 

Can I just say, I would never in my life would go onto Godspeed. The people there are these people who have 'perfect genes'. And then there's this mating season thing. Yeah, this ship is batshit crazy. 

Amy is suppose to be frozen but something happened and she has no idea why or how did it.

The setting is definitely a sci-fi feel to it. This does take place in a space ship and it was really cool to see how people react in this environment where there's no escape.  


Rating: