Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Gods of Olympus Tag

original tag created by: http://youtu.be/2ULoYrgGnkY & http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKzzdM...

The questions:

1. Zeus: Name your favourite fictional leader, good or bad?
2. Hera: Who are your favourite fictional parents?
3. Demeter: What fictional food would you like to try?
4. Poseidon: Name a book where water is central, either in setting or plot.
5. Dionysus: Which character would you most like to have a party with?
6. Apollo: Either, name a great debut book (so an author's first published work) or Name a first book in a series you really enjoyed.
7. Artemis:'Of all the Greek goddesses, she was the most self-sufficient, living life on her own terms, comfortable both in solitude and in holding the reins of leadership.'* Who is your favourite female heroine?
8. Athena: Name a character who is wise.
9. Hermes: If you could travel to any fictional setting (real world or fantasy) where would you go?
10. Hephaestus: If you could have any fictional tool made (for example a weapon or a gadget), what would you want?
11. Ares: What is your favourite fictional battle?
12. Aphrodite: What is your ultimate ship (the characters do not have to be from the same book)?
13. Hades: If you could petition Hades to bring any fictional character back from the dead who would you choose?
14. Final question(s): If you could be a God/ Goddess of anything what would you want to be and what do you think would fit your personality? These do not have to be the same.

1. I'm gonna go rouge on this one and say Liam from The Darkest Minds. He's extremely loyal and a very good leader. I just love him.

2. Many dead or crappy parents in the YA word. I can't really think of one.

3. BUTTERBEER!

4.Catching Fire's arena is surrounded by water.Watersong series is about mermaids and they need water.

5. Magnus seems to throw really great parties.

6. Divergent was a really great debut novel

7. Celaena from Throne of Glass

8. Dumbledore. Nuff said.

9. I would go to the Shadowhunting world.

10. I would want a wand

11. Fictional battle? The Harry Potter one was amazing.

12. WILL, JEM, AND TESSA! You cannot ship one of them without shipping the other. This love triangle break my heart into million of pieces. Then there's  me with Jem, Kayden, Will, Jace, Liam, etc.

13. SPOILERS TO CLOCKWORK PRINCESS AND THE EVOLUTION OF MARA DYER!!!!! To see this left click and highlight the words ---> Will and Noah

14. I would LOVE to be the goddess of the elements!! The one that would probably fit my personality would be goddess of anxiety, stress, or dramatic.

Antigoddess by Kendare Blake Review

Publication Date: September 10, 2013
Publisher: Tor Teen
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 342 pages
Source: Publisher
Series: Goddess War #1


Synopsis:

Old Gods never die…

Or so Athena thought. But then the feathers started sprouting beneath her skin, invading her lungs like a strange cancer, and Hermes showed up with a fever eating away his flesh. So much for living a quiet eternity in perpetual health.

Desperately seeking the cause of their slow, miserable deaths, Athena and Hermes travel the world, gathering allies and discovering enemies both new and old. Their search leads them to Cassandra—an ordinary girl who was once an extraordinary prophetess, protected and loved by a god.

These days, Cassandra doesn’t involve herself in the business of gods—in fact, she doesn’t even know they exist. But she could be the key in a war that is only just beginning.

Because Hera, the queen of the gods, has aligned herself with other of the ancient Olympians, who are killing off rivals in an attempt to prolong their own lives. But these anti-gods have become corrupted in their desperation to survive, horrific caricatures of their former glory. Athena will need every advantage she can get, because immortals don’t just flicker out.

Every one of them dies in their own way. Some choke on feathers. Others become monsters. All of them rage against their last breath.

The Goddess War is about to begin.


Review:

This book is decent. Not mind blowing but not bad either.I think what really got me was the ending and that's pretty much it.

The mythology was mostly centered around Athena and Hermes. It's original so it's not about the real myth of the gods. Her version of gods are very modern. There's no such thing as Olympus anymore and they roam around the earth with us. It's like saying Poseidon walked past you a minute ago.

I guess that my biggest complaint is that so much time was spent on the character’s histories that nothing really happened.


I was really excited to read this because of the synopsis but some people like me felt a little disappointed.


Rating:

Monday, March 24, 2014

Panic by Lauren Oliver Review

Publication Date: March 4, 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Format: ARC
Page Count: 408 pages
Source: Publisher


Synopsis:

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.

Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn't know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.


Review:

I just guess Lauren Oliver books aren't just for me. 

Panic takes place in the summer of Carp. I say this is definitely 100% not dystopian/utopian but a contemporary. So just imagine you in your high school years and seniors are doing Panic. Panic is tradition that started 7 years ago. Everyday of the school year, students have to give a dollar. Basically it's like a bully taking your lunch money everyday for the rest of the year. With all that money gathered, if you win Panic, you will all the money.

Only seniors get to participate and it's basically challenges. These are dangerous and very much illegal but t these students are willing to do anything for $67,000. To sum up Panic, its a game of fears. You can legit die from them or get seriously hurt. 

It's told in two different point of views and just like Oliver's other books, it didn't grasp me very well. It was mostly her writing style. I am not use to it and I don't really like poetic novels that much. The ending was rushed and I really wanted to see more if it was stretched a little longer and we won't get a second book since this is a stand-a-lone.  
  
ARC provided by Edelweiss and HarperTeen

Rating:

Sunday, March 23, 2014

White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout Review

Publication Date: February 25, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 400 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Dark Elements #1


Synopsis:

One kiss could be the last

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.


Review:

The first book in her newest series, Jennifer L. Armentrout did it again with her amazing story telling and characters!

Before reading this, I was really wary about since It's very different from Lux, but it has that same addictive quality. I never read anything like this before. To sum it up in three words, gargoyles, demons, and hot! 

The main character, Layla, is half demon and half gargoyle. She is raised by these people called Wardens who are gargoyles that hunt demons. She tries to fit in there but whatever she does and doesn't do, people are afraid of her because of her demon side even though she doesn't cause any harm.

Then comes my in my ship. Roth is a tattooed, hot demon prince who is the only one that understands Layla. He accepts her for who she is -even she's half gargoyle. It was nice to see their relationship because when everyone shuts her out and lies to her, Roth doesn't and he cares about her! I can't stress how much I love him.

It's partly a love triangle. There's Zayne and Roth. Of course I stand by Roth with this one but Layla sometimes frustrates me about how she likes Zayne in the beginning. It's like come on! You can't have him anyways and his family disapproves of you. CAN YOU NOT SEE WHAT IS IN FRONT OF YOU! AND DON'T GET ME STARTED ABOUT THAT ENDING!

This ending ran me over, reversed, and crushed me. That's how bad it felt. I cried all night and thinking what the hell was wrong with Layla and it's just one of the most sweetest things ever! It made me love that character even more! That one line in the end undone me forever! And now I am dreading for the sequel.

Very different from Lux, but still very good. Don't like the decisions that Layla make sometimes and her relationship with Zayne but loved this book!

Rating:

Friday, March 21, 2014

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani Review

Publication Date: June 4, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 488 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The School for Good and Evil #1


Synopsis:

The first kidnappings happened two hundred years before. Some years it was two boys taken, some years two girls, sometimes one of each. But if at first the choices seemed random, soon the pattern became clear. One was always beautiful and good, the child every parent wanted as their own. The other was homely and odd, an outcast from birth. An opposing pair, plucked from youth and spirited away.

This year, best friends Sophie and Agatha are about to discover where all the lost children go: the fabled School for Good & Evil, where ordinary boys and girls are trained to be fairy tale heroes and villains. As the most beautiful girl in Gavaldon, Sophie has dreamed of being kidnapped into an enchanted world her whole life. With her pink dresses, glass slippers, and devotion to good deeds, she knows she’ll earn top marks at the School for Good and graduate a storybook princess. Meanwhile Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks, wicked pet cat, and dislike of nearly everyone, seems a natural fit for the School for Evil.

But when the two girls are swept into the Endless Woods, they find their fortunes reversed—Sophie’s dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School For Good, thrust amongst handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.. But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are…?

The School for Good & Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one.


Review:

Two girls are taken by the headmaster to the schools of the good and evil. Many thought that Agatha would go to the school of the evil and Sophia to the good based on how they are. But the roles are reversed. 

The way the author moved the plot along was absolutely amazing. Her writing style, the way she developed the characters through out the story was also amazing. 

For the rating, I'm only giving this a 3.5 stars because of the ending. I did not like the ending very well. In my opinion, she could've stretched it out and do a little better with it because of how good the beginning and middle was written. It basically was going in one way and taking an unwanted turn somewhere else and I just thought it needed a little work.

For the sequel, I do have an ARC of it (thanks to Harper Collins and Teen), I will read it and have the review by next month or so. 

                                                                       Rating:

100 Questions That No One Asks Tag!

QUESTIONS:

1:Do you sleep with your closet doors open or closed?
Closed
2:Do you take the shampoos and conditioner bottles from hotel?
Yes .-.
3:Do you sleep with your sheets tucked in or out?
Out
4:Have you ever stolen a street sign before?
No
5:Do you like to use post-it notes?
CHES!
6:Do you cut out coupons but then never use them?
Yeah for Barnes and Nobles
7:Would you rather be attacked by a big bear or a swarm of a bees?
Well a big bear could tear my limbs off but I could like distract it or something.
8:Do you have freckles?
No. I do have a lot of moles/beauty marks of my face, arms, and body basically.
9:Do you always smile for pictures?
Yeah. That's what it's mostly for duh.
10:What is your biggest pet peeve?
When my mom eats. It's just eh!!
11:Do you ever count your steps when you walk?
No.
12:Have you ever peed in the woods?
No.
13:What about pooped in the woods?
No.
14:Do you ever dance even if theres no music playing?
Yeah, a lot actually xD
15:Do you chew your pens and pencils?
Pens sometimes but pencils no
16:How many people have you slept with this week?
None
17:What size is your bed?
LE QUEEN / and twin (It's a long story)
18:What is your Song of the week?
BRSK by MS MR has been on repeat
19:Is it okay for guys to wear pink?
Of course! Nothing is wrong with that
20:Do you still watch cartoons?
Uhh yeah!
21:Whats your least favorite movie?
I don't have a particular least favourite movie but genre wise, its horror! I CANNOT SEE THOSE MOVIES! I will get scared and anxiety attacks at night.
22:Where would you bury hidden treasure if you had some?
Under the Sea. Or some abandon or ugly area that no one goes to and bury it there.
23:What do you drink with dinner?
Water?
24:What do you dip a chicken nugget in?
Ranch
25:What is your favorite food?
...food
26:What movies could you watch over and over and still love?
Pitch Perfect! LOVE THAT MOVIE!
27:Last person you kissed/kissed you?
Jesus (friend in high school) kissed my forehead a few months ago.
28:Were you ever a boy/girl scout?
No
29:Would you ever strip or pose nude in a magazine?
No
30:When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone on paper?
Last month for an English assignment
31:Can you change the oil on a car?
NOPE!
32:Ever gotten a speeding ticket?
PSH NO! I'm a good citizen
33:Ever ran out of gas?
No
34:Favorite kind of sandwich?
Italian bread with chicken, turkey, bacon, and bunch of vegetables + peppers
35:Best thing to eat for breakfast?
Tea or coffee with a fudge chocolate chip waffle or bagel
36:What is your usual bedtime?
It varies. Around 10pm-2am range.
37:Are you lazy?
Yes. I use voice talk to text messages for me and a ruler to reach for closing a door or turning the lights on/off.
38:When you were a kid, what did you dress up as for Halloween?
I don't do Halloween but Barney (I still have a picture when I was 4 of this)
39:What is your Chinese astrological sign?
Rabbit
40:How many languages can you speak?
3 (English, Chinese (Cantonese), and French)
41:Do you have any magazine subscriptions?
A free subscription of InStyle
42:Which are better legos or lincoln logs?
Legos
43:Are you stubborn?
Very
44:Who is better...Leno or Letterman?
 Neither. I'm more of Ellen, Conan, and Jimmy Fallon
45:Ever watch soap operas?
No
46:Are you afraid of heights?
No. I'm more afraid of falling.
47:Do you sing in the car?
Yes
48:Do you sing in the shower?
No. I PERFORM! (just kidding. No I don't really)
49:Do you dance in the car?
Eh, kinda
50:Ever used a gun?
No
51:Last time you got a portrait taken by a photographer?
Last month 
52:Do you think musicals are cheesy?
Kinda
53:Is Christmas stressful?
Yes. No parking is the worst and the malls.
54:Ever eat a pierogi?
Yes
55:Favorite type of fruit pie?
Apple
56:Occupations you wanted to be when you were a kid?
Dentist, doctor, nurse. Now I'm planing to go into forensic science, business, finance, or medicine.
57:Do you believe in ghosts?
...I don't know
58:Ever have a Deja-vu feeling?
When don't I?
59:Take a vitamin daily?
When I was little 
60:Wear slippers?
Only in Winters
61:Wear a bath robe?
Yeah
62:What do you wear to bed?
Sweats 
63:First concert?
Does my Orchestra Concert count?
64:Wal-Mart, Target or Kmart?
Target
65:Nike or Adidas?
Adidas
66:Cheetos Or Fritos?
Cheetos
67:Peanuts or Sunflower seeds?
None
68:Ever hear of the group Tres Bien?
I know it means very good in French and a clothing line but a band no.. I might check it out
69:Ever take dance lessons?
First grade and second
70:Is there a profession you picture your future spouse doing?
Wishing a CEO of something. I don't know really. Maybe an architect or businessman. Just praying if it's one of those three or something with a suit! (Just kidding... about the suit. The options I'm not kidding)
71:Can you curl your tongue?
Yes
72:Ever won a spelling bee?
PSH NO! Autocorrect is my best friend. 
73:Have you ever cried because you were so happy?
Yes
74:Own any record albums?
Surprisingly no but I do want
75:Own a record player?
No
76:Regularly burn incense?
Do candles count?
77:Ever been in love?
No
78:Who would you like to see in concert?
Two Door Cinema Club! LOVE them
79:What was the last concert you saw?
:'( 
80:Hot tea or cold tea?
Hot 
81:Tea or coffee?
Both
82:Sugar or snickerdoodles?
Snicker doodles
83:Can you swim well?
 Sure
84:Can you hold your breath without holding your nose?
Yes but not a very long time
85:Are you patient?
No
86:DJ or band, at a wedding?
I'm not even there yet
87:Ever won a contest?
Yes
88:Ever have plastic surgery?
No
89:Which are better black or green olives?
Hate olives
90:Can you knit or crochet?
I can knit but not crochet. 
91:Best room for a fireplace?
Bedroom or library
92:Do you want to get married?
Yeah, of course
93:If married, how long have you been married?
Not married 
94:Who was your HS crush?
As of right now this junior and senior. No freshmen or sophomores.
95:Do you cry and throw a fit until you get your own way?
When I was little
96:Do you have kids?
No. I'm in high school
97:Do you want kids?
Yeah in the future
98:Whats your favorite color?
Dark Blue (Like that song)
99:Do you miss anyone right now?
One of my friend that moved during sophomore year
100:Something that happened to you in middle school.
I went to the science fair and won 1st place. .-. not very exciting.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis Review

Publication Date: January 15, 2013
Publisher: Razorbill

Format: E-book
Page Count: 369 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: Across the Universe #3


Synopsis:

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh--to build a home--on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed's former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who--or what--else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed--friends, family, life on Earth--will have been for nothing.

FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.


Review:

Let me start off with the covers. WHAT IS THIS! Why the heck would you change the covers?!! LOOK AT THESE COVERS: 


BEAUTIFUL! WHY IN THE WORLD WOULD YOU CHANGE THEM?!!
*sighs*


Now with that over, I overall didn't like the series. I wanted to finish it just to see what happens and how will everything turn out. I did like the first book though. 


With that, the series wasn't my favorite but the ending to it was 'frexing' amazing.


Rating:

Sunday, March 9, 2014

Camp NaNoWriMo April 2014

Even though NaNoWriMo isn't until November, I will be participating CAMP NaNoWriMo with the months of Apirl and July. As of today, for the month of April, it starts in 22 days.

I'm planing it out, but I just don't know about the synopsis. I definitely know how it'll end and it will be brutal because I do hope for a trilogy or a duoligy. I wanted to write this for about two years now but never got an insiration and I just had a major writers block. So hopefully I can do this challenge.

For the people who don't know what's Camp NaNoWriMo and regular NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo means National Novel Writing Month. During NaNoWriMo, you write 50,000 words in the 30 days of November. This is more of a novel kind of thing. Camp NaNoWriMo is kinda the same but sessions are in both April and July, and we welcome word-count goals between 10,000 and 1,000,000. In addition, writers may attempt non-novel projects. Camp is a creative retreat for whatever you’re working on.

So that's where my months will be dedicated on. I will still be reading books and writing reviews but April is also my study month since I have AP and exams in May. So hopefully I can complete this challenge.


Friday, March 7, 2014

ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE Book Tag

Original: https://www.youtube.com/user/nathanhale96?feature=watch

What to do: I have 5 books picked at random. Each book will answer two questions. The first name I see when I flip through the book without looking will be in that team.
The five books that I picked at random will go in this order: City of Lost Souls, Obsidian, Sweet Evil, Darkest Minds, and Vampire Academy.

 Your Zombie Team
  1. The first person to die: Clary (Okay I kinda agree with that just because it's Clary.)
  2. The person you trip to get away from the zombies: Jace (He can go defend himself. I mean he's a Shadowhunter, he'll live.)
  3. The first person to turn into a zombie: Katy's mom (Well she is human and can't really defend herself so I guess that makes sense.)
  4. The person that trips YOU to get away from the zombies: Dee (Rude. I expect more from Daemon but Dee?!)
  5. The idiot of the team: Anna (PSH! Anna would freak out and start crying if this happened)
  6. The "brains" of the team: Kaiden (If by brains, is it sex? Because all this boy is capable to do is swoon girls and break their hearts. Kopano however...)
  7. The team's medic: Clancy (F NO! I do not trust him to be a medic. NOPE!)
  8. The weapons expert: Chubs (Yeah, no.)
  9. The brawler: Alberta (Yeah, I kinda see it but more Rose)
  10. The Team Captain: Lissa (Great. (Sarcasm) )