Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins Review

Publication Date: December 2, 2010
Publisher: Speak
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 372 pages
Source: Bought
Series: Anna and the French Kiss #1

Synopsis:

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris--until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all...including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?


Review:

I loved reading this book! It's a great summer read and an amazing debut, contemporary novel. 

It took me so long to finally pick this book up. I think the reason why is because I don't usually read contemporary and the original covers was huge major turn off. But I am in love with these new covers. It looks hipster and they make my bookshelf really pretty.

Pretty much everyone read the book already so long story short, Anna is American and goes to a boarding school in Paris. There she meets new friends, explore the French culture, and fall in love.

I loved the characters. Anna is just so likeable and I could relate to her on some stuff. She's just the sweetest. Étienne St. Clair is amazing too. He was born in America, raised in U.K. and goes to school in Paris. I wouldn't say he's a major flirt but he is very charming and good looking and many girls have crushes on him.

I did love the characters but not all of them. There was some of them that was so melodramatic about things and it bothered me. BUT for the most part, they own up on what they did and apologize. 

What I love about Stephanie Perkins' writing is that it so relatable and real. I knew I would like this book right on the first page because what she wrote, I could relate to that and it's so me. Another thing is I liked the dialog. It wasn't sugar coated but it felt so real. It felt like this should really happen in real life. Like the conversations the characters where having, I could picture it. Plus, it was really funny. Anna is an amazing person.

The relationship with Anna and Étienne was so cute and to top it off, they are in Paris, the city of love. Their relationship felt like a real life relationship. They had ups and downs and problems but they figure something out. I don't know if this is really necessary but, when I went in this book, I expected the main love interests single. Étienne wasn't. He had a girlfriend but their relationship was rocky but the reader can tell he doesn't even care for his girlfriend but instead care for Anna more. 

Don't let the covers and the title make your derision to read this. As cheesy and it sounds, this book is extremely well written and it's an amazing love story.

Rating:

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart Review

Publication Date: May 13, 2014
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Format: E-book
Page Count: 240 pages
Source: Borrowed


Synopsis:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.


Review: 

I read this for Booksplosion but before I even opened the page, there was a lot of mixed reviews. It was either you didn't like it or you liked it. It held a very high rating on Goodreads but as of right now, I don't agree with it.

It's worth reading even though I rated this a 2.5 stars. This book was strange. I don't know if I meant by a good strange or bad strange. I'll just say both. For one thing it's a first person narrator and it's unreliable. The main character has amnesia and I was so confused on what was happening and what was going on. Even the she didn't know what was happening and if she did, it was blurry. Most of the things I wanted to know about, it didn't had any explanation.

To be honest, you're better off not knowing what happens in this book and the details. Nothing makes sense. This book has almost no plot and it's flat. The writing is weird like snippets of sentences and fragments.


For the ending, yes it was tragic and some people cried for days but as for me, I was more annoyed and confused than sad and crying. I did not cry in the end but instead, I just sat there and didn't know how my brain would digest it. I came to the conclusion that this book was actually told by a liar and if this was in real life; Mess. Girl, get your life together.

Rating:

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare Review (In GIFs)

Publication Date: May 27, 2014
Publisher:
Margaret K. McElderry
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 733 pages
Source: Bought
Series: The Mortal Instruments #6


Synopsis:

ΕRCHOMAI, SEBASTIAN HAD SAID.

I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance?


Review:
 
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!! SO GOOD AND I AM SO FREAKING HAPPY!! I LOVE THE ENDING! IT WRAPPED THE WHOLE SERIES TOGETHER AND IT'S AMAZING!! SAD TMI ENDED BUT SUCH AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!! SORRY FOR CAPS, I'M REAL HAPPY HOW THE ENDING TURNED OUT EVEN THOUGH IT WAS STILL KINDA SAD!! DIDN'T EXPECT A LOT OF STUFF TO HAPPEN IN THE EPILOGUE AND ENDING AND SUCH!

Beginning reaction:

description


Almost middle reaction:

description
description

Middle reaction:
description
description
description
description

Near ending:
description
description

At 87% reaction:

description

Ending:
description
description
description
description

Aftermath:
description
description
description



Rating:

Sunday, May 25, 2014

Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken Review

Publication Date: October 15, 2013
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Format: E-book
Page Count: 507 pages
Source: Borrowed
Series: The Darkest Minds #2


Synopsis:

Ruby never asked for the abilities that almost cost her her life. Now she must call upon them on a daily basis, leading dangerous missions to bring down a corrupt government and breaking into the minds of her enemies. Other kids in the Children’s League call Ruby “Leader”, but she knows what she really is: a monster.

When Ruby is entrusted with an explosive secret, she must embark on her most dangerous mission yet: leaving the Children’s League behind. Crucial information about the disease that killed most of America’s children—and turned Ruby and the others who lived into feared and hated outcasts—has survived every attempt to destroy it. But the truth is only saved in one place: a flashdrive in the hands of Liam Stewart, the boy Ruby once believed was her future—and who now wouldn’t recognize her.

As Ruby sets out across a desperate, lawless country to find Liam—and answers about the catastrophe that has ripped both her life and America apart—she is torn between old friends and the promise she made to serve the League. Ruby will do anything to protect the people she loves. But what if winning the war means losing herself?


Review:
 
SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST BOOK OTHERWISE SPOILER FREE 


The ending of the first book was a major cliffhanger. After Ruby erased memories of her from Liam, I did not know what to expect in this because Liam and Ruby paths cross again and I didn't know how it would turn out. I just couldn't wait to see how all the characters turned out. 

I find this series so hard to write about just because so much happens and everything that happened was so extreme and epic that no spoilers should be ever on the internet.

The plot in this was so good but what got me more was the character development. Maybe I still haven't forgiven Ruby on what happened in TDM, but I liked the characters even more.

Now for Liam
. This boy just kills me. I love him so much and he's just the sweetest. Nobody understands my affections for him unless someone read the book or you're Jackie (hey girl hey if you're reading this). I don't consider Liam as a "bad boy" because he's so freaking sweet and nice and caring and loyal and all the nicest traits ever! I could tell he really love Ruby and even after he has no memories of her because SHE WILL ALWAYS BE IN HIS HEART!!! HIS HEART REMEMBERS HER!! It was really heartbreaking when they have conversations with each other and Liam having no clue whatsoever.


And don't even get me started on the ending. All I can say is, WHAT THE ACTUAL HELL ALEXANDRA BRACKEN?!!!! WHY THE HELL WOULD YOU DO THIS TO ME AND I HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE THIRD BOOK THAT DOESN'T EVEN COME OUT SOON!! THE ENDING OMFG! I CAN'T EVEN!!



Rating:

See Me by Wendy Higgins Review

Publication Date: March 17, 2014
Publisher: Self Published
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 314 pages
Source: Bought


Synopsis:

While most seventeen-year-old American girls would refuse to let their parents marry them off to a stranger, Robyn Mason dreams of the mysterious McKale in Ireland, wondering how he’ll look and imagining his cute Irish accent. Prearranged bindings are common for magical families like her own, however when she travels to the whimsical Emerald Isle she discovers there’s more to her betrothal and McKale’s clan than she was led to believe.

What starts as an obligatory pairing between Robyn and McKale morphs over time into something they both need. But one giant obstacle stands in the way of their budding romance: a seductive and deadly Fae princess accustomed to getting what she wants—and what she wants is McKale as her plaything. Love, desire, and jealousies collide as Robyn’s family and McKale’s clan must work together to outsmart the powerful Faeries and preserve the only hope left for their people.


Review:

This was very different from the other books Wendy Higgins wrote. For one thing, it's about faeries and has leprechauns. 

It was good but sometimes I would just get confused and what was happening. Mostly my brain would not grasp with some of the story and  then halfway I would forget what happened that cause this to happen.

The main character is a 17 year old named Robyn who is betrothed to McKale (who by the way is like 50 but looks young) who has a clan living in Ireland. She was betrothed to him when she was 6 and now that she'd turning 18, people are expecting her to marry him. So apparently Robyn is 5'11" and McKale is a giant leprechaun in his world. In my opinion, I think everyone is a giant because I'm 5'3" so McKale, stop complaining and deal with it.

What Robyn didn't expect was a faerie princess wanting McKale and this isn't like a ditzy loving one. Khalistah is a total jealous bitch that gets in the way with everything. I pictured her as Khaleesi/Daenerys Targaryen from Game of Thrones.

The relationship with Robyn and McKale at first was rocky. This is mostly because they didn't know each other and is being forced to marry each other and then the bitch faerie being up on McKale'e face. Throughout the whole book though, they try to make it work.

Don't even get me started with the setting. I'm so very confused if it's a modern day thing or another world timeline. If it was in the book, I don't remember. 

Overall, I do recommend this book. The beginning can get a little confusing or its slow but give it a few chapters.

Rating:

Friday, May 16, 2014

Don't Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout Review

Publication Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Format: Hardcover
Page Count: 369 pages
Source: Bought


Synopsis:

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took "mean girl" to a whole new level, and it's clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She's getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she's falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of Sam's memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?


Review:

This gave me such a Pretty Little Liars feel to it. It's not like any other Jennifer L. Armentrout books I ever read before and it felt refreshing to see her write out of her usual books.

Out of the bat, it starts out Sam not remembering anything. She doesn't know who she is or have any memories from her life. Samantha Jo Franco and Cassie Winchester were best friends for years. It wasn't a good friendship, but they always stuck together no matter what. Suddenly, one night everything changed. Sam and Cassie disappear and days later, only Samantha is found alive, bruised and battered along the side of the road.

Throughout the story, she gets bits and pieces from of the night that it all happened. She remembers rocks, blood, and Cassie. Sam's sure that there was someone else there with them that night on the cliff, but the third person remains a mystery until the end. And the notes that she keeps finding makes her feel a large gap is in her head.


I liked Sam. If it started before the accident and when she was a total bitch, my opinions would change about her. Before the accident, she was a queen bee aside Cassie. She was a total bitch, a bully, and everybody feared her. Now when she loses her memories, she a whole new person. She has a second chance to make everything better about herself, but some people aren't so forgiving or believes she's truly sorry. She wasn't annoying or needy which was good, instead she was just a confused teen who's life is turned upside down. 

In the beginning, I was kind of wary of Carson. Before, Sam treated him like trash but when they were little, they were childhood friends -best friends actually. I didn't understand what actually happened between them until the middle but to put it in a simpler way, they drifted apart. At first, he gives Sam the cold shoulder but when he realizes that the Sam is like his old Sam when they were a child is back, their friendship rekindles and goes beyond. Him and her brother Scott, try to help her in every way can.

I really enjoyed reading this, especially the ending. I had so much people on my suspects list, I didn't know who to point the fingers to. When the mysterious third person was revealed, I was shocked and I couldn't believe I didn't see it sooner.



Rating:

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

It's offical, I'm back! (Update #9)

Yesterday was the last and final day of my AP course! A year full of tiredness, stressing, and headaches. I'm still stressing until July because I really want to know what my scores are. Hopefully I passed the exam. In my opinion, I say FRQ was easier than multiple choice. On the practice exam I got a 3 but hopefully I got a 5 or a 4 on the real exam.

Now that AP is done, my finals are coming up. Great. it's starting I think either the end of May or the beginning of June since school ends on the 6th of June. Any ways, when that's over, I can start marathon reading again and posting reviews like last year.

I'm putting down Wattpad and starting to read a physical book again (thanks to Jennifer L. Armentrouts new book). I bought more books, got more ARCs, and have more time.

It's safe to say now, I'm back.

Jessie x

Saturday, May 3, 2014

A World Without Princes by Soman Chainani Review

Publication Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Format: ARC
Page Count: 400 pages
Source: Publisher

Series: The School for Good and Evil #2

Synopsis:

When Agatha secretly wishes she’d chosen a different happy ending, she reopens the gates to the School for Good and Evil. But the world she and Sophie once knew has changed.

Witches and princesses, warlocks and princes are no longer enemies. New bonds are forming; old bonds are being shattered. But underneath this uneasy arrangement, a war is brewing and a dangerous enemy rises. As Agatha and Sophie battle to restore peace, an unexpected threat could destroy everything, and everyone, they love—and this time, it comes from within.

Review:

Agatha and Sophie are back. It's a new school year of the School for Good and Evil -well not really. Now it isn't Good vs Evil but Girls vs Boys. A new character in the book is plotting things and driving the whole entire school into man-hating Girls and princess-hating Boys.
The first book for me didn't blow me away but this was a more enjoyable experience. The first book was mostly about goodness in people and it was safe, but this is evil, twisted side. It definitely have those moments where you don't know who can they can trust.

The friendship between Agatha and Sophie and to what ends they will go for each other is the whole main thing about this series in my opinion. Sophie doesn't want to be alone and Agatha wants something more than a friend.
 

The ending did feel rushed and I did feel frustrated because I got like fifty more questions about it.

ARC provided by Edelweiss and HarperCollins


Rating: